Tags

, , ,

Good evening all! I can’t thank you enough for the support and encouragement on last night’s post. Your comments brought me to tears, many times. How am I this blessed to be a part of such an amazing community?! I wish, I wish, I wish that there was a way I could show you my depth of gratitude, I really do!! As for the CT results, well we have them but we aren’t sure what they mean (thank you doctor terms) so we are waiting on a call from my doctor to actually explain them. And I will let you know, don’t worry!!!

Until then, I bring you another guest post! This one is from Ameena over at Fancy That…Fancy This. And if you haven’t checked out her blog yet, you don’t know what you are missing. This lady, she has a way with words. Mark my words, she will be a published author one day. And then we can say “we knew her when”… Don’t forget about the little people when you become a famous author one day Ameena 😉 ! Anywho, please enjoy! And the offer is still out if you’d like to do a guest post for me! I know that I am enjoying them!!! Have a great Thursday and make the most of it!

Love,

Jess

Hello All!  I am a dedicated reader of The Process of Healing because I too am in the process of healing.  I’ll spare you the details but let’s just say that when I was younger I wasn’t too smart and ran on an injured knee.  Obviously that was a terrible idea and here I am years later able to run only 1-2 times a week if I’m lucky, thanks to my stubbornness and general stupidity. 

I’m older now, but not much smarter.  However, as a thirty-something-year-old (I am going to save myself the anguish of writing down the actual number) I have learned a few things over the years that I feel compelled to share with you. 

1. Don’t get married.  I mean this.  Getting married means that in addition to whatever you do on a normal basis, you will also be expected to constantly cook, clean, and field ridiculous questions such as "I can’t find the ice cream.  Is it in the freezer?"  You will have to do this for the rest of your life.  Sure maybe you’ll get a half-hearted bouquet of flowers every now and then, but is a $10 bunch of Trader Joe’s Spring Mix really worth touching the dirty socks your husband shoved in the couch cushions?

Go buy yourself the flowers and you’ll save yourself a ton of headaches.  I promise.

2. Don’t have kids.  If you ignore #1 above, do yourself a favor and pay close attention to this one.  Not only are kids demanding and fussy, but once you welcome a child into this world, you can say a permanent goodbye to your metabolism, your size 2 jeans, and your free time.   Instead say hello to dirty diapers, constant vomit, and temper tantrums instead. 

Kids will suck the life out of you.  I am living proof of this.

3. Stop thinking about calories.  Load up on everything that isn’t good for you while you still can.  Go to the store, pick up all the delicious looking things you’ve been wanting to eat but haven’t let yourself purchase, and over the next few days/weeks/years, knock yourself out.  Eat dessert without calculating your daily caloric intake.  Have brownies for breakfast.  Treat yourself to full-fat everything.  Why?  Because if you don’t, you’ll find yourself regretting the fact that you didn’t eat that King Sized Snickers bar when you still had the chance.  And why don’t you have the chance anymore?  Because you ignored #2 above and your child ruined your metabolism, just as I predicted he/she would.

You are probably thinking, “This girl is off her rocker!”  And maybe I am.  With a husband and child who drive me nuts all day long anything is possible.  All I can say is that I wish someone had given me this kind of honest advice back when I was in my twenties and was wooed by an engagement ring and the promise of a constant movie companion.  Take my word for it when I say that diamonds are overrated and going to the movies alone is underrated.  But since there is no use in crying over spilled milk, I won’t imagine what could have been.  Instead, I urge you all to save yourselves while you still have a chance. It is too late for me!

