Tags

, , , ,

Has anyone else noticed how insane the weather has been lately?! The eastern seaboard is being hit by a huge snowstorm and there are places that have had near to record breaking snowfall this winter. No snow here but the wind is out of control! As other bloggers in this area have reported, we have a high wind warning until Thursday with wind gusts up to 60mph!!! Yikes!

 

My breakfast was a bowl of goodness in the form of oat bran. It was very delish but I forgot the blueberries this morning 😦

IMG_3543

It contained

  • 1/2 cup oat bran
  • 1 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 banana
  • pinch of salt
  • pinch of cinnamon
  • stevia in the raw
  • Mighty Maple
  • cinnamon/sugar in the raw sprinkled on top (which forms this amazing crust)

IMG_3544

In case I haven’t explained, I’ve discovered that the best way to cook oat bran is in the microwave! [insert shocked face here] Oats in the microwave? Oh yes. Now, I’m not too big a fan of regular rolled oats or any other kind in the microwave but with oat bran.. oh yeah. I mix all ingredients together (except toppings) and microwave for 6 1/2 minutes or so, stirring every minute. The microwave causes it to balloon up (which means you have to use a big bowl and watch carefully) resulting in voluminous and ridiculously creamy oats. Oh yeah. They are awesome 🙂

 

When lunch time rolled around, I actually wasn’t that hungry (not normal for me) and nothing sounded appetizing.. don’t you hate it when that happens? I ended up with a huge salad and it was actually fabulous 🙂

IMG_3550

I basically opened the fridge and threw in what sounded good.

  • romaine
  • carrots
  • broccoli
  • tomato
  • leftover chicken
  • sharp cheddar
  • TONS of salsa
  • dollops of Greek yogurt

Oh it was good… salsa and yogurt makes the best salad dressing.

IMG_3552

I also had some whole wheat crackers alongside.

IMG_3555

Someone asked what brand of crackers these were a while back and this is it:

IMG_3549

I’ve been meaning to review them for a while because they are SO good. Seriously the best whole grain/whole wheat cracker I’ve ever had. I’d give them a 10/10 for sure.

 

Now I must go brave the windy weather and head to work. But before I go, I’m going to ask a question that may be slightly controversial, but here goes …

Do you think healthy living/food blogs help or hinder those with eating disorders, a history of an eating disorder, and/or those recovering from eating disorders? Why?

