Tags

, , , , , ,

First, I just want to thank everyone for the supportive and sweet comments on my last post. Seriously, I am absolutely amazed. Several comments brought tears to my eyes and I just can’t believe at how many friends I gained through this blog. I love you all!!!

Ok… enough with the emotions 😉 I’ve had some incredibly delicious meals today, each with a new ingredient/product!

First up, breakfast in form of PB & J Oats. But not just any ordinary bowl of PB & J Oats… oh no.. the star of this was Crofter’s Superfruit Spread: North America.

IMG_3595

According to their website,

Wild cranberries and blueberries blended with red grapes and morello cherries.

What berry combination could possibly be more North American? With a sweet but tart taste, cranberries and blueberries join forces to create this comforting and irresistible spread. Loaded with antioxidants and vitamins, cranberries and blueberries have been used therapeutically on this continent for centuries to treat a variety of ailments.

I’ve seen this brand around the blog world quite frequently and thought it sounded really good so I’ve been on the lookout for it for a while. I was ecstatic when I found it at Whole Foods yesterday. And I was not let down.. oh no… this stuff is good. I’m sure you’re thinking that it probably just tastes like any other jam/jelly but you would be very, very wrong. It tastes so fresh. And it’s got this sweet/sour thing going on… seriously… if you see, it give it a shot! It took this bowl of oats to a whole new level 🙂

IMG_3602

It kind of blends in with the blueberries…

IMG_3601

But this bowl of delicious oats had

  • 1/2 cup oat bran (from the bulk bin at Whole Foods… which I think is better than what you get out of boxes.. maybe i’m crazy?)
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup 1% milk
  • cinnamon
  • salt
  • Stevia in the raw
  • Mighty Maple
  • Blueberries
  • Crofter’s Spread
  • raw sugar

 

Lunch was also very, very delicious. Have you tried Whole Food’s hummus? Holy cow. It’s one of those things that you see and think “Oh that sounds good” but you never buy it… you know what I mean? Well I finally got some yesterday and honestly, it blows every store-bought version I have had out the window. This stuff is pure awesomeness. Especially in a wrap with raw Cheddar, spinach, and tomato.

IMG_3609
It was good.

I also had baby carrots and broccoli. All together now 🙂

IMG_3607

On the side I had a lovely bowl of fresh fruit: pineapple, kiwi, and strawberries. Oh fruit… how I adore you.

IMG_3614

 

Notice lunch was a little light? That’s because I was planning to try my hand at one of May’s recipes: Cacao Euphoria, which is kind of a version of Cacao Bliss she created.

I’ve also looked up and down for Cacao Bliss with no luck, so when I saw this recipe, I knew that I had to make it. It was so easy!!!!

Simply pop a can of coconut milk (not light) in the fridge until cold.

IMG_3618
And what does this do? It creates this solid coconut cream on top of the milk. Like this…

IMG_3620

When I saw that cream, I squealed. No joke. Just by itself, I could eat all of it. But I kept myself in check with thoughts of chocolate… anyway…

Simply blend with a mixer 1/3 cup + 2 tbsp. coconut cream, 2 tbsp. cocoa powder, 1/8 tsp. salt, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, and 1 tbsp. agave nectar for 2 minutes until light and fluffy. The result? Heaven in a bowl, my friends, heaven in a bowl. It’s this light, fluffy, chocolaty/coconut, creamy concoction. It’s almost like a frosting or a mousse or… get this… chocolate ganache. When I tried it, the first thought I had is that this would be AMAZING as a cake icing. I could sit and eat the entire batch…

IMG_3623

My picture is somewhat…erm… not the prettiest but I promise, this stuff is amazing. And I used to hate coconut… no joke. I’ve been converted 🙂 Gosh, I could go on and on and on… May, girl, you are a genius!!!!!!! (For more about this incredible creation, visit her post)

There was much much licking of the beaters, bowl, and spatula… I will tell you that 😉

And of course, I had to then try it out by making none other than a mocha…

This would be the coffee, milk, and foam before the cacao bliss…

IMG_3627

After…

IMG_3630

And then it melted down and made one of the best mochas I’ve ever had in my life. *sigh of contentment* Sometimes all you need is a little chocolate to make a girl happy…

 

P.S. Iowa Girl Eats is having an amazing $50 giveaway!!!

 

The weather service is now predicting a massive snow storm to hit our area this afternoon and night… just when I thought we had dodged the bullet. We shall see if they are right…

Have a great afternoon friends!

