Tags

, , , , ,

Don’t forget, today is the last day to enter my fantabulous giveaway!! You have until 9 P.M. EST tonight to get your entries in!! I will announce the winner in tomorrow night’s post.

Sorry for no postage last night… I went out and didn’t get home until late, at which time I crashed head first into my bed 🙂 And no pictures of dinner because I haven’t the guts to photograph my food around certain people yet. But I will tell you that I had a fabulous afternoon walking around a downtown area near where I live, where I sighted a Fro-Yo place!!!! Excitment ensued. There are zero, count them zero, fro-yo places around here. Yes, I am deprived. You can get fro-yo at certain ice cream places but it doesn’t compare to places that specialize in it, you know? 😀 I couldn’t stop at the time but you can bet, I will return. In any case, we went to the Mellow Mushroom for dinner but since I just had pizza, I passed that option up; instead, I had a fabulous salad. It was huge and full of fresh ingredients like olives, tomatoes, bell pepper, mushrooms, cheese, sprouts… with my favorite honey mustard dressing. It was delicious.

We had gorgeous spring-like weather today here in the Carolinas with a high of 66. Beautiful. On days like this, I remember why I love to live in this area. The spring and fall are amazing… but my absolute favorite season is spring. Though I cannot wait for fresh summer produce… On days like this, it is a crime to stay indoors 🙂 I did manage to study for a bit for a test I have tomorrow but I just couldn’t stay indoors. With it only being February, you can bet I soaked up as much sunshine as I can to last me through the rest of winter. I have to say though, it’s a blessing in disguise that we haven’t had warm weather lately because I had the biggest urge to run today. It almost killed me to have perfect running weather and not be able to actually run… but I survived. And I will continue to do so. And when spring actually gets here, I will be all ready and healed to run! For those of you out there who are also suffering from injuries… take heart, it will get better. We will get through this and come much stronger! This is only temporary… I have to remind myself of that every single day.

I started today off with… you guessed it… oats! Hey, why mess with a good thing?

IMG_3880

This bowl had the usual suspects…

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 banana
  • pinch of salt
  • cinnamon
  • blueberries
  • Honey Almond Butter

IMG_3886

Such a fantastic way to start the day!

When lunch time rolled around, all I was craving was a big bowl of juicy fruit. So I had one of my most favorite meals…

IMG_3895

Greek yogurt, cereal, and fruit. Yum.

You have your strawberries, pineapple, and nectarine…

IMG_3894

With some yogurt and Nature’s Path Maple Sunrise. The pineapple and the maple… OMG. Incredible together.

IMG_3891

So refreshing… Not a veggie in sight but it was exactly what I was craving. And so I promised myself I would fit in some veggies later. Hehe

IMG_3888

I had some afternoon snackage of an un-pictured apple and some baby carrots with Naturally More Almond Butter.

IMG_3904

Carrots and nut butter just go together. So good.

And for dinner, we took advantage of the gorgeous weather and fired up the grill… er, the charcoal.

IMG_3913
It was a very “meat and potatoes” kind of meal… but meat and potatoes, my way. I had salmon, a Yukon Gold baked potato (makes for the best baked potatoes), mushrooms, and a salad. The salmon was the star because of this incredible sauce that I found today. Now, brace yourselves…Pineapple Mango Coconut Tequila Sauce… someone please tell me, how can you go wrong with that combo? You can’t.

IMG_3910

The salmon was out. of. this. world. I love salmon and I don’t eat it as much as I’d like… not sure why. It’s so good, so good for you, and so easy to make.

IMG_3914

My salad was wonderful as well. It had lettuce, tomato, cukes, sharp chedder, onion, egg whites, croutons (LOVE croutons), and light ranch.

IMG_3920

A lot of people stay away from white potatoes and say they are unhealthy but I disagree. I think there is a place in any diet for potatoes. Yes, they are white. Yes, they are starchy. But they are full of potassium and very good for you. Everything in moderation. And these potatoes, Yukon Golds, do not even need any butter… I only put salt and pepper. I love potatoes, oh yes I do.

I also had an after dinner treat of Back to Nature Fudge Mint (something like that?) cookies that taste like Girl Scout’s thin mint cookies… AKA incredibly delicious and majorly addictive.

In case you are not aware, today starts off National Eating Disorders Awareness Week (thank you Caitlin). As she explains on her blog, “NEDA is dedicated to providing education, resources and support to those affected by eating disorders.” I think this is great because many people are not aware at the extent of how horrible eating disorders are and how much impact they can have on people. It makes me so angry, so so very angry, when I hear someone say in response to hearing that someone has an eating disorder “Well just make them eat, it’s so simple.” I just want to slap them. But I have to remember that they probably are not educated about eating disorders and they don’t understand. So for that reason, and the fact that eating disorders are on the rise, I think that NEDA is a great thing.

Caitlin also posted this link to a list of 20 Ways You Can Learn to Love and Appreciate Your Body RIGHT NOW! and I loved it so much that I thought I would share it with you, my lovely readers.

(Courtesy of NEDA and Margo Maine, Ph.D.)

  1. Think of your body as the vehicle to your dreams.  Honor it.  Respect it.  Fuel it.
  2. Create a list of all the things your body lets you do.  Read it and add to it often.
  3. Become aware of what your body can do each day.  Remember it is the instrument of your life, not just an ornament.
  4. Create a list of people you admire:  people who have contributed to your life, your community, or the world.  Consider whether their appearance was important to their success and accomplishments.
  5. Walk with your head held high, supported by pride and confidence in yourself as a person.
  6. Don’t let your weight or shape keep you from activities that you enjoy.
  7. Wear comfortable clothes that you like, that express your personal style, and that feel good to your body.
  8. Count your blessings, not your blemishes.
  9. Think about all the things you could accomplish with the time and energy you currently spend worrying about your body and appearance.  Try one!
  10. Be your body’s friend and supporter, not its enemy.
  11. Consider this:  your skin replaces itself once a month, your stomach lining every five days, your liver every six weeks, and your skeleton every three months.  Your body is extraordinary–begin to respect and appreciate it.
  12. Every morning when you wake up, thank your body for resting and rejuvenating itself so you can enjoy the day.
  13. Every evening when you go to bed, tell your body how much you appreciate what it has allowed you to do throughout the day.
  14. Find a method of exercise that you enjoy and do it regularly.  Don’t exercise to lose weight or to fight your body.  Do it to make your body healthy and strong and because it makes you feel good.  Exercise for the Three F’s: Fun, Fitness, and Friendship.
  15. Think back to a time in your life when you felt good about your body.  Tell yourself you can feel like that again, even in this body at this age.
  16. Keep a list of 10 positive things about yourself–without mentioning your appearance.  Add to it!
  17. Put a sign on each of your mirrors saying, “I’m beautiful inside and out.”
  18. Choose to find the beauty in the world and in yourself.
  19. Start saying to yourself, “Life is too short to waste my time hating my body this way.”
  20. Eat when you are hungry.  Rest when you are tired.  Surround yourself with people that remind you of your inner strength and beauty.

In honor of NEDA, I will be doing some of these things on the blog this week and I encourage you to, as well. It’s so important to love our bodies – after all, we only have this one. 😀

What do you think of this? Of NEDA?

Today I am thankful…

  1. For the incredible people in the blogging community and comments that really touch me.
  2. A desire to not be complacent and actually go after what I want.
  3. Evenings spent with my parents enjoying good food and good company… something that I so often took for granted in the past.

“If you are not willing to risk the unusual, you will have to settle for the ordinary.” – Jim Rohn

