Tags

, , ,

So I am loving the comments on my last post. You guys really have a lot to say about the topic and incredibly thought out viewpoints. And I didn’t just ask the question as a random thought, I had a reason… which I will share with you tomorrow 😉 But really, I’m amazed right now. Truly.

 

How was everyone’s day? Mine was… interesting. Like I have said before, I work at an elementary school in the after-school program with about 8 other girls and 2 guys. Well we are all about the same age 19-25ish and needless to say, with all those girls, there’s a lot of drama. One of the girls was let go today, which caused all this uproar because she had been there forever. But really, I hate drama. Not to be complaining but really? I mean, when you work with kids, your job is for the kids. You aren’t there to gossip and cause problems. Am I right? I thought we left drama in high school. Anyone else’s workplace like this?

Ok, on to what you are really interested in… the food.. am I right? Tonight’s was a good one 😀

I was very tempted to eat oats for dinner or some frozen meal but I decided to try out something that I have been wanting to for a while: tofu. I have only had it once or twice out in Japanese restaurants in miso soup and I wasn’t much of a fan. But it looks SO good on blogs that I just had to give it a try. I didn’t use a specific recipes, just ideas from various blogs such as Healthy Tipping Point and with a Side of Sneakers. I wish I would’ve taken pictures of the entire process.. oh well, another time. I bought already cubed, extra firm tofu and marinated it in teriyaki sauce, garlic, ginger, maple syrup, and pepper. I baked it at 400 degrees for 25 minutes. The result: sweet/salty tofu with a creamy inside and a crispy crust. Ohmygosh. I’m in love. With tofu. I’m freaking in love with tofu! Ah! Never in a million years did I think I would say that.

I served the tofu over a stir fry of veggies (bok choy, shitake mushrooms, broccoli, onions, and garlic) with teriyaki sauce, agave nectar, pepper, a touch of salt, and sesame seeds. And all of that, on top of sprouted grain rice.

IMG_3562

Holy Yum. Seriously, this was so dang good. I had also never had bok choy before but I have to say, it was really good!!!

IMG_3558

And don’t you just love the fact that you can eat massive quantities of veggies with zero guilt?! I heart my veggies 🙂

IMG_3564 

I have a feeling that this is only the beginning of my relationship with tofu 🙂

 

Things that made me happy today…

  1. Trying new foods and loving them!
  2. I tried a new hairstyle today and wore my favorite Steve Madden boots = felt pretty great! It’s amazing what a little self-confidence will do 😉
  3. Thankful to have an amazing job.

 

And now I must remove myself from my computer (a.k.a. prevent myself from blog-reading) for a bit and go study some macroeconomics for my test tomorrow! Woohoo! I know you’re jealous. Yeah. 😉

Good night!

“Fact of life: After Monday and Tuesday, even the calendar says WTF”

