Good morning! I had a fantastic night last night. But I was right about dinner – zero veggies there. But that’s ok. Someone cooked chicken fajitas/quesadillas for me and it was good; plus, bonus points for doing something thoughtful 😀 How was your Friday night?

And then despite not getting into bed until super late, I woke up at 8 AM, giving me a total of 5 hours of sleep. I’m really tired and have a massive headache (which is what happens to me when I don’t get enough sleep), and well, that’s not very conducive to getting studying done. Oh well. I’m going to be getting into that tea stash today, I can already feel it… I’m not sure why but I just can’t sleep after about 8:00 anymore, no matter how tired I am. I used to be able to sleep in until 11 but not now, I’m not sure why that is. Is anyone else like this?

I woke up this morning starving. Breakfast was delish but honestly I think anything would’ve tasted amazing just because I was so hungry. Anyways…

IMG_3367

That would be oat bran (1/2 cup bran, 1/4 cup milk, 1 1/4 cups water, 1/2 banana) with almond butter, blueberries, cinnamon, and a sprinkle or raw sugar.

Also, some much needed coffee.

IMG_3370

 

So I have a little issue and I thought I would share this and see if anyone has any advice or just your take on the issue. So here goes..

I’ve explained it before on the blog but I am, was, a senior in college in the semester before student teaching in early childhood education when I finally admitted to myself that teaching was not for me and it was making me absolutely miserable. So I switched my major to business last November and I’m in my first semester of business classes. All of my core classes transferred to the new major but I have a lot of business classes to make up. This change added on a 2 1/2 semesters, maybe 3, meaning that I would be graduating in the Spring/Summer of 2011. And this is with taking summer classes.

Right now, I am in Probability and Statistics, Marketing, Business Management, Macroeconomics, and Financial Accounting. Now my financial accounting class is online. Normally I would never take a math class online but I had to register late (because of having to get everything sorted out with switching my major) and that was the only one left that would fit into my schedule. I’ve been doing the best I can with it and keeping up with what we are supposed to be doing but guys, I just don’t get it. It’s not clicking in my head. And while math isn’t my best subject, I’m not dumb and it’s not that I’m not trying… it’s just not clicking, you know? And I’m thinking it’s because it’s online. And while I don’t have to actually go to a physical class with it being online, it honestly takes up more of my time than any of my other classes. And as far as my other classes, they are hard, yes, but I’m doing ok. I have to work my booty off studying for tests but I can do it. Accounting? Not so much.

So basically what I am getting at is that it’s a lot to handle. I’m not one to be afraid of hard work, I don’t mind hard work if it gets me somewhere. But hard work that gets me nowhere? And with it being my first semester of business classes, after being used to early childhood classes, it’s a BIG change. With education, I could kind of half do my work and make an A. With Business, I have to go above and beyond just to make a high B. So my thing is, I am extremely stressed about school. Add this stress to other things I have going on right no, without going into detail (i.e. personal issues, the emotional toll that not being able to run has taken on me), I’m a wreck. I don’t go into everything on the blog but I’m trying to piece together my life right now and pull myself together. So all of this combined, it’s a lot to handle. And when I get stressed to such a point, I blow up. I just can’t take it anymore. And I did that this past week. I had a heart to heart with my mother about it and she suggested that maybe I should drop my accounting class. Enter my problem…

I have dropped one class in my entire college career and it was the best thing at the time. But it almost feels like dropping this class would somehow make me a failure. I keep thinking if I just work hard enough and devote more time to accounting, I can pull it off. But the thing is, I don’t have anymore time. For instance, I have huge tests Tuesday and Thursday of this week and an accounting test on Monday. I simply do not have time to fully prepare for all three. It’s either I focus on 2 of the 3 and do really good on 2 and not so good on one or I spread my time out and probably make a C, if that, on all of them. I’m also worried that if I somehow manage to squeak through the class, that’s not going to make me understand it. And this is an intro class, meaning I have to take other classes that build upon this one. So if I don’t understand it, I’m in big trouble. You know? And I don’t want to stay in it, do badly, and let it bring my GPA down (because my GPA is really great right now).

On the other hand, I’m already behind in Business, like I said, and I’m afraid dropping it will end up adding even more to the time it’s going to take me to graduate. But my mom pointed out to me when I said this, what is the rush to graduate? And will one semester really make that much of a difference? So what’s a girl to do? Should I drop the class or stick it out and stay in it? Any advice, thoughts??? Anything would be much appreciated!!

