Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

If you haven’t yet entered my giveaway that began this morning, you are missing out!! It’s a great opportunity for some amazing products! I wish I was eligible myself 🙂

How was everyone’s day? I ended up having a fantastic day. It was one of those days where you wake up on the wrong side of the bed, you know? But I told myself that I was not going to give in to bad feelings, I was not. I was not going to dwell on the things that weren’t going as I would like and give in to my ED voice that is always critical of comparing myself to others. Nope, not this lady. I had to tell myself over and over “this is going to be a good day” and “everything happens for a reason,” etc. and you know what? It eventually worked. My mood turned around. Sometimes just repeating things like that really help me. Do you have any positive phrases that you tell yourself? Or am I just the only crazy lady who talks to herself?

So last night I mentioned about anyone’s opinions on taking ibuprofen and other pain killers because of my stress fracture. Well, I have heard (can’t remember where) someone say that ibuprofen can actually adversely affect a stress fracture (or other bone related injury) and so I decided to research it (a.k.a. google it). And I found some really interesting things! There is no overall consensus that ibuprofen hurts stress fractures but there is concern that it may not be good. I came across this quote from a runner on a thread on a site about running:

Now ever since my injury in January I have taken the maximum dose of ibuprofen every day (that’s almost 8 months worth). Last week I stopped taking it after accidentally stumbling across some research online that said ibuprofen inhibits stress fracture healing by up to 20%.
"Studies of healing and recovery after fractures all showed an adverse effect on bone healing, either delayed bone healing or an increased rate of non-union, by the administration of NSAIDs. The article concludes with the suggestion that people with healing fractures should avoid NSAIDs"

20%? You’ve got to me kidding me!! I was floored. I was sad that this person did not cite where they got the information so I can’t say if it’s factual or not. So I researched further and found this article, that is actually from a Sports Medicine Journal, that seemed pretty for real to me. Here is an excerpt but I encourage any runners out there to read the full article (it’s pretty short):

Wheeler and Batt cited historical research and an article by Penman in the New Scientist in 2002, which highlighted the effects of NSAIDs on bone healing and put it once more into the public domain. On the basis of previously published animal and human research, Penman discussed whether NSAIDs could interfere with fracture healing. The article states that NSAIDs, including ibuprofen and indomethacin, delay fracture healing by one or two weeks in rats, which is the equivalent to slowing healing by 20–25%, but the trials from which these figures were gleaned are not readily identified. The article concludes with the suggestion that people with healing fractures should avoid NSAIDs and that further investigation is required.

So if this is real, I have to say that 20-25% is a lot and could make a huge difference in recovery time. And this combined with the fact that the ibuprofen wasn’t even helping me… well it wasn’t a hard decision to decide to stop taking it. I was taking the maximum that I could every day, thinking that it was helping. I think I was sadly mistaken… I haven’t taken any since yesterday morning… and you know what? I’m in less pain than I was two days ago. BUT that is also from not doing anything physical at all yesterday (the least walking I could) and being extra careful today. I’m feeling like I’m actually making progress now. Baby steps… Any thoughts about this? Do you think the results of this research should be taken seriously?

Today has been full of some exceptionally delicious eats and a lot of new things!!

I started the day with a creamy, delicious bowl of whipped banana oats.

IMG_4236

It had all the usual suspects of my oats (1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup water, 1/2 cup milk, pinch of salt, cinnamon, 1/2 banana, blueberries) but what made this bowl exceptional? The topping 🙂 I tried Justin’s Honey Peanut Butter for the first time.

IMG_4233

This little packet had 2 servings (2 tbsp.) and so I had 1/2 of the packet with my bowl.

IMG_4240

It was great!!! I found this at Whole Foods a while back and had forgotten about it (don’t you love fun discoveries like that?!). It kind of reminded me of PB & Co. peanut butters. It was slightly sweet (from the honey, obv.) but the pure taste of good peanut butter still came through. Yum! I also have a packet of the plain peanut butter and I can’t wait to try it!

