I have had a fantastic day. I finally got my hair done (nothing major, just high lighting and cut), studied, did some shopping, and cooked a fabulous dinner.

While shopping, I stopped and treated myself to one of my special treats, an iced coffee with half and half and sugar from Starbucks. I don’t have them often (mainly because of cost) but oh it was good, even though it was cold outside.

photo (9) I know that iced coffees are the same as their hot coffee but there’s just something about it iced that just makes it incredible to me. Whoever first thought of putting ice in their coffee… genius.

I also spend some time in Target getting some new cute plates and bowls. I also bought some of my most favorite bars, Mojo Bars, and the cutest tank top and ring (LOVE Target’s clothes!). Ah Target… my bank account does not like you 🙂

So unfortunately I cannot share with you my dinner as I am doing a guest post about it soon BUT I will let you know when it’s published. And let me tell you, I tried out a recipe and it was a-mazing. It was something that I’ve been really scared to try at home but it was super easy. I’m not sure what took me so long… anyways, it was really good.

And I had another super-charge me cookie (a.k.a. crack…) for dessert.

Since I can’t share my dinner, I thought that I would do a little Yogi Tea Review and answer two of the anonymous Ask Me Anything questions that I have received.

First up is the tea… In case you missed it, I received this wonderful assortment of Yogi Tea from The Daily Balance.

IMG_3306

I have slowly been tasting my way through each variety and I am really loving them! I usually drink coffee in the mornings but I really enjoy tea in the  afternoons, evenings, and at night.

Green Tea Goji Berry

IMG_3347 I have to say, next to the Blueberry flavor, this has been my favorite so far. It’s really interesting because at first it tastes just like any green tea but then this sweet/tanginess of the goji berry hits your tongue. Oh it’s good!! I would give it a 10/10.

Rest and Relax Sampler -  Bedtime

IMG_3339IMG_3340 This tea has a distinct cinnamon flavor, but not overwhelmingly so. It is supposed to be help you become calm and relaxed. Did it relax me? Somewhat. The aroma of the cinnamon was amazing and the flavor was good. I would give it a 8/10.

More to come soon!!

 

And for your reading pleasure (or more than you ever wanted to know about me haha)…

What do you want to do with your degree?

(FYI, I am in school working towards a Business Degree)

Well, I’m not entirely positive yet but I have a lot of ideas. Ideally, I would like to open my own bakery or wedding cake business. I love to bake about anything but my passion lies in baking and decorating cakes. It’s something that I have worked hard at and taught myself over the years. I really enjoy it and I’m good at it (so I’ve been told). I was asked to make my cousin’s wedding cake (when she is married in a couple years), which I am hoping will start me off. Even though I know it will take a long time to create a successful business, I hope to make wedding cakes and other cakes on the side until/if I decide to pursue it more seriously. I also want to take classes on cake design and techniques and become better at it. Would I have loved to have gone to pastry school? Yes. But it was not something that was an option when I graduated high school and I want to finish where I am and earn a degree. Plus, a business degree will give me a lot of opportunity and options, regardless of what direction I go in. I have also thought about the wedding planning business. I love coordinating/organizing and the sort of thing wedding planning entails, but there’s not a high demand for that around where I live.

I also would love to have a job dealing in any way with food or nutrition, be it in the marketing, public relations, what have you. I’m just not sure what is out there in that direction quite yet.

Alternatively, I would like to work with kids. I was going to school to be a teacher until I realized that teaching was not for me. BUT that does not mean that I don’t like kids (which some people think?!). On the contrary, I love working with kids. I have a job at an after-school program at an elementary school working with kindergarten and 1st graders and I absolutely love my job. Working with kids is one of the most rewarding jobs out there. No, not everyone is cut out for it and that’s OK too. I’m constantly learning and there are days where I want to pull my hair out but I wouldn’t trade my kids for anything in the world. Anyway, my best friend is currently student-teaching and will have a degree in early childhood education in May. So with her education degree and my business degree, we would like to open a nursery one day. Oddly enough, she and I met in a nursery when we were about 5 (we’ve been best friends since – almost 17 years). So that is also an option.

So I really have no idea which direction I will go in and where life will take me. There is a lot that I am interested in and a lot of paths that I could take. I just don’t know yet. But I figure that I have plenty of time to figure that out.

 

Have you gained weight due to your lack of cardio?

Well, I honestly don’t know. I am not one to weigh myself because it is never a good thing for me. I know the general area of where my weight is but no exact numbers because I don’t want to know. Stepping on a scale is not something that is good for me because it has in the past turned into an obsession and I’m just not risking going there again. That being said, I go on how I feel and how my clothes fit. My guess is that I have gained maybe a couple pounds but nothing major, my clothes fit the same way for the most part. I have kept definition in my abs and arms but my bottom half is another story. I have lost muscle in my legs, especially thighs and hips. Does that upset me? Yes. Very much. But I did expect it and I know that I will tone the area back up eventually. It has affected my self-confidence and my body image somewhat and I tend to avoid mirrors and focusing on that part of my body. But it’s also important to note that my eating has drastically changed since I’ve stopped doing cardio but not intentionally. When I was running 20-25 miles a week, I was always hungry (in retrospect, I did not eat nearly enough … but that’s another story). At first my hunger level stayed the same (and this was pre-blog) but it leveled off after a week or two. I listen to my body and eat when I’m hungry and focus on fruits, veggies, whole grains, etc. but I also have not deprived myself. So even though I can’t do cardio, and somewhat because of it, I am very mindful of what I eat, which I think has kept the weight off.

 

If there is anything else you would like to know, feel free to ask. As you can see, I am very open and honest and I am willing to answer anything you may want to ask! I actually find this a lot of fun 😀

 

 Good things from today…

  1. I bought some really cute clothes that I can’t wait to wear!
  2. Getting my hair done makes me feel great.
  3. We had gorgeous weather today.

 

And now I am off to watch the I Love Lucy marathon on the Hallmark Channel while most of the country watches the Super Bowl 🙂 I will pick I Love Lucy over football any day (sorry to those football fans out there). I’ll catch up with the Super Bowl commercials tomorrow (and thank you for that idea!).

Have a great night friends!

