As silly as it may sound, going to the gym has always been a fear of mine. I don’t know if it’s the thought of people watching me or what it is but the thought has always scared me. So motivated by one of my goals of 2010 to conquer my fears and the doctor’s go-ahead that I could exercise again, I took my first trip to the gym this morning. And you know what? It wasn’t so scary after all. Mostly. I went early this morning when I figured it would be the least crowded and I was right, there were only about 3 or 4 others there at the time and I felt completely comfortable. However, by the time I left, there were more people there and I was the only woman, which made me feel slightly out of place.

I did 35 minutes on the stationary bike and I really enjoyed it! My gym has top of the line equipment and all of the machines have a screen where you can either watch television, listen to music, or run/bike/etc. trails. Also, you can create a profile so that you can log in every time you go, which shows your progress. All in all, it was really cool!! And while it did not compare to running, I did enjoy it and it definitely was a good workout. The bike really got my heart rate up, which surprised me, but I guess that depends on how much you push yourself. I did not want to push myself too much because of my injury but I did not feel any pain or discomfort while working out and I still have not yet felt any pain, knock on wood. And it felt so amazing to workout!!!!

I was told that I should pick one activity, either the bike or elliptical, and do it for 3 days for the same amount of time and see how I feel. If I feel any pain, I should cut back. My thing is, I have not felt any pain, but I can feel my injury; it doesn’t hurt and it’s not uncomfortable exactly, it’s just there. Where I have my injury feels different than the other side of my hip/leg that is normal. So I’m not sure if this is normal to still feel it. If that made any sense whatsoever. In any case, as long as I have no pain or discomfort, I will continue with the bike. I am thinking that it would put the least pressure on my injury compared to the elliptical or treadmill.

The only thing I had a problem with today was the weight lifting machines. When I signed up for my membership, I was shown around the gym, including the machines. I was told that the machines were super easy to use and had a picture of what you were working and detailed descriptions of how to use it. So maybe I’m just dumb but I couldn’t understand them. They are super intimidating and I feel like people would be watching me and thinking that I have no idea what I’m doing. I also don’t have a clue where to start. Any suggestions??

After the gym and a shower, I made a wonderful breakfast. First, I made a latte, courtesy of instructions from with a Side of Sneakers. Mine did not turn out quite as well as hers but it tasted amazing.

IMG_2769

IMG_2767

(See all the yummy foam!!!)

 

I also had some oats with almond butter. I haven’t had regular oats in so long, I forgot how good they were!! This bowl was exceptionally creamy and delicious, probably due to the overripe banana.

IMG_2762

The mix included:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup 1% milk
  • pinch of salt
  • pinch of cinnamon
  • 1/2 banana
  • almond butter
  • tsp or so of Agave

It feels so good to have so much accomplished early in the day! Next on the agenda is Whittle My Middle II and massive amounts of homework and studying… FUN!