 

Lunch was also incredibly good. I got this idea from Kath’s blog a while back – she paired sharp white cheddar with a Crofter’s spread (and some tempeh? I think). Well as I love anything savory/sweet and I just so happened to have some exceptionally delicious raw sharp white Cheddar cheese and Crofter’s, I knew that I had to try it!

IMG_4257

So glad I did!!!! I had it on some Great Harvest Honey Wheat (that I had defrosted from the freezer) and I broiled it in the oven until it was all toasty and melty and gooey…

IMG_4260

Seriously, this combination is out of this world!!!! It sounds kind of strange but it just works. Oh boy, does it work!

IMG_4254

I also had some broccoli, carrots, and organic grape tomatoes on the side that I dipped in light ranch.

IMG_4245

And a Fuji apple 🙂 No day is complete for this girl without an apple.

IMG_4251

 

And then dinner. This one was a winner, let me tell you. I have been craving grilled chicken for the past two days… I’m not sure why. I rarely crave meat like that. I almost gave in and came home to a dinner of something thrown together from what we already had but I got over my laziness and stopped by the store on my way home from work to gather some ingredients. I kind of put this meal together in my head as I was shopping.

IMG_4266

Think chicken parmesan but not fried. A simple grilled juicy chicken breast on top of a bed of pasta, smothered in a delicious sauce and topped with authentic parmigiano reggiano. But not just any sauce, oh no…

IMG_4262

How about Mezzetta Napa Valley Bistro: Porcini and Portabella Mushroom with Napa Valley Merlot! This sauce totally added a whole new depth of flavor to this dish! Jarred sauces can be pretty bland but this stuff… it’s awesome. Of course when you add wine to anything, it surely doesn’t hurt it!! We have tried other flavors in this line and they are fabulous and they all feature different wine. If you see this around, give it a shot!!!

IMG_4267

And the chicken itself was fabulous!! I simply seasoned 3 big chicken breasts with salt, pepper, dried basil, and garlic powder and grilled them on our George Foreman grill. I think that a juicy, not dry, and deliciously flavored chicken breast is one of the best things… and it’s so hard to cook chicken breasts perfectly without drying them out!

IMG_4270

My dad took one bite and said “This is supposed to be healthy?” Um, need I say more? A delicious and healthy dish that seems really decadent? What more could you ask for?!

I also had some steamed broccoli on the side that I split with my dad – him and I share the same love of broccoli, despite the stanky odor that broccoli has.

 

Before I get to tonight’s dessert, I thought I’d share what I had last night. I have some sort of dessert, every  night, but I rarely blog about it because they are usually super repetitive. But last night, I decided to try out a chocolate green monster SIAB. I mixed up:

  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 cup or so of baby spinach
  • 1 cup Kefir
  • stevia
  • 2 tbsp. cocoa powder
  • 1 cup of ice
  • 2 tsp ish of xanthan gum

IMG_4232

It is super ugly but it was delicious!!! Though pretty tangy from the Kefir, next time I’d probably do 1/2 kefir, 1/2 milk. But it totally hit my chocolate craving!!!

 

And then tonight’s chocolate fix… YUM!!!!! I’ve had this or a variation of it before but I just can never get over how good it is. I combined 1/2 cup of Greek Yogurt with chia seeds and a bit of stevia, let it hang out a while in the fridge, and then topped it with a crumbled chocolate chip Vita Top… and then added a spoonful of PB & Co.’s white chocolate PB (can’t remember the exact name of it).

IMG_4278

Heaven in a bowl. No joke. OH how I love healthy (or at least semi-healthy) desserts. What is your favorite healthy/healthier dessert?

IMG_4280

 

Today, I am thankful…

  1. For Vita Tops… simple thing to be thankful for but they are SO darn good. (P.S., Vita Tops are apparently on sale at Publix, buy one get one free, starting tomorrow!!! Considering their price, this is an amazing deal…)
  2. My overall health and knowing that it is MUCH more important than being super skinny.
  3. Excitement for what the future holds! I have no idea what that is, but I am excited nonetheless.

 

Check out this giveaway at Everyday Foodie and this one at Brown Eyed Baker!

