Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

First of all, thank you SO much for the sweet, supporting, and encouraging comments from last night’s post. Seriously. You all make me cry, I feel SO blessed. Which reminded that one HUGE blessing that has come from this injury is this blog and the most amazing people I have met through it. I would have never started this blog had it not been for my injury. And now, I can’t imagine life without it. So there is one blessing that I can already see. You girls (and guys?) touch my heart with your words and always lift me up. I can’t thank you enough. 🙂

 

We have a visitor for tonight (and maybe a couple nights)!

photo (31)

Isn’t he the cutest little visitor you’ve ever seen? He was asleep in my arms in this picture… the only time I could get him still enough to take a picture hehe

My dad brought this puppy home to take to give to my grandfather. He was from a litter from a stray that was hanging around one of my dad’s friend’s house. He is about 7 weeks old and only the sweetest little puppy ever 🙂 Our other dog did NOT take very kindly though.

IMG_4197

Here they are playing getting acquainted.

She wasn’t mean to the puppy but she is majorly jealous of it and does not like us giving the puppy more attention than her. But I think she would warm up to it, if given the time. The only hard part is that I’m already attached to the puppy 😦

 

It’s the first day of March and I do not think mother nature got the memo that it should start feeling like spring – we are supposed to have a HUGE snowstorm tomorrow, there are already Winter Storm warnings for our area. I’m actually hoping that it does happen because I’m supposed to have a test tomorrow night that I do not want to take. I have studied by butt off for it but there’s SO much stuff on it – I just can’t study anymore. You know the point where studying just becomes pointless because everything blends together? Yeah. So there. So combine that with hoping that it snows tomorrow AND The Bachelor finale on tonight (yeah I said I wasn’t going to watch it but really, who was I kidding….), let’s just say that there will be no studying going on tonight. Priorities, right?

 

Today’s eats started with a yummy bowl of oats. Did you know that today is National Peanut Butter Day? Oh yeah. With my love of peanut butter, it’s only natural to celebrate it 🙂

IMG_4170

I did so by topping my creamy bowl of whipped banana oats with a big dollop of peanut butter (this is Whole Foods brand creamy peanut butter).

IMG_4172

The oats had the other usual suspects of 1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup water, 1/2 cup milk, pinch of salt, cinnamon, 1/2 banana, and blueberries.

 

Lunch was a square meal in circle form 🙂 He.

I had a small baked sweet potato.

IMG_4184

Can’t go wrong with a sweet potato!

IMG_4186

And leftover corn/avocado/tomato salad. Which was even better today as the flavors melded together and the avocado took on this creamy, almost guacamole, texture. YUM.

IMG_4178

Also, 1/2 cup Greek yogurt mixed with 1 tsp chia seeds (which made it SUPER creamy and incredible) that I topped with… you got it.. strawberries and pineapple.

IMG_4182

Let’s just pretend it’s summer, k? K.

IMG_4181

 

After my class, I had this Odwalla bar for a snack. I love Odwalla bars but this was not my favorite. It was good but just… I don’t know. I would buy it again but I prefer other flavors.

photo (30)

 

And for dinner, you should’ve seen this one coming. A BIG stir fry, repeat of a couple nights ago.

IMG_4188

In the mix is

  • Napa cabbage
  • broccoli
  • mushrooms
  • bean sprouts
  • teriyaki sauce
  • soy sauce
  • cilantro
  • ginger
  • garlic

After the veggies were done, I scrambled 2 eggs in the center and then topped my serving with some chopped peanuts (and cilantro was added after the picture when I remembered I had some). All of that was over sprouted grain brown rice (or something like that).

IMG_4190 

So good. I’ve said it once and I’ll say it again, the peanuts TOTALLY made this dish. YUM!!!

IMG_4192

This served me and my parents, which is also another reason why the veggies are so done. My parents will eat the food I eat but they like their veggies DONE done, almost mushy. I prefer mine with more of a crunch but I wanted them to like it to, so I sacrificed. Still incredibly good though, must say.

 

I may or may not have also had a bite that turned into a serving of the banana pudding from last night.

 

I’ve been reading several blogs lately that feature different goals for March. I’m toying with a couple ideas but I haven’t decided for sure yet what I’m going to do. The reason I want to have a goal is that I LIKE having mini-goals to work towards. I love accomplishing things and reaching goals, it gives you such a sense of satisfaction. Even if it’s something small. Do you like to have goals to work towards?

 

I’d also like to ask for some opinions. My dad went to the doctor today and was told that he needed to lose about 20 lbs. I was actually surprised because he doesn’t look overweight to me. He’s really tall and so it kinda evens out I guess? I don’t know. Anyway, this losing weight will be HARD for him. He doesn’t work out but he does have a physically taxing job. The problem is what he eats – lots of sodas, processed meats, red meat, etc. (typical man food I guess) My question is, what is the best way for a man to lose weight? It will be hard for him to cut out certain foods and he has to eat enough to keep him going at his job. Any suggestions? My mom said that I just plan and cook all of our meals and that would help them both lose weight. They eat a lot of what I eat but lately I’ve been cooking for myself and they’ve been doing their own thing.

 

Today I am thankful for… (and random good things that happened today)

  1. Laughing at my kids at work
  2. The puppy!
  3. Looking forward to healing from this injury and doing things like attaining my goal of running a marathon. Have you read Meghann’s recap of her weekend of running? SUCH an inspiration!!!

 

And now I’m off to relax and watch The Bachelor!! What do you want to see happen? I’ve heard what is probably going to happen and so I’ll refrain from possibly ruining it for anyone else…

Have a great night loves!

 

*More on the giveaway tomorrow!!!

And if you haven’t yet, check out Stef’s awesome giveaway and this one on Blue Eyed Heart and this one on the Actor’s Diet!

