Last night I was reminded of why I rarely order chicken out in a restaurant unless it’s a fairly nice place. I ate with someone at a restaurant (i’ll refrain from saying where) and it wasn’t fast food but it also wasn’t like a normal sit down and order place if you know what I mean. I got a grilled chicken salad that had lettuce, chicken, tomatoes, and cheese I believe. The chicken was very.. strange. The texture was not normal.. it was kinda mushy and just not very appetizing. It was kind of like the chicken you get in some fast food places. Lesson learned.

Breakfast this morning was out of this world!! I made overnight oats and I’m not sure what it was about this batch but they were absolutely exceptional. Last night I combined 1/3 cup oats, 1/3 cup water/milk mixture, cinnamon, and what was left of the yogurt in the container (about 1/3 cup). I let it sit overnight and then added 1/2 banana, almond butter, and a splash of milk (I like mine creamy and kinda milky). They were oh so creamy and doughy..

IMG_2863

It doesn’t look like much but it was incredible. Perfect way to start my day 🙂 Sorry for the unattractive bowl but I like to reuse my big yogurt containers.

Lunch was a recreation of a salad I had earlier this week. It contained mixed greens, tomato, hummus, broccoli, and a veggie burger.

IMG_2866

I also should say that this veggie burgers are very good. I am not a big fan of faux meat (most of the time) so I rarely buy veggie burgers that are supposed to resemble meat. These veggie burgers showcase vegetables, there is no meat imitation here. You can actually see the vegetables in the burger and they have a delicious flavor! FYI, they are Dr. Praeger’s all natural California Veggie Burgers.

With an apple on the side.

IMG_2870

Apples are probably my favorite fruit and I eat a lot of them (if you hadn’t noticed). They are delicious, filling, and nutritious.. what more can you ask for in a fruit?

It’s a pretty yucky day here, cold and rainy. What happened to the sunny 60 degree temps from yesterday? Oh well, spring will be here before we know it!

 

“He who has a why to live can bear almost any how.”
Friedrich Nietzsche

