Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Well the doctor finally did call back but it wasn’t any big news. Basically, what I shared with you last night was the basics of it. And a lovely bloggie friend with a medical knowledge shared with me her views on the results and what they meant, which was really helpful. I’ll be glad to share with you guys what she said if you would like to know more details. Basically, I am healing but very slowly. My doctor referred me to another doctor who specializes in bone health. But when we tried to get an appointment with said doctor, there wasn’t an opening until May 31… um they expect me to wait a month and  a half? Um, no. So we were told to call back every day to see if someone cancels an appointment. And the people from Steadman Hawkins are supposed to call on Monday to make me an appointment. SO hopefully I’ll get in to one of those places very soon. My previous doctor and I have “ended our relationship,” so to speak. He says that there is nothing more he can do and I’m pretty much on my own with the whole crutches thing, it’s “up to my discretion” when I stop using them … gee, thanks for being ever so helpful. Anywho, it’s ok since I’m seeing other doctors anyway but still. I mean really…

We are not entirely sure what the new doctors will say other than put me on bone hardening medication but hopefully there is something else they can do. The current plan is to stay on crutches and rest through April (except for random days like tomorrow night, my birthday, and when we go to Gatlinburg). And hopefully return to work in May. Here’s to hoping…

And I also want to thank you all YET again for the encouragement and advice on yesterday’s post… on the injury and the date 😉 You guys are seriously the best! I heart you all 🙂

 

My morning oats were quite delicious but lacking. I wanted a bowl of “tropical oats” with coconut, pineapple, and mango but I had no coconut 😦 And the coconut kefir was old. But it was still good 🙂

IMG_5481

The base was normal whipped banana oats (1/cup oats, 1/2 cup water, 1/2 cup milk, cinnamon, salt, 1/2 banana) that I added pineapple, mango, and Chia seeds.

IMG_5482

I then topped it with brown sugar, flaxmeal, and some roasted cashews fresh from the oven.

IMG_5483

Who I am kidding… this bowl ROCKED!

IMG_5488

I had another huge salad beast for lunch…you knew it was coming 😉 Ok, maybe you didn’t but I did!

IMG_5494

This was even better than yesterday! It had:

  • lettuce
  • broccoli
  • tomato
  • avocado
  • chicken
  • mushrooms
  • mustard
  • ketchup
  • nooch

IMG_5495

It tasted like a cheeseburger… er, sans the burger. YUM!

IMG_5489

And a giant orange the size of my head.

IMG_5491

We decided to have Thai take-out and rent a movie tonight… fun times with the parents!

IMG_5504

I started with a “fresh roll” that had cabbage, carrots, cilantro, shrimp, and other things all in a rice paper wrapper (I think) with a sweet gingery-soy dipping sauce.

IMG_5505

Holy yum! It was so good and so fresh…

IMG_5499

And I had pad thai with tofu.

IMG_5500

Delish!!!

IMG_5502

And then we watched the movie Brothers. Anyone seen it? It was good but intense! But I didn’t like the ending very much…

I also had some Publix vanilla fro-yo with some strawberries on top for dessert.

 

Random Fun Question: Anyone have any really funny, odd, or strange first date stories? I’ve had my share! One of the worst was when I went out with a guy who talked about himself all. night. long. Seriously, I could not even hardly get a word in edge-wise…

 

Have a great weekend loves!

Love,

Jess

“Desire is the key to motivation, but it’s the determination and commitment to an unrelenting pursuit of your goal – a commitment to excellence – that will enable you to attain the success you seek.”
Mario Andretti (this was shared with me by a lovely reader 🙂 )

