Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Good evening!

How do you like the new layout? Or do you prefer the old one? I’ve been meaning to change things up for a while but I had no idea where to start. I’m still playing around with it so don’t get too comfy 😉 I can’t figure out how to change the font and color of the text… something that seems so simple. I’m probably just over-looking something, knowing me. If anyone has any tips on blog layouts I would LOVE it!

Soo… this is my 100th post! Woohoo! I can’t believe that I have been blogging that long… but I can’t imagine NOT blogging now, you know? It’s so addicting! Looking back on my very first post, I’ve come a long way, in so many ways. When I started blogging, I really had no idea where this would go. I only knew that I needed something to occupy myself with through this injury. I had no idea how many amazing people I would “meet” through blogging and how many new friends I would make. And I do feel that I have made some amazing friends. Others may consider it strange to meet people through blogging but really, what better way to meet a friend than by sharing something you have in common (blogging, healthy living, food, running, etc.). I have been absolutely blown away by the amazingness of the blogging community… I never could have anticipated how caring, supportive, helpful, encouraging, and uplifting it is. I also know that I would not be where I am today, with this attitude about my injury, if not for blogging. Not only have I gained insight into this injury by meeting people with the same or similar injuries that I never would have gained otherwise but I have also been able to stay at least somewhat positive on most days because your comments are SO uplifting. And I want to be encouraging to others who are in similar situations, I never want to set a bad example. I am human and I also have my days (like I have said) but I want my blog to have a positive atmosphere about it.

Because of the blog, I have also been encouraged to try new things that I never would have tried otherwise (i.e. green monsters, nutritional yeast, chia seeds, OATS, etc.). My creativity in the kitchen has grown and I have been challenged to try new things, new foods, and new recipes. You all have encouraged me to go after my dreams and have helped me to have the confidence in myself to do so. I have been inspired to try new forms of exercise (like swimming) that I’m not sure if I ever would have thought of if not for other bloggers. I have also discovered my love of photography, which I really had NO idea that I would enjoy! I’m so excited about life now… I want to travel (and see some of you incredible women), take up swimming, push myself to try new things, love myself, treat my body the way it deserves, and never take another day for granted… all because of blogging!

What has blogging meant to you? How has it impacted your life? And/or if you don’t blog yourself, how has reading blogs impacted your life?

Ok, ok enough of the sappy stuff 🙂

I tried another version of oats this morning, inspired by this lovely lady – Peaches and Cream Oats

IMG_4730

I made my usual base of whipped oats (1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup water, 1/2 cup milk, pinch of cinnamon and salt), mixed it with 2 tbsp or so of whipped cottage cheese, topped with peach slices and Barney Butter.

IMG_4733

It was delicious but there are definite changes I would make next time – decrease oats, increase cottage cheese, cook the peaches INTO the oats, and add a little more cinnamon.

IMG_4736

Lunch was somewhat random but covered most of the major bases 🙂

I started with an Amy’s veggie burger that I topped with 1 wedge of Light Laughing Cow Swiss Cheese.

IMG_4746

With some white corn on the side.

IMG_4748

I so love corn on the cob… but it’s messy!!!

IMG_4744

I also had an apple and some baby carrots…

IMG_4740

With Naturally More Peanut Butter and Trader Joe’s Salted Creamy Almond Butter – best of both worlds!!!

IMG_4743

 

I then continued my burger kick and made some Bean Burgers by loosely following Kath’s recipe found here. But I used a whole can of pinto beans ( 1 1/2 cups – 3 servings) and mixed it with flour, whole wheat bread crumbs, Worcestershire sauce, barbecue sauce, salt, and pepper.

IMG_4754

They were good but I’m not sure I had the amounts of everything right because mine were a bit on the wet side. I also think that they would be somewhat better with buns. But overall, very pleased with this recipe!

IMG_4760

And some sweet potato “fries” (even though these are more like sweet potato half moons) with cinnamon, salt, and agave nectar.

IMG_4763

Annnnd more kale chips. With plenty of ketchup for dipping 🙂

IMG_4767

Dessert was 2 Nature’s Path “thin mint” cookies and then a yogurt bowl.

IMG_4769

Yeah, I know, I think I may turn into Greek Yogurt one of these days as much as I eat of it… but it’s SO good!!! And i’m supposed to be consuming extra calcium… 🙂

IMG_4771

This bowl had yogurt (obvi), raspberries, strawberries, and 1/2 a crumbled homemade (by Whole Foods) granola bar. This bar was awesome!!! It has chunks of fruits, nuts, coconut, oats, and much more… So good!! Almost as good as Glo Bar… which reminded me, WHY have I never topped yogurt with a Glo Bar?! Duh Jessica…Must. Fix. This.

 

I am super thankful today for:

  1. A positive attitude – it really DOES make all the difference.
  2. Beautiful weather
  3. YOU!

 

Any changes or things you would like to see more of on The Process of Healing? I’m up for any suggestions!!!

 

"If you want a place in the sun, you’ve got to put up with a few blisters."
– Abigail Van Buren

