Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Good evening everyone! I hope you had a fabulous Saturday! And saw more of the outside world than I did 😉 Fill me in, how did you make the most of your Saturday?

Me, well I made a serious dent in Gossip Girl, Season 1. I have been watching the show since it first aired on television and I forgot how GOOD season 1 was! And it’s amazing how different the show is now and how much has changed since then. I also watched this past week’s Grey’s Anatomy and Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution. Did anyone else see it? It was eye-opening!! After being in the public schools a good bit, I’ve seen what the meals are like and its horrifying what we are feeding our children these days. They grow up eating all this crap processed food. When a person eats stuff like that from the time they are 5 years old until high school, is it any surprise that they are going to develop health problems and be addicted to this junk? If children grew up eating real, whole foods and not just fed “kid-friendly” things like chicken nuggets and pizza, I think that it would make a HUGE difference. Thoughts?

I have to say, nothing too exciting going on in the food department today. My meals were delicious but I’m also going for quick and easy to prepare these days.

IMG_5127

I started with some oat bran (1/3 cup oat bran, 1/3 cup milk, 2/3 cup water, pinch of salt and cinnamon, 1/2 banana) that I topped with some Greek Yogurt, raspberries (they have RETURNED), blueberries, and TJ’s almond butter.

IMG_5131

By the way, in answer to a comment, to drizzle the almond butter… well, there’s not real trick to it. This brand and type of almond butter is just runny. BUT for other almond butters, you can use Kath’s method for nut butter sauce or you can just put the nut butter on your spoon and let your spoon sit in your hot oats for a minute – it will be perfectly drizzly!

IMG_5137

My mom actually made my lunch for me. And let me tell you, it was a HUGE test of my OCD. My mom is an amazing cook but I like things the way I like things, you know? In any case, she did an amazing job.

IMG_5140

This was a scramble with 1 whole egg, 2 egg whites, tbsp or so of light cream cheese, smoked salmon, and baby spinach.

IMG_5141

YUM!!! The end.

I then had a Fuji apple with a little Naturally Nutty peanut butter later on…

IMG_5142

Peanut butter and apples is just a match made in food heaven.

IMG_5145

Dinner was… well it was fast. I had a frozen dinner… yep. I found this delicious sounding meal in the depths of my freezer that was from a Whole Foods run months ago.

IMG_5147

This would be wheat gnocchi in a tomato-basil sauce with mushrooms and other veggies.

IMG_5160

It was pretty good. Especially for a frozen dinner.

IMG_5157

And the ingredients list was awesome!!

IMG_5149

It was full of actual, real ingredients and you could tell by the taste.

IMG_5159

I also had some Kale on the side that I sautéed with some garlic and parmesan cheese.

IMG_5151

Gotta get my greens in!

IMG_5156

And finished off the meal with a little Swiss Milk Chocolate from Trader Joe’s.

IMG_5162

And then, another Wallaby Yogurt with 1/2 a banana, strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries.

IMG_5165

The yogurt was banana/vanilla flavored and it was GOOD.

And it should’ve stopped there but my dad brought home some birthday cake from my niece’s birthday tonight and I had some. Now, I love me some cake. Cake is one of my most favorite things ever. But tonight, I was not hungry, at all. I had had my dessert. Yet I still ate some cake <- total emotional eating.

 

And now for another edition of Ask Me Anything

Who is your favorite blogger? Or blogger friend?

As much as you are going to hate me for saying this, I can’t pick just one!! C’mon now! I love ALL of you!!! You are so special to me and I adore each and every one of you. 😀 You all brighten my days and give me encouragement. You inspire me to keep pushing. You tempt me with delicious dishes and inspire me to try new dishes and new foods and push my boundaries just a bit.

But if you would like to read some awesome blogs, check out my blog roll, which is full of some AMAZING ladies!!! How about you? Any blogs that I should check out that I may have not heard of? What blogger has inspired YOU the most?

 

I have some fantastic guest posts coming at you soon by some lovely ladies so you won’t have to hear as much about my super exciting days… ha. But if you would still like to do a guest post for me, I would love for even more!!! If so, feel free to email me at cutiekitty1788@gmail.com.

Have a great night!

