Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m trying to think of something clever to say but honestly, not much going on today. Which can actually be a good thing, ya know? I’ve had a very good day though! One of those days where I just want to jump around and sing because I’m SO happy!!! Which I can’t do, of course, but you get the picture.  One of those days where I woke up on the right side of the bed (like Freya said on her bloggie this morning). I actually have a lot of big things going on right now but I’m not quite at liberty to share yet… I will say that I have a big important meeting in the morning 🙂 And no, it actually doesn’t have anything to do with my injury. Which, by the way, thank you AGAIN for all of the advice/encouragement/stories/well wishes. They all mean the world to me, each and every comment and e-mail that I receive. If I have helped one person, gave one person the encouragement they needed to get through their own injury… well then, this was all worth it 😉

I will share a funny conversation that I had with a first grader today. It was actually between one of my favorite kids… yeah, yeah I know you aren’t supposed to have favorites but it happens. Some kids just have a special place in your heart and me and this little boy, well we bonded. I love him dearly and he has completely captured my heart. Well today he says, completely out of the blue, “Miss Jessica, you know something?” and I said “What’s that?” He replies “You are going to have to go through a VERY hard time in your life.” What?! Which of course is what I said back to him. He then went on to explain “You’re going to have a baby one day and it’s gonna hurt… BAD. But I’m lucky cause I’m a boy and we don’t have to have babies” and I’ll add that he said this in a very gloating tone 😉 . I did not even know how to begin to reply to that. It’s one of those things that just literally makes you speechless. Luckily a 5 year old girl chimed into the conversation at that point with “But she’s not pregnant!!!” and then they debated whether or not I was currently with child and/or would someday be. Where do kids get these things?!

 

Anywho, I have a confession to make. I tried two new nut butters today from my excursion yesterday and I am in LOVE. I probably shouldn’t have opened both considering that I now have around… 8 or 9 jars of nut butters opened?! Yikes. I had no idea I had that many until I just counted. I think I need to go to nut butter rehab… I am insanely addicted. Meh.

First up, breakfast in the form of my beloved… oats. Which were really just a vehicle for the almond butter.

IMG_4557

I had my usual mix of oats (1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup water, 1/2 cup milk, cinnamon, pinch of salt, 1/2 banana) that I topped with TJ’s creamy salted almond butter. HOLY cow. This stuff is GOOD. It is so creamy!!! Seriously the creamiest almond butter i’ve EVER had besides Barney Butter. And the salt in the nut butter mixed with the sweetness of the oats… OMG. Nut butter heaven.

IMG_4562

I also added some blueberries and this Crofter’s Asia spread. YUM!! It has raspberries, yumberries, cherries, and grapes.  I’m not sure which one I like most… this one of the North America spread.

IMG_4538

 

And then for lunch… ok, so I think I had the BEST sandwich of my life. For real!! I am not even exaggerating!

IMG_4571

This beauty contained:

  • avocado
  • Boar’s Head chicken
  • Boar’s Head Monterey Jack cheese
  • tomato
  • lettuce
  • mustard

All of which was between two slices of Great Harvest Dakota Bread  the best bread you will ever put in your mouth. If there is a Great Harvest within driving distance of you and you have NOT checked it out, for shame!! One should not go through life without trying it… it will change your life. Homemade bread is seriously the BOMB. Nothing compares.

IMG_4575

The bread was so doughy and yeasty and soft and… just awesome. Ok.. i’ll shut up about the bread now 😉 And I have to add that this lunch was a direct assault on my ED. Something like this, I would NEVER have eaten in bad days. Between the cheese and the avocado (both, on the same sandwich? the fat? NEVER!) and the TWO slices of bread..real bread (I shudder to think of the crap I used to eat that was called “light bread”)… my ED would never have let me get away with this… and even if he did, I would have endless guilt. But not today. I do not know the calories in this sandwich and I do not want to. I DO know that it was full of veggies, healthy fats, lean protein, and good carbs. It was incredibly good for me, gave me tons of energy, and kept me full all afternoon. So take that ED!

IMG_4577

I also had a side of a peach and some strawberries 😀 Fruit makes me happy!

IMG_4565

 

And then tonight, it was one of those nights where NOTHING sounds appealing. I was starving but I had no clue what I wanted. I went through my options… and then I thought, salad! Sounds great! So I made only one of the best salads that I’ve ever made at home.

IMG_4579

He had..

  • grilled chicken
  • strawberries
  • romaine
  • butter leaf lettuce
  • avocado (twice in one day!)
  • golden raisons

And then I dressed it in TJ’s poppy seed dressing. This dressing is awesome!!! Love it!

IMG_4586

I also have another confession. I suck at cooking chicken breasts. And slicing them. Mine are rarely moist because I have a phobia of undercooked chicken. Can anyone tell me how to perfectly cook a chicken breast? And how to slice them “against the grain?” I’ve always heard that but I have no idea how to DO it.

IMG_4583

The salad was delicious, nonetheless!

 

And with dessert comes nut butter #2 – PB & Co. Dark Chocolate Dreams.

IMG_4588

Someone please tell me why I went so long without trying it… I’m in LOVE!!! This stuff is darn amazing! It tastes like peanut butter but then you get the hit of chocolate… YUM.

IMG_4590

And what did I do with it? A yogurt mess, of course! I layered 1/2 cup Greek Yogurt, 1/2 banana, and then a massive blop of DCD.

I also have to add that the DCD looks almost like chocolate mousse! So light and fluffy!!!

 

I then mixed this all up after the picture. Delicious!!! I was sad for it to end 😦

It’s amazing how such simple things in life bring me such great joy.

 

Today I am thankful for:

  1. Someone very dear to me letting go of something that was negatively impacting their life. People really CAN change. Especially when the good Lord intervenes 😀
  2. New possibilities
  3. One more day of a little less pain 🙂

What are YOU thankful for today?

*Check out this giveaway on Iowa Girl Eats! You can enter to win 1 of 2 prizes!!!

And this Newman’s Own giveaway at eat move love with numerous ways to enter

And this Chia seed giveaway at Peanut Butter  & Jenny

And don’t forget, my giveaway! You have until tomorrow night at 9PM EST to enter!

 

*Also, in case you missed it on yesterday’s post, I have received some e-mails lately from some AMAZING gals who have overcome injuries and come out on top. They are SUCH an inspiration to me and I think that it would be to others too. We can always use a little more inspiration in our lives! In any case, if you are one such lady who has overcame an injury, are in the process of healing from an injury, or just have something inspirational to share, I’d love to share your story on my blog! Shoot me an e-mail and I’ll feature one story a week. I’ve already had some awesome ladies participate and I am so excited to share their stories! And please don’t hesitate to share. I really think that each and every one of us can make a big difference, even in the life of just one person. We just have to try!

 

"Nothing is a waste of time if you use the experience wisely." – Auguste Rodin

