I have had a day of some really good eats… for real.

Incidentally, the show Good Eats on Food Network? LOVE it. Alton Brown is the man. I have been watching Food Network since long before it was cool and long before they had all of these new people. Alton Brown has been there a long time and he’s still at it. And his show is still the best one on Food Network (in my opinion). He entertains but he really knows his stuff. I used to say that I could watch an episode of Good Eats that was about broccoli and I would still love it. Alton Brown can make anything interesting.

In any case, back to the food. I had the best snack. Ever. Period. It was incredible. Yes, I say that a lot. BUT for real. I had an apple that I dipped in… get this… Greek Yogurt with cinnamon, topped with melty almond butter (the brand i’ve been going on and on about). Holy moly. This was a match made in heaven. This will be repeated.

IMG_3170 Doesn’t it look like a flower?

IMG_3171

I introduce you to absolute perfection in the form of yogurt and almond butter.

 

And what sounds warm, comforting, and amazing on a cold and snowy night? If you answered chili, that would be correct! No, it hasn’t been that long since i’ve had it but honestly… chili has just been hitting the spot lately. And this particular chili is very good for you, which is awesome, beyond the fact that it’s incredibly tasty.

IMG_3174

This had beans, ground turkey, onion, spices, and my mom’s secret ingredient that takes just OK chili to DELICIOUS chili.

 

With corn bread, of course.

IMG_3178

And then comes dessert… out of the depths of my freezer, what did I discover? None other than Straticello gelato from Whole Foods.

IMG_3179

Don’t let this seemingly plain picture fool you. One thing the Whole Foods that I go to is amazing at (besides making the best Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies) is gelato. It’s out of this world good (and supposedly better for you than most ice creams, as it’s made with skim milk?). And I feel good about it because it’s made on site, no artificial junk, and I can pronounce everything on the ingredient list. No high fructose corn syrup, nope.

IMG_3182

But I digress, this particular flavor has a vanilla base with chocolate chunks. And I mean CHUNKS. I found a HUGE chunk of chocolate in my bowl. And the vanilla base… it’s like the flavor of a vanilla bean with the creaminess of good ice cream. It’s just insanely good and made me very happy 🙂 What can I say, it doesn’t take much more than some good food to make me a happy girl.

 

My lack of bananas this morning (which have been replenished… I know you were worried haha 😉 ) made me think about my kitchen “staples,” the things I must have on hand at all times. I usually have plenty of these things as I’m one of those people who over prepare for anything and who have extras of everything… just in case. I came up with the following:

  • oats
  • bananas
  • apples
  • milk
  • grapes
  • some sort of nut butter
  • yogurt
  • some form of chocolate
  • coffee

 

What about you? What are your kitchen staples?

Injury Update: I ended up doing some yoga this afternoon, about 20 minutes of Hatha Yoga. This was the first time I have done anything beyond core work or upper body weights in weeks. And it felt good. This particular yoga came from an episode of “Namaste” on Fit TV and I chose it because it did not involve standing. But I did discover that my flexibility has suffered… I used to do yoga all of the time because it stretched my muscles amazingly after runs. I am going to try to bring back the yoga, slowly. But I had no pain in my injury, only the dull achy feeling that I’m used to experiencing pretty much 24/7. I’m still waiting on the day to wake up and not feel it anymore. But I know that it takes time. And I have made progress. It’s hard for me to see sometimes because it’s so gradual but it’s there. I can stand on my left leg and not feel any sharp pains. Actually, just the fact that I have no sharp pain at all is progress. I’ll take dull pain over sharp pain any day. And honestly, when I’m going about my life and I’m busy, I don’t even feel it. Especially at work… I hardly notice it at all. It’s when I lay in bed at night or am sitting quietly… that’s when I notice. I can’t wait to run again. I still feel jealous when I see runners. I know, it won’t be too long. This isn’t forever. It’s actually been almost 2 months (on Feb. 13th) since my injury. Two months almost down… I can do this!

"Far away in the sunshine are my highest inspirations. I may not reach them, but I can look up and see the beauty, believe in them and try to follow where they lead."

– Louisa May Alcott

