Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!! Did you remember your green today? I sure did! When you work with kids, you remember because if you aren’t wearing green… you WILL get pinched. There is no question about that 😉

I have to say, I did not celebrate St. Patty’s day in a big way. Honestly, it was one of THOSE days… you know? It started off with a very vivid dream of an ex last night and well… it went downhill from there. BUT the day is over so I am moving onward and upward to good things.

 

Thanks for all the feedback on the new layout! I will share anything that I learn about blog layouts as well 🙂

 

I started off my day with a bowl of oat bran. It contained an oat base of 1/3 cup bran, 2/3 cup water, 1/3 cup milk, pinch of salt, cinnamon, and 1/2 banana. I then topped it with blueberries, raspberries, and almond butter.

IMG_4775

In a green bowl, of course 🙂

IMG_4777

And then I had a cinnamon bun…

HA make that cinnamon bun coffee 😀

IMG_4781

In a Christmas mug. Cuz that’s how I roll 😉

 

And what better way to celebrate the day than a green monster SIAB for lunch?! And this was, by far, without a doubt, the BEST green monster that I have ever had.

IMG_4784

Isn’t she pretty?

IMG_4786

It had:

  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup plain greek yogurt
  • 1 tbsp or so of vanilla protein powder
  • 1 frozen banana
  • lots of baby spinach
  • 1/4 of an avocado
  • 1 cup or so of crushed ice
  • Topped with: plain Kefir and Trader Joe’s Honey, Almond, and Flax Cereal (see below)

 

Ok so I know that this is basically made after Kashi Golean cereal but I have to say, I prefer the TJ’s version. It’s a little less… hard than the kashi and delicious!

IMG_4791

I’d say that the keys to this exceptional green monster was the whole frozen banana and the avocado. The frozen banana added so much flavor and the avocado added plenty of creaminess and healthy fats.

IMG_4795

This monster kept me full ALL afternoon!!!!

IMG_4799

I also had an apple on the side but I only ate about half – I was stuffed!!!

IMG_4797

I went out to dinner with my mom before church and we went to a local place called Wade’s. I’d venture to say that you probably haven’t heard of it but it’s a very “homey” restaurant that serves meat and veggies and the variety changes daily. I always get a veggie plate but today I was craving some soup 🙂 So I had some of their veggie soup. It was a tomato base with CHUNKS of potato, tomato, carrots, corn, green beans, and more. SO good!! You could tell that it was homemade. I also had some corn bread crumbled up in the soup. And half of a yeast roll (theirs is to DIE for!!!) with some strawberry jam. Unfortunately, I was a bad blogger… ok a forgetful blogger. I was so hungry and so involved in conversation with my madre that I dug right in without taking a picture. I remembered my mistake when my bowl was about empty so I snapped a picture of it but it’s not very pretty.

photo (48)

I promise that it was delicious 🙂

photo (47)

And then I had a piece of Dove Dark Chocolate that was in my purse. What… you don’t carry chocolate with you at all times?!

 

After I got home from church, I was hankering for some dessert (yes I just said hankering… 😉 ) so I created this waffle/yogurt bowl.

IMG_4803

It had a base of greek yogurt that I topped with one waffle (of the frozen variety but this one is GOOD) and a mix of TJ’s creamy salted almond butter and my PB & CO. Dark Chocolate Dreams.

Oh this hit the spot… tasted almost like a Reese Cup, which is never a bad thing in my book 😀

But you will never guess what happened… I opened up my jar of DCD to discover that it was half gone!! [enter shocked face and lots of screaming “who ate my dark chocolate crack?”] I then discover that my father is the culprit. *sigh* I couldn’t get upset because I’m happy that he’s getting on the healthy living bandwagon and satisfying his sweet tooth with something better for him than usual… but dang I hate it when people eat my food, you know?  But of course he could eat it all and leave me the jar for OIAJ and then buy a new jar of DCD for me… I wouldn’t be complaining then 😉

 

P.S. – I hate to ask but I’m seeing a new sports doctor tomorrow about my stress fracture and I would REALLY appreciate all the positive thoughts/prayers you could possibly send my way. I’m really nervous but I’m hoping and praying for some good news and at least a move in the right direction. Thank you so much!!!

 

And tomorrow night, I have a VERY fun dinner in store! Stay tuned…

 

Around the blogging world…

 

I also wanted to share this song/video that was brought to my attention by a very lovely lady 🙂 It struck me in a very powerful way and I think you’ll understand why…

