Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m so glad that everyone loved Tina’s guest post last night! It was fabulous, of course. And I completely agree with her; being healthy incorporates faith, fitness, AND fun! Can’t have one without the other 😉 Well you can but you know what I mean…

Anywho, yesterday was perfect timing for a guest post because I ended up having to take an impromptu trip to the ER last night. Everything is ok, don’t worry. What happened? I lost my balance on my crutches and fell. Hard. On my butt. On my left side (the injured side). CRAP. They should’ve known better than to give me, the world’s clumsiest person on EARTH, crutches. *sigh* I didn’t feel my injury when I fell but afterwards, the pain started to set in. And I started to panic and cry hysterically, thinking I’d broken it or ruined any progress that I had made. SO off my mom and I toddled to the ER. Long story short, the bone isn’t broken. According to the x-rays that were taken, no damage was done, the x-rays are the same from before and after the fall. But the doctor said that when I fell, it jarred the muscle and tissue around the injured bone, hence the pain. He said. Does it hurt now more than it did before the fall? Yes. And I had just began to feel like I was making progress RIGHT before the fall. Needless to say, I was very upset. But I’ve accepted it now… what’s done is done. I can only move forward.

I did learn a lot from the doctor, more than I have learned from my own doctor. First, apparently I was not shown how to properly use crutches. But now I know. And the doctor that I saw said that he had seen several girls like me with stress fractures. And that it takes everyone a different length of time to heal, some girls took 4 weeks, some took 9 months (YIKES!). Hopefully I be more towards the former than the latter… He also gave me encouragement, I can’t explain it but you could just tell that he actually CARED (unlike my doctor). He kept telling me not to worry, that I WILL get better, everything will be ok. And that I was ok to go about my daily activities on crutches, there was no need for bed rest. Now, I am still going to rest as much as possible BUT that makes me feel slightly better. I think. I’m still afraid of moving from the bed or moving around on my crutches too much. I just want to do ANYTHING to speed this healing up!

In any case, it was a very eventful afternoon. But then I came home and ate dinner with my parents. And we watched a movie together. And I felt at peace. That everything was going to be ok. But now, the panic is starting to come back and I’m trying to grab hold of that peace I felt last night. It feels like everything is out of my control and I’m SO jealous of just… everyone! Anyone who can WALK! I just want to walk without these darn crutches, it’s driving me insane. Forget running… I just want to walk! And it’s only been 6 days. But I guess I should look at it as 1 week down… hopefully only 3 to go?

Ok, rant over now…

I’ll start back with my meals from yesterday, which were pretty delicious.

Especially breakfast. This was, quite possibly, the best bowl of oats I’ve EVER had. Rather, OIAC (Oats In A Container)

IMG_5173

This bowl was incredible.

IMG_5171

Base of oat bran (1/3 cup oat bran, 2/3 cup water, 1/3 cup milk, 1/2 banana, pinch of cinnamon and salt) topped with Greek Yogurt, Crofter’s, and TJ’s salted creamy almond butter.

IMG_5170

Pure amazingness. I know I say that a lot but really… try this!!!

For lunch I had an Ezekial Cinnamon Raison English Muffin with 1/2 topped with Greek Yogurt.

IMG_5175

This was SO good!! (Thank you Allie and Freya for the inspiration!)

IMG_5178

This is also a must try! The cold yogurt and the warm, toasted English muffin is just.. delicious. Mmmm…

I also had a Green Monster.

IMG_5180

It had a big handful of spinach, 1/2 frozen banana, 1/2 cup milk, pinch of cinnamon, pinch of Stevia, and LOTS of crushed ice. GM’s are just the BEST!

After the fun doctor’s visit (ha), I had spaghetti made by my mom.

IMG_5181

So good!!!! I don’t know why but I can NEVER get mine to taste like hers. So. Insanely. Good.

Definitely one of my comfort foods. And I had seconds.

And some unpictured mint chocolate chip frozen yogurt for dessert.

 

Fast forward to today: yet again, oat success!! Apple Chia Oats!

IMG_5185

YUM!!!

IMG_5188

This bowl had

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1/2 banana
  • pinch of salt
  • apple pie spice
  • 1/2 tbsp. or so of Chia Seeds
  • 1/2 Golden Delicious Apple

IMG_5187

All topped with some good ‘ole peanut butter. Nom nom… If you haven’t tried Chia seeds in oats, you are missing out…

I then had a veggie burger wrap for lunch.

IMG_5189

VERY messy but oh so good! It had a Morningstar veggie burger, tomato, avocado, baby spinach, ketchup, and mustard all in a whole wheat wrap.

IMG_5196

Delicious!!

With the rest of the tomatoes…

IMG_5193

and grapes.

IMG_5192

I had the rest of the apple from breakfast for a snack later on.

And for dinner, we grilled out! Er… my mom grilled out. My dad is grilling challenged… odd huh? Usually men are good at grilling and making breakfast. My dad has the breakfast down but the grilling? Not so much. But I digress…

IMG_5198

I had barbecue chicken that was perfectly cooked…

IMG_5199

With some homemade coleslaw..

IMG_5201

And a baked potato with 1 tsp. or so of butter and salt and pepper.

IMG_5200

It. Was. Good. I’ve been cooking for so long that my mom kinda never cooked anymore. Now, she’s back at it and I realize how much I missed it!!! Nothing like your mom’s cooking…

I also had an unpictured Publix fat free mocha yogurt with some PB & Co. Dark Chocolate Dreams for dessert.

Whew, that was a post!

 

I also wanted to mention one more thing that I just wanted to share. I know many of us have had rain and bad storms last night and today (at least on the east coast). Ours were BAD, with lots of lightening and hail and tornado watches. Well, storms never used to bother me, other than the tornado part, which is one of my worst fears. Anyway, that all changed in 2007 when one of my boyfriend’s (now ex) best friends (his name was Alex) was struck by lightening and killed. I had always heard about the dangers of lightening but I had never, ever thought that it would personally affect me or that it even actually struck people! I thought that was something that never happened. I was wrong. It was beyond awful, as you can imagine. I had just graduated the previous year but my high school was SMALL (I’m talking only 11 people in my graduating class) and so everyone was close, everyone knew each other; it was like a family. And Alex’s death, out of nowhere, shook everyone up and put a lot of things into perspective. He was only 17 and he had such a bright future ahead of him but it was gone in a flash, just like that. Life is short guys. Enjoy each day and don’t take it for granted. And as the summer approaches and storms are more and more frequent, please please PLEASE don’t ignore the dangers of lightening. Be careful. Because it is not something to be reckoned with. (If you would like, you can read more about what happened here)

 

I apologize for the slightly downer post! These are just things that I had to get off of my chest, and off of my heart. And I think you guys would rather me be honest than pretend that everything is rainbows and butterflies all the time?

But look for more guest posts coming in the coming days and weeks (I’m still open to anyone who would like to do one for me). And more Ask Me Anything answers (you can still ask more questions if you would like!) There are some AWESOME things to come!

*Check out this giveaway from Heather!

I love you guys!! Thank you for reading!

