Bear with me, this may be a long post. But it’s full of some very cool things and amazing eats!

Sorry for no lunch post today, it was a busy day. My test went very well and thanks to everyone for the good luck and the good wishes!! This was one of the few times that I’ve felt confidant about a math test so I’m incredibly happy about that 😀 I also found out that I made a B+ on my Monday’s test (which was in Business Management. I am happy about it, very happy. But it’s not what I am used to. I’m a perfectionist, especially in school. I want that A! And I work my behind off and usually get it. And oftentimes it was not hard to get an A, especially in my early education classes. (FYI in case you don’t know, I spent the first 3 1/2 years of my college career as an early childhood major and I just switched to business this past January) But in my business classes, I am really being challenged. In a way, it’s good because it’s healthy to push yourself sometimes to see what you can really accomplish. But maybe it’s just that I’m used to early childhood classes and I”ll get the hang of it soon. Let’s hope!

So I’m sure you have heard about the winter weather headed towards the east coast. Our forecast has gone from forecasting us to get snow, to rain, to ice/freezing rain/sleet, back to rain, etc. (Can they ever make up their mind?) The temperature was supposed to be around 35 tonight all through tomorrow and so I was assuming it would probably be nothing more than a rain event for us. But while I was at work today it started sleeting… and didn’t stop. Then it turned into rain and now it’s snowing. I think this is the first time in my life that I am hoping it doesn’t turn into anything. Snow is pretty but I would rather not be snowed/iced in all weekend. So here’s to crossing my fingers that it doesn’t turn into any big ice event…

 

So I have been on a roll with today’s meals…

First up, breakfast in the form of overnight oats. Oh overnight oats… how I love thee…

IMG_3298

This bowl had 1/3 cup oats, 1/3 cup 1% milk, 1/3 cup Greek yogurt, cinnamon, and salt that I topped with blueberries, 1/2 banana, and almond butter. And more cinnamon. I know you see this a lot on the blog but it’s just OH so good… I can’t help myself!!!

When I came home for lunch, I found a fun package on my doorstep!!

IMG_3303

I recently won some Yogi Tea in a giveaway over at The Daily Balance. Yay!

IMG_3306

And of course I tried one right away…

IMG_3309

Oh it was GOOD! The aroma of blueberries was incredible. And I didn’t need any sweetener at all. I can’t wait to try the others!!!

IMG_3324

With my tea, I had perhaps the best salad that I have ever made. No, seriously. Look at this bowl of goodness…

IMG_3313

I guess you could say that it was a “taco salad” of sorts. It featured:

  • romaine
  • tomato
  • cucumber
  • broccoli
  • carrots
  • 100 cal pack Wholly Guacamole
  • Greek Yogurt
  • sprinkle of sharp cheddar
  • and the star… salsa

This salsa was just not any salsa… oh no. If you are a fan of the Wholly Guacamole, this is made by the same company.

IMG_3310
I stumbled upon it yesterday at the store and decided to give it a try. It looked fresh and the ingredient list was outstanding (short and with ingredients that I recognized… all of which I would put in any salsa that I would make). So I decided to give it a shot. And in case you don’t know, I’m a salsa freak. But I don’t usually like jarred salsa because they lack the fresh taste. But this, oh this, was incredibly fresh and delicious. It had chunks, and I mean chunks my friends, of tomatoes. You could see every individual ingredient. And it had so much flavor!!! Oh my. If you see this, give it a try!!!

IMG_3316 With my salad, I had some Food Should Taste Good Sweet Potato tortilla chips. They paired amazingly with the salad, I must say.

IMG_3319

And then what was left of the fruit from last night (pineapple, strawberries, and grapes).

IMG_3320

 

And then dinner, it just keeps getting better… Since it was freezing and rainy, all I wanted was some soup. But canned soup? Not really. And I didn’t have time to make some from scratch. But luckily, I know where to find some amazing soup that tastes homemade. Where, you may ask? The Fresh Market! The Fresh Market is amazing. Besides Whole Foods, it is my favorite grocery store. They have some incredible bread, baked goods, and prepared foods. Oh my. And they oftentimes have products that I cannot find elsewhere (more about THAT in a moment…).

So I purchased some chicken noodle soup (the last container!) and some fresh demi baguettes. This may be perhaps the smartest thing I have ever done…

IMG_3326

The soup was fantastic! It was not greasy or too salty or fake. It had chunks of carrots, celery, onion, real chunks of chicken breast, and noodles. It was seasoned absolutely perfectly. For sure the best soup that I have ever bought.

IMG_3331

And with the soup, I had 1/2 of a demi baguette with butta. Oh my. All I can say is if fresh, crusty, chewy, hot bread with butter is wrong… I don’t want to be right.

IMG_3334

Sometimes my friends, you just have to have the real thing 🙂

IMG_3337

 

And this bread will be making some repeat appearances in the form of grilled cheese and pananis… I can already feel it.

I’m also going to have dessert but I’m not sure what. I bought some more Greek Yogurt and popped them into the freezer after last night’s deliciousness. I may have one of those an oatmeal creation by Tina, featuring none other than Mighty Maple Peanut Butter by PB & Co. I found this at the Fresh Market today after seeing it around the blog world. I just had to give it a taste and oh wow.. it’s GOOD! I haven’t had peanut butter in a while, I forgot how good it is! And with the maple… match made in heaven. I just realized I have ten million jars of nut butters open right now… I have an addiction. Anyone else?

 

Positives from today…

  1. Um… hot bread with butter. Need I say more?
  2. I feel really confidant about my statistics test.
  3. I made plans for a night out tomorrow night with someone special 🙂

Your turn! What are you thankful for today?

And don’t forget, you can Ask Me Anything anonymously and I will answer here on the blog!

