Today has been a day of “fast food” as it’s been an incredibly busy day. Breakfast and lunch were both meals that were super fast to prepare but very filling and delicious. It just goes to show that even if you are short on time, you still have time for home-cooked, nutritious meals.

Breakfast was another version of overnight oats.

IMG_2714

I prepared one serving of oatmeal last night (1/2 cup oats, 1 cup milk, pinch salt, cinnamon), let it cool, and refrigerated overnight. This morning I then mixed it with 1/3 cup Greek Yogurt and topped with 1/2 banana and 2 tsp. Barney Butter. SO good!!! When I first heard of this, I thought it sounded really strange but it’s great!

When I came home from class, I was so hungry I thought I was going to have to chew my arm off so I prepared the quickest thing I could think of with what I had on hand (a trip to the grocery store must be in the near future). I made a sandwich with a frozen veggie burger, mustard, hummus, and baby spinach on a Arnold’s Sandwich Thin.

IMG_2718

IMG_2721 

I also had a juicy pear on it’s last leg.

IMG_2717

Very simple but delicious lunch that covered most of the basic food groups. I have realized that since starting the blog I have made an effort to be more creative with my lunches and have made them more balanced. Pre-blog days, my lunch usually was yogurt+fruit+granola or some variation of that; not that there is anything wrong with that, don’t get me wrong, but I needed more veggies in my life.

I have a doctors appointment this afternoon to go over the results of my MRI and determine what the next steps shall be. I will also (more than likely) find out how long it will be before I can run again. Wish me luck! 🙂

