Tonight, I did something that scares me. I tackled a fear. A fear that terrifies me to my very bones. My friends, we are talking about a fear of bread-making. Yes, I’ve said it.. I’m afraid of making bread. The horror 😉 ! Specifically, breads involving yeast. I’ve tackled quick breads and cakes and cookies and non-yeast breads and came out victorious. But yeast tends to do me in. I’m really not sure why. In any case.. I saw this recipe on eat me, delicious and I’ve been having an intense craving for pizza so I knew I just had to make it. The results? Not bad. I would even dare to say it was a success.

The recipe is fairly simple, as far as pizza dough goes. Using rapid-rise yeast, it only needed 20 minutes to rise. And the dough was full of good things including whole wheat flour and flax. The whole wheat is balanced out by all purpose, creating a delicious crust.

 

IMG_2944 

This would be the dry ingredients.

 

IMG_2945

The wet ingredients are added, mixed, and kneaded for 2 minutes.

 

IMG_2947

You form the dough into a ball and let it rise for 20 minutes.

(I forgot to take a picture of the risen dough)

I then separated my dough into 4 sections; 2 of which I froze for later and 2 of which I made into 2 personal pizzas.

 

IMG_2949

This would be one of the personal pizzas rolled out, before toppings.

 

I kept it very simple with the toppings. I’m a simple girl at heart and I wanted the crust to shine so I added pizza sauce, 1 wedge of light Laughing Cow French Onion cheese (dolloped this around the pizza), 1/2 cup +/- mozzarella cheese, and a dusting of parmesan. The laughing cow sounds weird, I know, and it was an experiment but let me tell you… it was incredible!! It all just worked together.

IMG_2959

Final product. While not incredibly photogenic, it was amazing. And pretty good for you, as pizza goes!

 

While I could certainly tell the difference in the crust between mine and my family’s (made with regular crust), I actually preferred mine. It had a slightly nutty taste and was still chewy. I made my crust super thin, just the way I like it (more surface area to cover with toppings 🙂 )

 

Dessert was a Deep Chocolate VitaTop. Have you had these before? I have tried the muffins in the past but this the muffin tops were new to me. I thought it was pretty good. It satisfied my chocolate craving and was delicious but you could definitely tell it was a “healthier” product, if you know what I mean.

IMG_2963

This afternoon, I also had a snack of yogurt, strawberries, and grapes.

IMG_2942

I also had a handful of cereal this afternoon. I have been super super snacky today. I am so full right now but I have the strongest urge to eat. I’m not sure why. I think it’s important to listen to your body and feed it when it tells you it wants food but I’m trying to figure out if I just want to eat or I really want something. Generally, I will force myself to wait at least 30 minutes before giving in to see if I really do want something or if it will go away. It hasn’t gone away tonight :/ I will maybe have an apple or something; better fruit over junk food, right?

 

I have been thinking today about something slightly random. I’ve realized that I care much too much about what people think of me. I take stuff very personally sometimes and so my feelings are hurt, very easily. I have to stop letting things get to me and letting what people say/think about me bother me so much. I am my own person and I shouldn’t have to apologize for that.

 

Next on my list of challenges… muffins. For some reason, I’ve always had a hard time with muffins. I’m not sure why that is. Do you have a killer muffin recipe that I could try? I would love something healthy and interesting!

 

"Trust your own instinct. Your mistakes might as well be your own instead of someone else’s."
– Billy Wilder

