I woke up this morning to a disaster… a crisis…

I walked into the kitchen after my lovely Whittle My Middle II workout to find that we were out of bananas!!!!! [Insert panic here] What? No bananas? How will I make the delicious bowl of oats that I was craving? What’s a girl to do?

I’m not a big fan of oats without a banana whipped in so I decided to see how oat bran would turn out without the banana. The verdict? Not bad.

IMG_3150

It had 1/2 cup oat bran, 1/2 cup 1% milk, 1 cup of water, cinnamon and salt and I topped it with almond butter, blueberries, and sprinkle of raw sugar/cinnamon (which was AWESOME!)

I could tell the difference from my usual bowl with a banana. It was a little less creamy and much less sweet. But I actually liked it. The lack of sweetness in the oats balanced out the honey almond butter that I used and the sprinkle of raw sugar on the top.

I’m not sure if it was the lack of banana or what but this breakfast did NOT feel me up. Odd huh? Especially because the only thing that changed was the banana. I was hungry within 2  hours and usually a breakfast like this can hold me 3-4 hours.

Lunch was great as well but incredibly random. I had to use what I had on hand, again, and there are now NO vegetables in the house (except some lettuce).  So I had to scramble to put something together… but it turned out to be delicious!

I had leftover tomato soup from earlier this week to begin with.

IMG_3165

Along with some whole wheat crackers and light Laughing Cow French Onion cheese. (the crackers were a-mazing with the soup!)

IMG_3162

Throw in some grapes…

IMG_3156

and corn on the cob.

IMG_3161

I will stop to say here that you should know… I am OBSESSED with corn on the cob. Scratch that, fresh corn on the cob. I work at a farm stand (it’s actually a store with air conditioning) in the summer and they grow the most amazing, sweetest corn you will ever have. I also get a 25% discount on anything in the store. Pair the discount with my love of corn and I eat corn on the cob almost every day in the summer when it’s fresh. And the corn I had today was actually really good! I saw it at the grocery store the other day and it looked great. It was 🙂 .

 IMG_3159

The snow is still on the ground (actually, snow covered by a huge sheet of ice) but it’s melting and the roads are OK right now. They are supposed to re-freeze tonight but driving is safe for the moment. SO there is a trip to the grocery store for much needed items in the making. Thank goodness!!!

IMG_3145

I’m also about to go play the Wii or something because I haven’t done anything remotely active all weekend and I’m going crazy. I would go take a walk but with my lack of coordination and clumsiness, it’s best that I avoid the ice/snow at all costs. Or I may injure myself even further. 🙂 I also have a warm, comforting dinner planned… can’t wait!

I would also like to say thank you to everyone who reads my blog. I had record-breaking (for me) blog views yesterday, actually double the most i’d ever had. So exciting!!! And i’ve had some incredibly sweet, encouraging comments lately and each and every one mean the world to me. 😀 Thank you, from the bottom of my heart!

Have a great afternoon!

And don’t forget, you can Ask Me Anything Anonymously!

