Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Thank you to everyone for the advice about the situation that I mentioned yesterday. I took everyone’s advice to heart. I know that a) it’s not good for me to hold my feelings in, for me or our relationship. But b) I have realized that I deserve better, I don’t deserve to let someone walk all over me and hurt me over and over. Someone extremely wise mentioned this quote in the comments section:

I am yet to meet a truly evil person. I have met many broken, hurting, wounded souls who find the only way of easing their pain to be to inflict it on others. But as I seek to understand their brokenness, forgiving them becomes easier.

I really thought about this and I think it’s very true. Anyone that I have ever met that hurts people, intentionally or not, in a certain way and tries to prevent getting close to someone is, in actuality, just afraid of getting hurt themselves and tends to push people away; the person who hurt me fits this description to a tee. And I realize that I should feel sorry for him, rather than be mad at him… and others like this. Getting hurt is not fun of course but wouldn’t you rather get hurt once in a while than do everything you could to prevent getting close to someone? To prevent getting hurt? Putting yourself out there is really hard sometimes but I’ve found that it’s worth it. I’d rather get hurt than always wonder what might’ve been. But that’s just me.

So I do give this person my forgiveness simply because I need to move on with my life. And forgiving them while also being honest, that’s the only way that I can move on. Have you ever had that person in your life that… well.. they come in and out, at their convenience. When it’s convenient for them… on their schedule. This person has been in and out of my life since last October. He will all of a sudden miss me and want to talk to me and see me and then bam, out of nowhere, I hear nothing from him. And so I get over him and move on. And wouldn’t you know it, as soon as I do, as soon as I think I’m over it, he comes back into my life and brings all my feelings back. There’s just something about him that I can’t get over, I can’t stop myself from caring about someone who frankly, is bad for me. Why? It’s so frustrating. I don’t know what it is about this person that gets me so. Anyone understand what I’m saying?

Ok rant over…

 

So last night I had an excellent dinner at a Thai restaurant (I think I’m addicted to Thai now). I had this stir fry with chicken and veggies that was in a peanut sauce.. but it wasn’t like any peanut sauce I’ve ever seen. The sauce itself was dark and sweet, like the color of soy sauce. Nevertheless, it was very good.

And then I saw Shutter Island.

Anyone else seen this? What did you think?

I thought it was ok. It wasn’t what I expected; I thought it would be more suspenseful and what not. It was quite… strange. But very thought provoking and the acting was excellent. Like some other reviews I’ve read, I kinda figured out the “big twist” at the end, halfway through the movie.  But it was worth seeing.

 

Breakfast today was so good, it made me do my happy food dance. Why, you ask? Peanut butter. The goodness of peanut butter. I’ve been eating almond butter so long now and neglecting the original peanut butter… how could I?!

IMG_4081

I forgot how darn good it is. Totally made this bowl…

IMG_4085

My oat bran had the usual oat bran, banana, water, milk, cinnamon, salt, blueberries, sprinkle of raw sugar, and peanut butter.

 

Like the title of this post suggests, I have been craving veggies all day long. So for lunch I had an incredibly delicious green monster SIAB.

IMG_4086

So freaking good!!!! Seriously, if you have never had green monsters, give them a shot!! They just make you feel so… good!!! Inside and out… it’s like a glow!!

IMG_4087

Mine had:

  • 2 cups or so of baby spinach
  • 1/2 super ripe banana
  • 1/2 cup 1% milk
  • 1/4 cup plain Greek Yogurt
  • fresh strawberries
  • Chia seeds
  • xanthan gum
  • crushed ice
  • secret ingredient (more on this tomorrow)
  • topped with walnuts and raisins

IMG_4090

It was so so thick and creamy… holy cow. Thank you xanthan gum!! It was also extremely filling… which I think has to do with the yogurt, chia seeds, and lots of volume. It was a total superfood smoothie!!!

I also had one the whole wheat bagels that I mentioned yesterday.

IMG_4096

I had it toasted with 1/2 spread with Crofter’s spread.

IMG_4101

Dinner was also amazing. What do I turn to when I’m craving a big pile of veggies? Stir frys. Oh yes.

IMG_4102

This one had broccoli, savoy cabbage, mung bean sprouts, mushrooms, tamari sauce, teriyaki sauce, ginger, garlic, and a scrambled egg (done in the center of the pan at the very end). All topped with sesame seeds and peanuts.

IMG_4104

I served the veggies over brown rice (yes, it’s under there).

IMG_4109

This made a big pile of veggies… which is one of the things I love about veggie stir frys. Holy yum, this was GOOD. And the salty peanuts on top totally made this dish… it was actually reminiscent of the flavors in pad Thai, which is never a bad thing.

I think i’ve met my vegetable quota for the day… and then some!!!

Edited to add: I just had a bowl of some delicious Publix Cookies and Cream Fro Yo… YUM!!!

Today, I am thankful for…

  1. Newfound friends
  2. Quiet Friday nights at home
  3. Good advice

How was your Friday? Any exciting plans for the weekend?

“You only get so many do-overs in this life, so many chances to, if not change your past, alter your future.”
-Sarah Dessen

