Thank you to everyone for all of the sweet and supportive comments and the amazing advice. I am constantly amazed at the blogging community -  you guys are awesome. So thank you, I really appreciate it. Based on your advice and after talking to some trusted friends and family, I came to the decision that dropping the class is the best thing for me. I have accepted that no, that does not mean that I failed or that I’m quitting, it’s simply the smartest move. And so I did it, I dropped it. And I can’t express to you how that felt. It was like this huge weight lifted off of my shoulders and I could breathe again. It felt amazing. And I knew in that instant, that I had made the right decision 🙂 I will re-take the class in the summer (I already planned on taking summer classes so it’s not a big deal) when I can actually attend a real class, in person. It’s a plan and I feel really good about it!

I realized that 1 month ago, on January 6th, 2010, I started this blog. I cannot believe that it has been a month. CRAZY! I already can’t imagine my life without it…

So today I spent most of my time with this…

IMG_3410

after drinking a lot of this…

IMG_3402

and eating some of these…

IMG_3398(super-charge me cookies)

 

So let’s back up a bit to where I last left you… after blogging (and anything I could think of to put off studying), I did a little workout,  made some iced coffee, and hit the books. The coffee was much needed.

I broke for lunch and had one amazing grilled cheese (well baked grilled cheese). I made it with whole wheat bread, aged Swiss Cheese, and the Apple Grill Sauce that I used the other day.

IMG_3382

Oh it was goooood 🙂 The cheese balanced out the sweetness of the sauce amazingly.

I also had some broccoli and corn the cob.

IMG_3377

And strawberries that were actually very good for this time of the year. Fresh strawberries make me happy 😀

IMG_3372

I was satisfied after this lunch but it did not take long before I was hungry again. In retrospect, I realize that I had almost no protein. Oh well…

 

After lunch and some more studying, I needed a break. Like badly. So I decided to make some cookies that have been on my list of things to make for a while… actually about a year. So I thought it was about time. Enter Super-Charge Me Cookies.

I did change the recipe up quite a bit, depending on what I had on hand. This was the recipe that I used:

  • 1 cup oats (I used my regular 5 minute oats)
  • 2/3 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup mini semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/3 cup flax meal
  • 1/2 cup pure maple syrup
  • 3 tbsp. almond butter (I used the Naturally More)
  • 1 1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp. organic canola oil

Preheat oven to 350°F (180°C). In a bowl, combine oats, flour, salt, cinnamon, and  chocolate chips, sift in baking powder, and stir until well combined.

IMG_3383

In a separate bowl, combine flax meal, syrup, almond butter, and vanilla and stir until well combined. Stir in oil.

IMG_3385

Add wet mixture to dry, and stir until just well combined (do not over mix). At this point I thought I had done something wrong because the mix was very crumbly and dry (I didn’t read the comments on the recipe that suggested using a little less flour if you use anything other than spelt flour…oops).

IMG_3387

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Spoon batter onto baking sheet evenly space apart, and lightly flatten. I used a tiny ice cream scoop, packed the dough into the scoop before scooping it onto the paper, and then flattened. I ended up with 20 cookies, rather than the 11-12 that the recipe says it yields.

IMG_3388

Bake for 13 minutes (no longer, or they will dry out). Remove from oven and let cool on baking sheet for 1 minute (no longer), then transfer to a cooling rack.

IMG_3391

Um… why did I wait so long to make these?! They were incredible. And not just “incredible for a healthy cookie” incredible, just incredible. Yummy… especially right out of the oven, all crispy on the edges but melty in the center.. oh wow. Even my family loved them (and it’s hard to get them to eat anything that is slightly healthy). And these are pretty good for you, as far as cookies go! Lots of fantastic ingredients with many health benefits.

IMG_3396

I will definitely be making them again with a few changes – less flower, dark chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet (the semi-sweet were a tad too sweet for the cookies), and some dried fruits.

 

After my baking break and a cookie sampling (just to make sure they were ok… haha), I went back to work. And I don’t know about you but I have major problems getting distracted sometimes. I had to remove myself from the computer, cell phone, TV, etc. and just focus. And I ended up working for about 6 hours overall and I got a lot done.

I had an afternoon snack of pumpkin yogurt (1/3 cup Greek Yogurt, 1/4 cup pumpkin puree, cinnamon, and a little Stevia in the raw) with 1 apple chopped up. This is what it looks like before I mix it all together, it’s presentable.

IMG_3406

Then afterwards….

IMG_3409

kinda messy. But it was a delicious mess 🙂

 

And then came dinner. This was quite possibly the best dinner that I have had, at home or out, in a while. It was definitely a great dinner to celebrate 1 month of blogging! 🙂

 

The Menu

Agave Salmon

Sweet Potato-Sage Quinoa

Spinach-Mushroom Sauté

IMG_3415

(I created a Recipe page for the blog and I will be adding all of these recipes soon. I already have added the salmon so you can follow the link for the actual directions.)

I had salmon fillets that were covered in Agave Nectar, salt, and pepper and then seared to create a crust and baked to cook them through.

IMG_3418

I really can’t express how amazing this recipe is. It sounds simple and somewhat plain but it is out. of. this. world. If you like salmon, you will love it. The Agave Nectar and the coarse salt creates the sweet/salty crust on the outside and the salmon is just perfectly cooked and so very moist… oh gosh. You really must try this.

With the salmon, I had Sweet Potato-Sage Quinoa.

IMG_3419
This was the first time that I have tried quinoa (also one of those things that were on my list to make) and I have to say that I loved it! It kind of reminds me of cous cous. And it was really simple to cook! The only thing I had a problem with was washing it… I had no idea how to go about doing it because it’s not something you can wash in a strainer because it would fall through the cracks. I managed but it was difficult. How do you wash quinoa?

Anyways, when I saw Tina make a quinoa dish involving sweet potatoes, I knew that I had to try it. She explains on her blog that she kind of just threw in what she thought would be good and tasted as she went, so that’s what I did. But my ingredients were different than hers.

I chopped a sweet potato up into small pieces (I can never get them to be uniform sizes…), seasoned with olive oil, salt, and pepper and baked them at 375 for 40 minutes or so and set them aside.

IMG_3414

I made the quinoa (3/4 cup dry) according to package directions and chopped up some fresh sage. I then made a dressing of sorts with some Dijon mustard, maple syrup, salt, pepper, and little cinnamon (I would put a little olive oil in next time). I then mixed the dressing, sweet potato, and quinoa together and tasted, adding more of things until I got the flavor I wanted.

This dish was so good. So very, very good. Especially for something that I did not have exact measurements for or even a real recipe to follow. Sometimes when you make things off of the top of your head, they actually work 🙂 There are definitely leftovers and I can’t wait to see how tastes cold!

I also had some spinach and mushrooms that I sautéed with a little red onion, salt, and pepper.

IMG_3422

I then had a Super-Charge Me Cookie for dessert (I’m telling you… addicting…)

 

Whew, that was a long post!

 

And now the things that I am grateful for today:

  1. The amazing people in the blogging world 🙂
  2. Delicious food
  3. The pain from my injury is lessening (for the most part) day after day and it’s feeling pretty good today!

One thing that I noticed today was that my injury starts hurting after I have been sitting still for a while more than it hurts when I’ve been moving and walking. Is this normal?

Have you tried any new recipes lately?

“Success is your perception. Just because you didn’t get what you want doesn’t mean you didn’t get what you need.”

