Tags

, ,

Thank you everyone for the well wishes for my test today and the nice comments 🙂 The test went OK. Not great but not horrible and since it was the first test and I didn’t know what to expect, I’m perfectly happy with that. So the snow is finally melting but there is still ice everywhere. It was a wise decision on my part to stay safely inside this past weekend because let me tell you… this just goes to show my zero coordination and bad luck. At school, I had to walk through grass to get to the building I had to go to. There was… oh about 1 inch of melting snow on the grass. 1 inch people. And I slipped and almost fell. Only I could manage that one… And I thought “Oh dear… here we go…” and let me tell you, I almost busted my butt a bazillion times today. Almost being the key word there… thank goodness. And we are supposed to get freezing rain tonight. Yay!… :/ Let’s hope I don’t break a leg or arm before this winter is over…

While I am about to go enjoy a dinner of sushi and spend some time with special friend but I’ll leave you with my thoughts on January and a February challenge…

I cannot believe that it is already February. Looking back, it seems that January flew by in a flash… yet while in it, it seemed like it was never going to end. Isn’t it funny how that happens? January was a life-changing month for me. One of the biggest things was my diagnosis of a stress fracture, as you probably know. But there are also some positive things that have come out of last month…

For one, I started this blog! Honestly, it was one of the best things that I have ever done. It has given me something to focus on in a time where I really needed a distraction. It has given me more support and encouragement than I ever could have dreamed possible. The blogging community is absolutely amazing. Words cannot even express my gratitude for every encouraging word, every sweet comment. And because of the blog and the wonderful people I have met through it, I do not feel alone anymore. There are many people out there who have had a serious injury, most a lot more serious than mine, but have come back from it even stronger than before. And that gives me a lot of hope.

The blog has also improved my eating habits, both nutritionally and variety. I try to include more veggies in my diet now. I never realized how easy it was to have some type of vegetable with every meal. Also, my meals are much more balanced in general. I used to eat yogurt and fruit for lunch every day… not that there is anything wrong with that. But it’s not the best thing to do every day. My meals now give me much more energy for the rest of my day and satisfy me a lot more. I am also trying to be more creative and risky in the kitchen… I’m still working on that one :).

Another thing that has come out of January is my realization that I should be a lot more thankful for the little things in life. Which brings me to my February challenge….

Now there are a lot of bloggers out there who have created challenges for themselves for the month of February, most of which are nutritional/physical things that they want to improve. While I have room to improve in those areas, one thing that I really want to work on this month is positive thinking. I am a naturally pessimistic person.. I always think of the bad scenarios. I really have to work at it to be a positive person and while I usually am, sometimes my negativity gets the better of me. So for this month, every day, I am going to think of (and blog about) 3 positive things that happened that day. Many years ago when I was going through another rough time in my life, I did this every day. And it really helped!! It may sound corny or silly to you but it really works. You would be surprised at how much good we can see in our lives if we really pay attention 🙂 I urge you to give it a try… you will be amazed by the results!

As it is Feb. 1, the 1st day of the challenge, I will start with…

  1. I woke up hardly feeling any discomfort/achiness in my injury, at all! For the first time! This is a BIG thing for me! While it only lasted for the beginning of the day, it still happened and that in itself is good.
  2. I’m having a good hair day. (hey, this is important.. right girls?)
  3. I had great news from a good friend.

 

Also, tomorrow I am going to be reviewing Whittle My Middle 2. Stay tuned!

 

What is something good that happened today in your life?

“I believe everything happens for a reason! People change so you can learn to let go, things go wrong so that you can appreciate them when they’re right, you believe lies so that you will eventually learn to trust no one but yourself, and sometimes, good things fall apart, so better things can fall together.” Marilyn Monroe

