Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m really glad that everyone enjoyed reading Jaya’s story! I’d have to say that the most powerful part to me was this: “When you stop resisting, you disempower the struggle. When you disempower the struggle, there can only be peace.” I think anyone who has been through an injury can attest to the fact that this is very true but also VERY hard to do. I’m really working towards that because I want peace, I need peace.

 

In any case, I had a lot of fun last night. We saw Date Night with Steve Carell and Tina Fey. It was absolutely HILARIOUS!!! I’m not even a huge fan of either one of them and I don’t remember laughing so much in a movie in a loooong time. I would definitely recommend it! And we also saw the previews for Sex and the City two, Letters to Juliet, and couple of other movies that I can’t wait to see. And this one called Just Wright with Queen Latifah:

 

It looks really good and hilarious!!! And it’s about someone getting over an injury which I can relate to.. Ok so I’m not a famous professional basketball player but whatever.. 😉

Anyways, I did have fun last night and it was great to get out! I must admit though that I’m hurting a good bit today. I also know that it was bound to be sore after not using my leg for almost 3 weeks so I’m not freaking out over it. But I also know I’m not quite ready to be off of crutches yet.

I also got a fun package from Gabriela yesterday which was SO sweet and totally made my day!!! It had some PB & Co. Dark Chocolate Dreams, a yummy looking candy bar, and these chocolate sun drops (which I have already eaten a LOT of…needless to say, they are incredibly delicious and super addictive!)

IMG_5545

And this card with this amazing quote on the front

IMG_5561

In case you can’t read it clearly it says:

“Your journey has molded you for your greater good. And it was exactly what it needed to be. Don’t think that you’ve lost time. It took each and every situation you have encountered to bring you to the now. And now is right on time” –Asha Tyson

So beautiful. And so true. Isn’t that sweet?! Bloggie friends are really the best. It’s amazing how you can connect with someone halfway around the country or even the world!!

 

I started yesterday off with this awesome breakfast that was perfect for a Saturday morning.

IMG_5513

What is that delicious plate of goodness? Pumpkin Waffles, my friends.

IMG_5508

There are few things better in life than waffles.

IMG_5509

I made this with 1/3 cup Hodgson whole wheat mix that I combined with 1 egg white, 1/4 cup or so of pumpkin, lots of cinnamon and nutmeg, a little sweetener, and enough milk to come together.

IMG_5511

I topped them with some Greek yogurt, pumpkin butter, TJ’s salted almond butter, and 1/2 banana.

IMG_5510

I think that this is one of those times where no words are required to tell you how good it was 🙂

 

And then when lunch time rolled around, I wasn’t hungry and then all of a sudden I was STARVING. Very strange. So I threw together a yogurt, cereal, fruit parfait.

IMG_5517

It had a layer of Greek yogurt, fruit (strawberries, peaches, mango, and pineapple), Nature’s Path Mighty Maple cereal, and kefir.

IMG_5515

YUM!!!! It was delicious.

IMG_5519

I then had a snack of an apple with Naturally Nutty peanut butter later on.

IMG_5522

I then went out to dinner but I wasn’t about to bust out the camera around someone I barely knew haha but I had a crab cake a Caesar salad. I almost, almost, told him about the blog at one point but I held myself back because I was too afraid he would think it was strange. How do you tell people about your blog? Or DO you?

Breakfast wasn’t as nearly exciting this morning as yesterday but yummy nonetheless.

IMG_5525
I had a bowl of normal whipped banana oats that I topped with a big scoop of peanut butter and warm maple syrup.

IMG_5527

The heat from the maple syrup and the oats made the peanut butter melt like… well something really melty. YUM!!! I think I’m just going to marry peanut butter…

IMG_5533

I had another huge salad for lunch today.

IMG_5541

It had:

  • lettuce
  • tomato
  • avocado
  • carrots
  • purple cabbage
  • mushrooms
  • mustard
  • ketchup
  • nooch

IMG_5544

Along with a big fruit SIAB (smoothie in a bowl).

IMG_5534

It had:

  • 1/4 banana (leftover from morning oats)
  • a couple of spoonfulls of greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • frozen peaches
  • frozen blueberries
  • frozen mango
  • frozen pineapple
  • frozen strawberries

IMG_5536

And then I topped it with some fresh raspberries. It was VERY refreshing!!! And I’d say that I for sure got in my fruit quota for the day 😉

IMG_5539

Dinner was an absolute HIT!!! Seriously, one of the best meals I have had in a while.

IMG_5546

I topped a Quorn Chicken patty with marinara sauce and some Irish sharp cheese (I can’t remember the name of it but it kind of tastes like Parmesan). This was SO FREAKING GOOD!! It tasted exactly like traditional fried chicken parmesan. This will be repeated!!!!!

IMG_5549

And I also had some sweet potatoes roasted low and slow. <- The BEST way to cook sweet potatoes!!!

IMG_5550

They are simply sliced, covered with salt, cinnamon, and cooking spray and baked at 350 for 30 minutes and then at 400 for 20 minutes. The insides of the sweet potatoes are all soft and pillowy and just melt in your mouth while the outside is crispy. And the slow method brings out this caramel-syrupy goodness from the sweet potatoes. YUM!!!!!

IMG_5552

I then drizzled mine with some Agave and more salt.

IMG_5551

I have been craving carrot cake recently like MAD. And I’ve been eyeing Katie’s 24-Carrot Cake Muffins for the longest time and so tonight I finally gave in.  I followed her recipe except I used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 all purpose, 1/4 cup agave instead of sugar, and 1 whole egg.

IMG_5556

These things are ballin!!!! Seriously. My mom had one right out of the oven and absolutely RAVED over it… and she HATES carrot cake!! She did say that they would be even better with some sort of icing but we had nothing on hand to make any…

IMG_5557

I crumbled up one in a bowl of Greek Yogurt which was almost like cream-cheese icing. If you like carrot cake, give these a try! You will not regret it! And I can’t wait to try the 24-Carrot Cake pancakes!!!

 

Have a fabulous Monday dolls!!!

P.S. Any Gossip Girl fans out there? Did you see last week’s episode?! It was INSANE.

I also have a question for you guys, do you like the bloggie the way it is or is there something you’d rather see more of or less of? More/less guest posts, recipes, stories, …? I’m just curious and I want to make the blog the best it can be!! So any input will be great and please be honest, I promise you will NOT hurt my feelings!

 

Love,

Jess

