As I shared in my first post, I started this blog after contracting an injury that has since prevented me from running. I am currently still unsure of the severity of my injury as I only today finally went to the doctor. I actually was injured around December 13, 2009 but I did not experience any sort of severe pain until a few days later when I tried to run when one mile into my run, I had such severe pain in my hip/groin area that I physically could not run any more and even walking was painful. I was advised to simply rest and ice the area by friends who are also runners. The rest and ice did help and a week later, with still some slight pain, I attempted to run again, only to be forced to stop due to pain once again. This pattern continued once more before I finally made myself face the fact that I did indeed have an injury and needed to see a doctor ASAP. I have an MRI scheduled for tomorrow and a follow up doctor’s visit next week to determine if it is a stress fracture or just simply a muscular problem. I am hoping that it is not a stress fracture but there is nothing I can do until I found out other than rest.

In the meantime, I am struggling with not being able to run or do any other form of exercise. I have been walking almost every day up until today’s doctor visit, where I am now too afraid to do anything like that for fear I am going to worsen my injury. I asked a blogger that I admire and respect (Angela) for advice about how to cope with this and she suggested finding something to replace my workout time each day. I then made a list of all the things I did not have time for before or things I can do to fill up this time:

  1. Start a blog (check!)
  2. Read
  3. Journal
  4. Spend more time with friends and family
  5. Dedicate more time to my school work
  6. Focus on toning my upper body (without putting stress on my injury)
  7. Try new recipes that I’ve bookmarked but never gotten around to

Before making this list, I admit I was feeling pretty down about my whole situation. Now, I’m looking on the bright side and realizing that this is not the end; I will bounce back from my injury. It is up to me to make this recovery time a happy and positive time or let it bring me down. There is in fact more to life than running (as shocking as this may be 😉 ) and I can still have a full and happy life, regardless.

I hope that this idea can also help those of you who have an injury that prevents you from exercising (or exercising to the extent you are accustomed to) or just simply want to make a list of all the things you want to do but push aside for other things. Also, most of my posts will be a little more positive than this 🙂 !

Have you ever had an injury that prevented you from doing something that you love? How did you cope with it?

“If you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change.” – Wayne Dye

