Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Happy Sunday to all you lovely ladies (and gents?)! How was yours?

Honestly, I woke up feeling pretty sorry for myself today. I try, really hard, to be positive about my injury, especially on the blog, because I want to be a good example and an inspiration. But I’m also human. And so I have my days. Today was one of those such days. And when I’m feeling like that, well, it’s a perfect chance for ED to worm it’s way in. And worm it did.

I know that several bloggers have talked about “fear foods” lately, those foods that we are/were afraid of eating or that may cause severe anxiety and stress. Well one of my fear foods has always been pizza, especially pizza buffet. Now, sometimes I’m on with pizza and I actually really love it! And when I want pizza, when I have a craving for it, I don’t have a problem eating it. But pizza buffet… well that’s another can of worms. I used to love going to Pizza Inn (a pizza restaurant that has a buffet) when I was younger; I’m talking we went once a week usually. But then ED appeared and I was horrified to realize how many calories that one could consume on any given pizza buffet meal. Needless to say, that was the end of Pizza Inn for me… I seriously haven’t been in years and years because of this stupid fear. Well, my parents suggested we go there for lunch today after Church and at first I panicked… but then I decided that I was going to conquer this stupid fear. I am strong. I can do this.

And then I got there and saw the food on the buffet and started to wear down. I fixed myself a salad with what limited veggies they had and then realized that they had no light dressings, just mayo based ranch and thousand island. So I did what ED said and at the dang salad with no dressing… And then comes pizza. The only ones on the buffet were either dessert pizzas or pizzas with meat, which I don’t eat. So my sweet dad requested that they make a veggie pizza for the buffet and they obliged. And then I got 2 pieces and sat down and saw all the cheese on them and I don’t even know what happened… except ED took over. I panicked. I haven’t felt this much panic/anxiety about food in SUCH a long time. It scared me out of my mind, the loss of control. I thought I was beyond it. So I did what I could and picked off most of the cheese and ate 2 tiny slices. And I scraped off the top of the chocolate chip pizza slice I had. This just honestly pisses me off SO badly. I was SO mad at myself afterwards that I just broke down, I could not believe that I gave in, let fear take over and prevent me from enjoying a meal that I used to love.

But after that little scene I was determined, more than ever, to beat this thing.. I will not let ED take over again, I will NOT listen to that voice. I will conquer this fear, among others. And to do this, I have to FACE my fears. Today, I may have gave in but I still faced my fear. Just the act of going to the restaurant was a big step for me, as sad as that may be. But next time, I will not only face my fear but I will conquer it. ED may have won this battle, but he will NOT win the war!

 

Breakfast this morning was epic. EPIC.

IMG_4651

It may not win any presentation awards but it tasted out of this world.

This was oat bran (1/3 cup bran, 2/3 cup water, 1/3 cup milk, 1/4 banana, pinch of salt, cinnamon) in an almost empty yogurt container, topped with some of the leftover yogurt, raspberries, “melted” strawberry preserves, and TJ’s salted creamy almond butter.

IMG_4650

YUM!!! The flavors all mixed together was just out of this world! I used to hate raspberries because of the seeds but I don’t know… I got them with my frozen yogurt yesterday on the spur of the moment and they were heaven! And now I love them! Isn’t it funny how tastes change over time?!

 

The infamous lunch:

photo (44)

 

I had a green monster as an afternoon snack. I literally felt healthier after drinking it… I needed some greens in me!!!

IMG_4658

It had:

  • 1/2 banana
  • 2 cups or so of baby spinach
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • stevia
  • cinnamon
  • ice

 

I had lots of veggies for dinner, including two new things!

New thing numero uno: kale chips!!!

IMG_4667

I have seen them around the blog world for a while now but have yet to try them. What have I been waiting for?! So freaking good!!! They were literally crispy like a chip but SO good for you! And talk about addictive…

To make them I simply popped them onto a cookie sheet, sprayed with some canola oil spray, seasoned with salt, and cooked them at 375 for 15 minutes. I dipped them in ketchup and they were fabulous!

I also had brussel sprouts for the first time. Yep… i’ve never had brussel sprouts before!!! And I really don’t get what all the fuss is about.. they are delicious!!!

IMG_4676

I seasoned them with salt, pepper, and a little Agave Nectar and roasted them at the same temperature as the kale but for 25 minutes.

Mmmmm… I love brussel sprouts!!! Just goes to show that you can’t say you don’t like something unless you have tried it…Do you like brussel sprouts? How do you like to cook them?

And then some roasted baby Yukon gold potatoes on the side that were seasoned with salt, pepper, and garlic powder.

IMG_4674

Roasted potatoes are one of my favorite things.. and so simple!

Ketchup made both the potatoes and the brussel sprouts even better!

IMG_4672

And then finally, a oatmeal roll from Whole Foods with some whipped butter.

IMG_4673

Yumm… buttery sweet oaty doughy bread! (enough adjectives for you?)

IMG_4670

Needless to say, dinner was fabulous.

And there may or may not have been a girl scout cookie after dinner… 😀

I then had some plain greek yogurt, 1/2 a banana, and some PB & Co.’s Dark Chocolate Dreams.

IMG_4681

Which I promptly mixed up after the photo shoot, per usual.

IMG_4684

I also had a handful of pretzels after this. I wasn’t really hungry but I felt like my body was wanting it.. or maybe I was just being snacky. Who knows.

 

I managed to remember to push my clock forward so I was NOT late today, woo hoo!!! Though losing an hour of sleep makes for a tired girl 🙂 I’m loving the extra daylight, though it was somewhat strange to be eating dinner with it being light out. It’s finally starting to feel like spring… 🙂

 

Giveaway: Nuun giveaway

 

I hope everyone has a great night! I know that lately posts have been a bit… long and kinda emotional and I do apologize. Hopefully my life will calm down a bit soon 🙂

