Tags

, , , , , ,

First, don’t forget to enter my giveaway!! It ends tomorrow night 😀

Regular rolled oats made a repeat performance this morning. But they were even better than yesterday… is that possible? Oh yes. This bowl of oats was, for sure, the creamiest bowl of oats I have ever had. And that is a big statement.

IMG_3846

The secret to these super-creamy oats? For one, an extremely ripe banana is important. But the key is what I discovered this morning – instead of cooking the oats over medium heat, I cooked them over medium-low. Now you wouldn’t think it would make that much of a difference or it would just take them longer to cook. But no… I didn’t really time them but by the time they came to a boil, they only boiled for about 4 minutes or so because the oats had already begun to soak up the liquid by that time. Oh my… oh my. They were SO creamy. I can’t even tell you… it was the kind of meal that really warms the soul, you know what I mean?

IMG_3852

It had the usual (1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup water, 1/2 cup milk, salt, cinnamon, 1/2 a banana) and topped with Barney Butter and blueberries.

 

I’ve then spent the rest of the morning on a cleaning spree!!! It feels so good to see a clean house. I’m one of those people who once I start, I can’t stop. I will tackle everything in my path. I guess that’s a good thing. And I also did some school work and studying…

IMG_3856

I’m feeling very productive today!

 

Lunch was another hit. I had something that I had been craving and thinking about all morning – a blueberry muffin over yogurt. Now, in the past, I would never eat a muffin as it is one of the foods that my ED taught me to fear. But pre-ED, I loved blueberry muffins. Adored them. And I’ve slowly begun incorporating them back into my life. I had gotten this one (wheat blueberry muffin) from Whole Foods a while back and froze it to eat later. And I remembered it this morning. But as soon as I thought “Oh that would be delicious for lunch!” that little ED voice kicked in and said “A muffin? You can’t eat that.. “ Oh but you are wrong. I can most certainly eat and it and enjoy it. And I did exactly what my ED told me not to do (thanks to some wise advice 😉 ) and I ate it and enjoyed every amazing bite.

IMG_3860 The muffin pre yogurt mess..

Here it is, in all it’s glory… doesn’t it look amazing? There’s 1/2 cup nonfat Greek yogurt under there with the muffin crumbled on top – and some fresh (freshly thawed, anyway) blueberries thrown in for good measure.

IMG_3874

How could I have let my ED stop me from eating something so good, something that makes me happy from the inside out? I shudder to think of how I let it control my every thought and every move in the past… but no more.

IMG_3871

Guys, this was probably one of the best things I’ve eaten in a long while. The muffin was sweet and moist and perfectly delectable. Yogurt and muffins are a match made in heaven.

IMG_3877

 

I also had a plate of veggies for good measure – carrots, tomato, broccoli, and cucumber – with some ranch dressing dippage 🙂

IMG_3866

 

We are having absolutely gorgeous weather today, highs in the 60s!! It’s hard to imagine that last week we had snow on the ground. So what’s a girl to do? Go out and enjoy it! And that’s exactly what I am going to do 😀

 

Have a great day everyone!

