Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

First and foremost, thank you for all of the wonderful suggestions for Trader Joe’s! I am going to have a very long list… but I imagine that I will be a very happy girl 🙂

 

I do believe that spring has finally sprung!! 😀 We had gorgeous weather today… sunny and warm! Ok, it hit about a high of 60 so it wasn’t exactly toasty for most of the day… but compared to 30 degree temps, it was like a tropical climate! So nice to be able to walk outside without having to put on ten million layers, you know? It was for sure WAY too nice of a day to spend indoors! So what does a girl do when she has NOTHING to do? A frozen yogurt run, of course… When I was in downtown Greenville a couple weeks ago, I spotted with my little eye a frozen yogurt store! Wooo!!! This is legendary because this is the first frozen yogurt store around here besides TCBY. So when I saw this place back weeks ago, I knew I would be coming back. So what that it took 20 minutes to get to Greenville and then I sat in downtown traffic for a good 15 minutes and then had to fight for a parking space? Um.. it was worth it. So darn worth it.

The place is named blueberryfrog (isn’t that the cutest name?!) Apparantly it has been there since 2008… what?! I’ve been missing out! According to their website:

Perfecting the combination of award winning frozen yogurt that tantilizes the senses and an atmosphere that has even Rolling Stone speechless. Fresh fruit and toppings allow for perfect harmony when introduced to the blueberryfrog’s incredible flavors, plain, green tea and blueberry. Seasonal flavors such as cappuccino, chocolate, pomegranite and key lime have inspired the "two-a-day" club, who’s only membership requirements are a taste for the devine and a splash of indecisiveness.
Fortunately, for the waistlines of all those who love things that are delicious, the blueberryfrog has not added one gram of fat to the secret recipe. Using organic yogurt and milk, the frog has introduced probiotics, which would make your mother & your digestive tract proud. In an imperfect world, 624 S. Main St. Greenville, SC, offers up a little slice of perfection.

 

The seasonal flavor that they have right now is pomegranite (they also had chocolate and blueberry) but I went with the plain. And my toppings? strawberries, blueberries, and graham cracker crumbs.

photo (37)

I cannot even express to you how freaking good this was. My mouth was so  happy that I almost danced back to my car 😀

photo (38)

This combo tasted almost like a strawberry cheesecake. The yogurt itself was perfect – slightly tart but sweet. They had other toppings like mango, kiwi, fruity pebbles, captain crunch, bananas, marshmallows, chocolate chips, granola,… Endless possibilities. And the thing that I liked about it the most was that the owner was actually the one serving the yogurt, he was right up front. And he was super friendly! It’s probably a good thing that this place is not super convenient for me. Blueberryfrog… I will return 😀 Favorite fro-yo toppings? Or not a fan of fro-yo?

 

I also made another discovery… World Market! I had NO idea that there was one in Greenville. Talk about foodie heaven!!! I had to seriously restrain myself here (especially since I was about to go to Whole Foods and I have the upcoming Trader Joe’s journey). It was one of those moments where I walk around with my mouth hanging open while producing little squeals of joy now and again 🙂 They had the most gorgeous plates, bowls, silverware, etc. And the food… dear me. The chocolate selection was out. of. this. world.

Some of my finds include this matching bowl and plate..

IMG_4367

It’s so cute! It just makes me smile 😀

And I got all sorts of chocolate, a fun coffee flavor, a Key Lime Spice blend, and more!!

Have you ever been to World Market?

Next stop, Whole Foods!!! In my defense… it was across the street. I went in promising myself that I would not, would NOT, spend a lot of money. Meh.

I found So Delicious Coconut Milk Kefir!!!!!! When I saw it, I seriously said OH MY GOSH and grabbed it off of the shelf. At this point, I am used to the strange looks that displays like that earn me. It’s all good because I am now the owner of Coconut Milk Kefir 😀 And to think… I used to HATE coconut.

IMG_4377

I had some other wonderful things including wheat berries, a new veggie burger flavor, kale, leeks, more Mighty Maple cereal, sweet potatoes and apples (that were on sale, go me!), a cheese from Ireland, and more. Yay for grocery shopping!! 😀

 

Ok, now backtracking to this morning… I had a wonderful bowl of oats.

IMG_4348

It had the normal oats, water, milk, salt, cinnamon, 1/2 banana (that was frozen and thawed – I could slightly tell the difference between fresh), barney butter, and pumpkin butter.

IMG_4350

Nothing like oats!

 

Lunch was a wrap with an Amy’s veggie burger, broccoli sprouts, spinach, and tomato. With ketchup for dippage. And extra tomato slices on the side.

IMG_4362

It was good but I have to say, not a huge fan of the broccoli sprouts. They tasted kind of bitter to me.

IMG_4358

I also had a bowl of strawberries, grapes, and pineapple.

IMG_4365

 

And then comes dinner… it was a good one!

I had some leftover Calamari (too good to waste!!!) and marinara sauce for dipping.

IMG_4387

I reheated it in the oven for a bit and it was super crispy, as good as it was last night!

IMG_4389

I also had a sweet potato… a Garnet sweet potato, to be exact. They are the bomb. I can really the difference between these and other varieties. Sadly, I can only find these at Whole Foods.

IMG_4378

I added a bit of butter (whipped Land O Lakes).

IMG_4391

And also some greens!!! I cooked a bit of the kale that I bought today by kind of steaming it in a bit of water and then letting the water cook off. I added some baby spinach, agave nectar, salt, pepper, and a bit of the Key Lime Spice blend. YUM!!! I have always been afraid of trying kale because I’ve heard so much about it being bitter. But with the agave nectar, the spinach, and the seasoning… NO bitterness. Just deliciousness 🙂

IMG_4381

FYI, sweet potato and kale are amazing together!!! I ended up taking a bite of potato with each bite of kale… out of this world!!!! Do you like kale? Any good recipes?

I had a Belgian Chocolate Shell that I got at World Market for dessert.

IMG_4372

So good!!! Super creamy and it has a filling… but I’m not quite sure what it was. Kind of like a chocolate mousse? To die for.

IMG_4394

Wow. What an amazing day of food!!!

 

I also wanted to add this mention about my injury. It has been since January 16th when I made an attempt to ride a stat bike at my gym that I have done cardio of any form. Based on how I feel now, I cannot believe that I even thought at that time that I was healed enough to attempt anything. And for obvious reasons, it hurt, and that was it. But now, my pain is much better. It has turned into a slight discomfort/soreness and sometimes I feel nothing. The days that I do experience pain are days where I am not careful about what I do or if I walk a lot. For instance, after playing an intense game of dodge ball at work on Thursday,I was sore on Friday. Well actually, my injury was sore but also my legs and butt. Really goes to show how intense dodge ball can be and that I have not worked out in a LONG time! In any case, from what I’ve been told and advice I have been given, I should be OK to attempt the stat bike again since I am not in pain exactly. AND I have a doctor’s appointment on this coming Wed. with my orthopedic doctor for a check up on the injury. So I was thinking, I might as well go ahead and attempt the stat bike so that I can report to him how it feels. I am slightly unsure but I think that’s also a part of me just being paranoid and super careful and afraid to hurt myself any worse. In any case, I am planning to go on Monday morning if I don’t experience any signs that tell me that I shouldn’t. We shall see… Thoughts? 

 

Don’t forget to enter my giveaway if you haven’t!

Good night!

 

"If we don’t change, we don’t grow. If we don’t grow, we are not really living. Growth demands a temporary surrender of security."
– Gail Sheehy

