I love hearing everyone’s opinion on Valentine’s Day! Very interesting view points, I must say. Have you ever thought about who started the tradition of giving boxes of chocolate? I went by Walgreen’s today and looked at the Valentine’s candy just out of curiosity. Have you ever realized the variety of the boxed chocolates? I can’t say I would be opposed to receiving some fine chocolate… but the cheapo stuff, no thanks. But I have come to the conclusion that even if I don’t have anyone on Valentine’s Day this year, I am going to celebrate myself and buy/treat myself to something nice. I’m just not sure what yet. But I also have to say that I have learned an important lesson – we really should show our love to the person/people we love every day, not just on Valentine’s Day. Life is short and you just never know what might happen. Don’t you want the people you care about to know that you care about them? I sure do.

 If you have someone special for Valentine’s Day, are you getting them anything?

My great day continued on when my professor of my Monday/Wednesday class decided that we needed a break and canceled class on Wednesday! Woohoo! And I had one of my most favorite bars as a snack.

photo (10)

This would be a Clif Mojo Mountain Mix bar. Have you ever tried these? They are incredible. Like seriously, my favorite bars besides Glo Bars. This one has the sweet/salty thing going on, which I adore.

This is a picture of the bar itself, I wanted you to see all the goodness inside 🙂 It had chocolate chips, dried fruit, almonds, peanuts, and pretzel pieces (my favorite part). Yummm!!!

photo (11)

 

And for dinner… pumpkin pancakes!!! Who doesn’t love pancakes for dinner?! And I love pumpkin. Like, seriously cannot get enough. But I’m not the best pancake maker ever. I’m not sure why I’m pancake challenged… but mine are usually raw on the inside and burnt on the outside. But I cooked these on med/med-low and they turned out wonderfully; I guess that was what I was doing wrong?

I used this Hodgson Mill Whole Wheat Buttermilk Pancake Mix to make them. This mix was fabulous! I bought it recently after seeing it around the blog world and hearing great things about it.

IMG_3515 (I apologize for the glare)

I followed the basic instructions but added 1 egg white instead of 1 whole egg, pumpkin pie spice, and 1/2ish cup of canned pure pumpkin. Holy YUM!!!! I also added blueberries to one of the pancakes.

IMG_3505

I mixed 1/2 an apple with some pumpkin butter and microwaved it and then topped that with MORE pumpkin butter and used that as a topper. Along with some pure maple syrup.

IMG_3506

These were seriously some awesome pancakes. I thought I had died and gone to pumpkin pancake heaven!!!

And I’m sure I will be having some super-charge me cookies for dessert 🙂

And now I must go do some macroeconomics homework (did you know math was involved in this class? I know I didn’t :/ ) and study for a marketing test that I have tomorrow night. And hopefully do all of this before The Bachelor comes on. Does anyone else watch it? Who do you like/dislike? I cannot STAND Vienna and I love Ally and Tinley.

And today I am thankful for…

  1. beautiful weather we had today!
  2. being able to take a walk, regardless of how short
  3. overcoming my pancake-making issues haha 😀

 

Have a good night!

