So I was feeling pretty down this morning about a lot of things and so I started to think about all of the things that I am thankful for and that I DO have. One of those things is my job. I work at an elementary school at their after-school program with kindergarten and 1st grade. While teaching is not for me, hence my switch to Business, I love kids, especially my kids at work. Some days they make you want to pull your hair out but most of the time I love it. Having a child come up to you and give you a big hug and tell you how much they love you is one of the best things in life. But other than that, they make me laugh like nothing else. I have one little girl in kindergarten that just cracks me up. I have never met another child like her; she is wise beyond her years and says the funniest things. She’s adorable and could get away with murder, you can’t help but love her. The other day she asked me how old I was and I told her and she says “Well why aren’t you married?” And I said “Well who am I going to marry?” She took the question very seriously and thought a minute and said in the most somber little voice “Well you should just go on The Bachelor. Yep, that’s what you should do.” Maybe it was one of those things where you just had to be there but it just made my day 🙂

One of the reasons that I was feeling down this morning is, you guessed it, because of my injury. I have been mentally and physically dealing with it fairly well lately but I’ve started to feel… “soft” and I’m seeing the definition in my muscles, especially my legs, going down hill. I think I have gained a few pounds and as I’m only 5’4, it’s hard to not notice. I’m not used to feeling like this. And I panicked. It just hit me like a brick wall, I am SO frustrated at not being able to exercise to any extent. I was actually in no pain at all this morning and so I tried just walking on the treadmill at only 3.0mph and after 10 minutes I could feel my injury. It wasn’t pain per say but it was definitely a warning that I needed to stop. I don’t know how to deal with this problem. I’m not usually an unhappy person and this is really getting me down. I know that this is only temporary but this temporariness (did I just make that word up?) is not fun. If you have ever experienced anything like this, how did you deal with it mentally and stop it from getting you down? 

In any case, my eats today have been delicious. Oat bran made a return for breakfast 🙂

 IMG_2897

  • 1/2 cup oat bran
  • 1 1/2 cup water
  • 1/4 cup 1% milk
  • cinnamon
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 banana
  • Agave Nectar
  • almond butter

After I ate breakfast, I attempted the treadmill and then did Whittle My Middle II and a core workout on a stability ball. And while I have TONS of school work to do today, I just had to get out of my house. I needed to go to the grocery store for a few things anyway so I drove around by myself for a while (this helps me de-stress, not sure why) and then did some errands. I had an iced coffee with a splash of real  half-and-half while I was out. T’was delicious even though it was freezing outside.

photo (8)

When I came home, I put together a very yummy lunch. I had a sandwich with turkey, pepper jack cheese, lettuce, tomato, and mustard on whole wheat.

IMG_2907

I also had an apple and a few strawberries. I saw these strawberries at Wal-Mart today (p.s. Wal-Mart on a Saturday – not the smartest idea I’ve ever had). While strawberries you get in grocery stories are usually not very good, these looked and smelled fantastic. And they were! It was like a taste of summer. Fresh strawberries might possibly be my favorite fruit, quite possibly.

IMG_2901

I also noticed something while shopping for bread, the world has gone Sandwich Thin crazy!!! I saw 2 more brands that have came out with sandwich thins today and new bagel thins (which are just like sandwich thins except square with a whole in the middle?). They all really looked the same with slight differences and all had 100-110 calories. Wonder which one is the best?

I hope everyone has a great afternoon! I have to buckle down and do some homework while resisting blogs, Facebook, and Twitter.. not easy. I’m too easily distracted 🙂

 

I also read this on Oh She Glows this morning and it was just what I needed to hear, hopefully it will inspire you as well!

“Never forget that so much good can come from the bad times!! The bad times give us motivation to find a way out, and through this motivation we often discover just what we are made of.”
