Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I am now officially on Spring Break! Oh yeah!! This girl is doing NO school work for one week. None. Zip. Which is a big deal for me because I admit, I am an over-achiever to the extreme. But I need a break!! No big plans to be had other than relaxing because I do still have to play dodge ball with kids work every day (if you can call what I do working). In any case, my only actual plans are on next Wenesday – I am taking the day off from work and planning on taking a trip to Charlotte, NC (about an hour and a half away) to do some major shopping at an awesome mall that has my all time favorite store, a trip to Trader Joe’s, and a little Fro-Yo detour. I was going to just go to Whole Foods that is about 20 minutes away but I decided what the heck, I’m going to have a day to myself and take a little road trip. I’ve only been to Trader Joe’s once so I am highly un-educated in all things TJ. Any tips? Products that I must try? Something that you love?

Today was not terribly exciting, nothing crazy happened, but it was just a good day. You know how that goes? I’m just happy to be alive and well. I twittered my way through Statistics class and made it out of Macroeconomics alive, though brain dead from stretching my brain that far (macro and I do NOT go together – it just doesn’t click in my head). I then went to work and played an awesome game of teachers vs. kids dogeball with my little ones. And let me tell you, they are little, but they are STRONG. You get whacked with a ball thrown by a little 6 year old… it stings!! And I will have you know that dodge ball is EXCELLENT for getting some aggression out. Oh yes. And I worked up a sweat, my workout for the day I guess. And I’m kind of paying for it now… my injury is slightly sore. What can you do…

 

I started my day off with a delicious bowl of overnight oats. I just can’t seem to go a day without oats in some form or fashion 🙂 And it was a good batch!

IMG_4285

Last night I combined:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/3 ish cup of Greek yogurt
  • scant 1/3 cup of milk
  • pinch of stevia
  • cinnamon

And then I added this morning:

  • splash of milk
  • Chia seeds (you should see the yogurt puff up when you add the seeds… those Chias soak it up!!)
  • 1/2 banana
  • Barney butter sauce – microwaved BB and 1 tbsp of milk for 10 seconds and stirred it together, a la Kath. You are also supposed to add a dash more milk after you stir but mine was runny and not clumpy so it worked. This works fabulously in overnight oats (or in yogurt messes) because you can get a bite of nut butter with each bite, rather than the nut butter forming into a clump.
  • bluberries

IMG_4287

I can never get enough of the doughy overnight oaties! Whoever first attempted overnight oats and created this… you are my hero.

(P.S., those oats are in a leftover BIG yogurt container… you gotta do what you have to to limit the washing of dishes)

 

Lunch was delish as well!! Thanks to seeing these around the blog world FOREVER and lusting after them and telling myself that spending that much money on them was crazy… I finally caved and bought some Ezekial Cinnamon Raisin English Muffins.

IMG_4297

And I am glad that I did!! They are SO FREAKING GOOD! Sorry for all the caps but they are awesome! Super doughy, cinnamony, tasy, and filling! Yum…

 

I also had an apple…

IMG_4290

And steamed broccoli and some raw sharp White Cheddar (which was delicious with the apple).

IMG_4291

It was a random lunch, but it worked. It kept me full all afternoon at work, which is no easy task.

 

Please don’t kill me, but dinner was leftovers from last night. Bad blogger. I was going to try Angela’s savory cheesy oats but I didn’t have all of the necessary ingredients. I’ve been super curious about savory oats for a while now because they sound so good!!! But anyways…

IMG_4311

If it ain’t broke, don’t try to fix it (as we say here in the South). You had to have seen this coming… as much as I went on and on about how good it was last night.

IMG_4307

I know some hate leftovers, but I love them. If the meal is awesome the first time around, chances are that it will be incredible the second time around too. And it was 🙂

IMG_4301

I also had a salad on the side with romaine, croutons, tomatoes, cucumber, and light ranch.

 

And then came dessert… which makes up for my lame dinner because it was seriously, the best desert I have had in a while. It beats last night’s vita top yogurt mess AND the banana pudding from Sunday night.

IMG_4312

It’s not too pretty but don’t let it fool you… Hot microwaved apple covered in cinnamon + caramel oikos + PB & Co. Mighty Maple + Quaker Maple Oatmeal Squares… Delicious is an understatement!

IMG_4318

The hot apples made the yogurt all melty.. and you KNOW how good caramel is with apples. Add in some Mighty Maple and crunch from the Quaker cereal and you have pure heaven. This is what dreams are made of people…

 

So tomorrow night, I have a dinner date with my mama 🙂 Who needs boys? We are going to Carrabba’s! Yes, I know that it is a chain but it is probably my favorite restaurant of all time. It’s in Greenville (20-30 mins away) so we rarely go there for dinner.. I’m talking, this is usually only somewhere we go on my birthday. Here is the menu. Any thoughts on what I should order? We always get the calamari (it is to DIE for) but I like to try new things. Any suggestions? Including wine? I think that the Italian Sangria sounds fabulous but I’m not at all knowledgeable on wines. So all of you wine aficionados, take a look at the wine list and let me in on the good wines (I generally prefer white).  What would you order?

And this is just a random thought but I was just wondering, do any of you bloggers out there ever feel the pressure to defend a meal or something that you eat? For instance, junk food, desserts, fried foods, leftovers, etc.? I do. For the most part, blogging has encouraged me to eat more veggies and expand my food horizons and experiment in the kitchen. But I almost feel like a bad blogger when I have the same breakfasts day after day or have leftovers for dinner and lame lunches. Blogging is awesome and the community is amazing but it’s so easy to compare yourself to others, you know?

 

Don’t forget to enter my giveaway if you haven’t already!

Check out this Chia seed giveaway on What Kate Ate! You guys know my love of some Chia seeds..

And this one on Eater Not A Runner that is full of some fabulous products!

AND enter to win a 1/2 year supply of Kodiak Cakes here!

 

Have a great night loves!

"Stop worrying about the potholes in the road and enjoy the journey." – Babs Hoffman

