Before I get to the news about my injury, I bet you can’t guess what I had for breakfast…

…did you guess oats? Yep, I figured you would. And you would be correct! And they were good. There’s not much better than a big bowl of creamy oats on a chilly morning.

IMG_3042

This bowl contained:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup 1% milk
  • 1/2 banana
  • salt
  • cinnamon
  • brown sugar and cinnamon mixed together and mixed in at the end (totally made this bowl)
  • Barney Butter

 

Now, I have a good friend who runs Cross Country at the school I attend. He has been a runner for a long time now and is pretty amazing.. I’m talking he wants to qualify for the Olympics one day and he has almost broken records. Not to brag or anything… 😉 (I’m very proud of him) In any case, he frequently gives me advice on running and has been great through my injury. He was kind enough to hook me up with his coach who is extremely knowledgeable about running and running injuries. I sent him an e-mail telling him exactly what my injury was and he sent me back a very long e-mail that gave me more insight into my injury than my doctor ever has. While some of it I already knew, most of it was new information. He also gave me hope that I will be able to still run my half marathon in April and trusting his judgment, this little flicker of hope gave me a huge boost of encouragement. Sometimes you just need a little bit of hope to keep you going, am I right?

The following are portions of the e-mails between him and I which will hopefully give you a better understanding of what my injury entails and maybe give you some advice or good information if you are a runner.

I’ll tell you what I know about stress fractures and training.  As you said you never felt a particular time when the injury happened, that is because it is an overuse injury.  Meaning that over time it got worse and worse.  Runners mainly get overuse injuries.  Stress fracture usually take 4-6 weeks to heal.

Your stress fracture is in a delicate spot when it comes to training.  The reason being is because it is a small bone and many different activities can bother it.  Take a look at this diagram: http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/0/0f/Skeletpelvis-pubis.jpg the Pubic bone is labeled #4 and I believe your stress fracture is located in 4C.  As you can see it is a small bone and a lot of weight is carried on that bone on a daily basis with walking.  The pelvic area adds a lot of support to the upper body.

As far as training is concerned I would suggest doing very little right now.  Have you run since you visited the doctor?  Take time off and let your body heal, if you feel that you have to exercise in some way then get in the pool and swim.  I would highly suggest swimming with a the foam buoy between your legs and just swim with your arms pulling.  This way there is as little movement on the pelvic area.

You should be ok for your half marathon in April.  Hopefully the stress fracture will be healed no later than the end of February.  That will give you a little over a month to train for the race.  A month isn’t a long time to train for a half marathon, but you can get into good shape in that time.  The key is not to do too much too soon, gradually work back into training.

I would also suggest taking a calcium supplement, and adding more dairy into your die.  Females have a tendency to need more calcium the older they get.  As a college student you probably don’t drink as much milk and eat as much dairy as you did when you were younger.  A supplement can be good, but a better way to get dairy into your diet is by eating yogurt and other dairy products on a daily basis.

So while I am already taking calcium supplements, I am going to try to incorporate as much calcium as I can into my diet. Also, I’m going to take his advice and keep in mind all that he said. The pool workout sounds great but I do not have a pool available to me. Otherwise, it was great advice and I hope that this can help others too 🙂

Now, I must go be productive and get some school work done. I get so distracted by Facebook, Twitter, and Blogs… I need to focus!

Don’t forget to enter today’s giveaway at The Daily Balance! A lucky reader will receive the oh so amazing Yogi Tea!

Also, remember, you can Ask Me Anything anonymously!

Have a great day! 😀

