Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Thank you for all of the wonderful comments and feedback from yesterday’s post! I’m glad to know that I’m not the only one who has struggled with forgiveness. But it sure is liberating once you get there!

So tonight was supposed to be a guest post but I decided to save it for tomorrow night as I actually have plans tomorrow! Woohoo! My mom is taking me out to do something, anything, because I have been out of the house about 2 times in the last 2 weeks… and one of those times was to the ER. So needless to say, I need a glimpse of the real world! I’ll be going to church on Sunday for Easter and to our family dinner, as long as I feel ok going out tomorrow. What are your Easter plans? Anyhow, there is a FUN guest post that is in store for you tomorrow so make sure you check it out!

Is anyone else glad that April Fool’s day is over? I sure am! I didn’t know what to believe yesterday! I am super gullible, which makes me a victim for those who loooove jokes. Thankfully, I was spared, I only fell for a couple 😉 Did you fall for any April Fool’s jokes? Or did you yourself pull a good joke on someone?

I did get outside today and enjoy the beautiful weather. It seems that South Carolina has skipped straight from winter to summer!! Where was spring?! I even got a tan!! (yes, I know, not that good for you BUT I was not digging my ghostly pallor of winter) I also received a fun package from Celestial that I won over at Chocolate-Covered Katie (thank you Katie!).

IMG_5293

It included:

  • 3 wellness teas to ease symptoms associated with the cold and flu including Sleepytime Extra, Echinacea Complete Care and Tummy Mint
  • 2 green teas to support a healthy immune system year round – Authentic Green Tea and Honey Lemon Ginseng Green Tea
  • Celestial Seasonings mug and coaster
  • Organic soothing lip balm
  • A package of honey sticks
  • Cute-n-snuggly Celestial Seasonings Sleepytime bear
  • The book “Herbs for Health and Happiness” by Celestial Seasonings founders Mo Siegel and Nancy Burke

IMG_5294

Isn’t the bear too cute?!

IMG_5299

I can’t wait to try out these teas!!

IMG_5296

IMG_5297

Before my exciting package, I started the day off with some Apple Chia Oats. Otherwise known as a bowl of pure comfort.

IMG_5272

I made a base of whipped banana oats (1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup milk, 1/2 cup water, pinch of salt, 1/2 banana, apple pie spices).

IMG_5279

I added 1/2 an apple that I microwaved for 2 minutes with some more apple pie spices.

IMG_5278

And of course, Chia Seeds. About 1/2 tablespoon.

IMG_5275

With some peanut butter on top… just simple, plain Jiff Natural Peanut Butter. Yum-tastic!

 

I had a yogurt bowl for lunch that featured some Kashi cereal that I received a sample of in the mail yesterday, GOLEAN Crisp! Toasted Berry Crumble.

IMG_5282

Along with some raspberries, blueberries, and strawberries over 2/3 cup plain nonfat Greek Yogurt.

IMG_5284

Overall, I really enjoyed the cereal! It seemed kind of a mix between Kashi GOLEAN and Kashi GOLEAN Crunch. The taste was really good!!! But it was higher in calories than the other two, coming in at 180 calories for 3/4 a cup. I would buy it, for sure, but I still prefer other Kashi cereals over this one.

IMG_5287

 

I then had a leftover turkey burger (but kicked up) with some veggies for dinner.

IMG_5306

I topped the turkey burger with 1/2 an apple and some onion that I caramelized with some aged balsamic, Agave nectar, salt, and pepper.

IMG_5309

HOLY yum!!!!!

IMG_5311

The balsamic just added the most incredible depth of flavor to the apples and onions. Delicious!!!

IMG_5310

I had sweet potato fries (this would be the 3rd day in a row that I have had fries of some sort – hey, don’t fix what isn’t broken!). I seasoned these the same as the other day (agave, salt, cinnamon, flax seeds, and cooking spray).

IMG_5313

They were awesome!! Though a tad burnt extra crispy 😉

IMG_5301

Along with some roasted Brussel sprouts that I seasoned with salt, pepper, agave, and balsamic.

IMG_5303

I think it’s safe to say that I’m addicted to Brussel Sprouts.

IMG_5304

And sweet potato fries. It’s all good 🙂

And then I had some Publix Thin Mint frozen yogurt.

IMG_5316

You can just call me the Ice Cream Queen… er, frozen yogurt. Whatever. I don’t discriminate.

IMG_5318

And so now, the final Ask Me Anything question. If you still have questions, feel free to ask! I may start a Q & A page and post all of the questions and answers that I’ve had so far and any more that I get.

I love your pictures! What kind of camera do you use? How do you make them look so nice?

Thank you! I really appreciate it! My camera is a simple point and shoot, it’s Canon PowerShot A540. It’s actually pretty old, about 4 years old actually. It’s held up quite well. I actually would LOVE to have a new camera for my birthday (any suggestions?) but I’m not sure how that will work out. I am no expert on photography, by any means, but I have really found that I enjoy it! Some of the best tips that I have learned is to try to go with natural lighting, no flash, and always edit them. Well, when I say edit, I upload mine on my computer, choose the pictures I want to put on the blog, open them in a picture editing program (I use Microsoft Office Picture Manager). Somewhere in the program will give you the option of “automatically correcting,” which will enhance the colors. It really makes a difference! And I always take tons and tons of pictures so that I have plenty of options. Just be creative!

 

And now I am off to watch Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution and then head to bed. That’s what I call an INTENSE Friday night 😉

Much love,

Jess

Live with intention.
Walk to the edge.
Listen hard.
Practice wellness.
Play with abandon.
Laugh.
Choose with no regret.
Appreciate your friends.
Continue to learn.
Do what you love.

