Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Okey dokey, where do I start? (I can’t believe I just said okey dokey… anyways…) Thank you for all of the well wishes, thoughts, and prayers with the doctor’s appointment that I had today!!!!! You guys are seriously the BEST! And I am incredibly happy to say that it went well! My new doctor is my hero. Well, if everything goes as he says it will…

When we first walked into Steadman Hawkins, I immediately felt I was in the right place. There were tons and tons of jerseys and pictures of athletes covering the walls with signatures and messages to Steadman Hawkins about what a great job they did and how awesome they were. Which is a good sign, methinks! Including this one…

photo (57)

I have to say though, NO idea who that is.. What… you don’t take pictures in doctor’s offices?

Anyways, he checked me out completely and asked me lots of questions and what have you. And then, he laid it all out for me, so to speak, and drew me a handy little diagram that explained what was going on. He said that based on his conclusions, there is no other problems except for the stress fracture (yay!) unless there is something up with my bones (i’ll get to that in a minute). He said the bone is trying to heal and has healed somewhat but it should be healing faster and that this was highly unusual. The pain that I am feeling is more from the muscles, ligaments, nerves, what have you in the area of the injury. He explained it kind of like how when someone has a heart attack, they will feel pain in their arm; it doesn’t really make sense yet it happens. The pain will radiate and travel to other parts of your body, which explains why I am having pain in random places though there is nothing essentially wrong with that part of my body. But the actual pain that I am feeling is because the muscles, ligaments, nerves surrounding the area are weak because they haven’t been used properly in so long, especially now that I am on crutches. Speaking of the crutches, he says that they are more to prevent pain than anything; meaning, walking around normally is NOT going to hurt my actual bones and get in the way of them healing but it is going to hurt because of the weak muscles. He wants me off of crutches in 2-3 weeks but I am going to be having therapy to strengthen the areas that are weak to help with that. So according to him, I would be fine off of crutches at this point and he is encouraging me to try to take a few steps each day off of them and slowly wean myself off.

He then said that we needed to figure how WHY the stress fracture happened in addition to how we can heal it. So then he explained something to me that is known as the Female Athlete Triad which encompasses osteoporosis, amenorrhea (absent or infrequent menstrual periods) and eating disorders that occur together. Anytime that a woman or girl has a stress fracture, these are the things they will look at to determine why she had it in the first place. I’m not going to lie, this conversation of those things was a tad uncomfortable (I think the reason for that is self-explanatory). We don’t know about the osteoporosis yet but I did tell him about my history of an eating disorder. That was the first time I have talked about it to a doctor and it was really hard, harder than I thought it would be. In any case, he said that it may have something to do with it. That it caused my bones to be more fragile than they would have otherwise been and I actually did some research once I was back home and I found that to be true. Don’t quote me on this but apparently when you put your body in starvation mode like what happens when you have an eating disorder and aren’t fueling properly, your body may leech nutrients (including calcium) from your bones since it is not getting them through food, which explains the Triad and why they go together (eating disorders would lead to both absent or infrequent menstrual periods and bone weakness). (I could go about this but I’ll save it for another time since this post is already quite massively long)

So, the game plan is as follows:

  1. I’m going to get a bone density test to see if there is a problem with my bones
  2. I’ll be seeing a nutritionist to determine what I should be eating to help speed this healing up and to evaluate my diet in general
  3. I’m getting this thing known as a bone growth stimulator (there may be a more formal name out there). It’s hard to explain but it’s basically this thing that you put on your injury site for a certain amount of time each day that will increase cell production to allow the bone to heal faster (something along those lines). I found some websites that explain it a little better (you can read below). But basically, it’s supposed to speed up the healing.
    1. In some cases, an electronic stimulator or bone stimulator may be used. These devices send electrical impulses into the bone to promote healing; recent studies have shown that the bone heals naturally via electromagnetic stimulation. Electromagnetically stimulating the bone causes the bone to lay out more bone cells that strengthen the bone.
    2. In certain sports injury situations, a bone growth stimulator is used to speed the time it takes for the body to lay down bone at the stress fracture site. Typically, a stress fracture healed in six weeks before all of the pain is resolved. In using a bone growth stimulator, the stress fracture can be healed in about two to three weeks to allow the athlete to return to full activities.
  4. Therapy – I’m going to be getting therapy starting Friday to help with the pain by strengthening muscles that I have not been using and to get my off of crutches (which I should be off of in 2-3 weeks). And then once my bone is healed (which will still be 2-3 months) and I am able to start back running, I am getting PT for that. They are also going to examine my running style to determine if I have a gait or put more pressure on one side than the other, etc. In short, they are going to make sure that nothing is wrong with how I run and ultimately, get me back to running [insert happy dance HERE]

So long story short (ok not really but whatever) the goal is to get me off crutches, then get me back to working and a normal life, and THEN back to running. Guys, if he is right, which I am PRAYING that he is… I can’t even TELL you how happy I am about it. I am scared to death that he’s wrong and that it’s not going to go as planned but I guess that’s just me being pessimistic and afraid to believe anything after these 4 months of hell. So here’s to hope!!!

 

And now back to the foodie portion of this blog 😉 , I unfortunately had a failure this morning in the form of Vegan Overnight Oats. Per directions, I combined last night 1 1/2 tbsp. chia seeds, 2/3 cup of milk, 1/3 cup oats, 1/2 of a banana, and cinnamon. And then I tried it this morning… Not sure what I did wrong but it was NASTY. Times ten. I can’t even describe what it tasted like… yeah. So enter my back up plan…

IMG_5617

Cereal + Yogurt + Fruit works every time.

IMG_5624

Quaker Oatmeal Squares

IMG_5619

1/2 of a banana drizzled with TJ’s almond butter

IMG_5620

raspberries

IMG_5621

and yogurt, of course.

IMG_5622

All mixed together after the pictures…YUM!!! And it kept me full for over 4 hours, which is more than my usual bowl of oats. Craziness.

I put my freezer to good use for lunch.

IMG_5626

I thawed out a whole wheat roll from Whole Foods

IMG_5628

And stuffed it with TJ’s pumpkin butter and Boar’s Head turkey

I think this may be one of my favorite flavor combinations. Ever.

IMG_5631

With a smoothie made with chocolate Amazing Grass, frozen strawberries, milk, and ice.

IMG_5632

Chocolate and strawberries are just made for each other. I like to call this my Strawberry Chocolate Bomb. I got my lunchtime chocolate fix AND some greens. Booya!

IMG_5634

I also had an orange later for a snack.

And a handful of unpictured pretzels and more chocolate in the form of Sun Drops from Gabriela.

And then my life was changed with the introduction of carrot fries. O. M. G.

IMG_5635

I simply peeled and cut up 2 carrots in thin matchstick type shapes, seasoned them with salt, pepper, and garlic powder and cooked them at 400 for 20 minutes.

IMG_5641

SO FREAKING GOOD! And this coming from the girl who is not the biggest fan of carrots. I don’t know how the oven did it but it turned ordinary carrots into sweet, heavenly, fries of goodness. Seriously, go try this NOW!

IMG_5642

And because I don’t have enough orange in my life, I made some sweet potatoes with cinnamon, salt, and ground flax cooked Low and Slow.

IMG_5645

Which are awesome, per usual.

IMG_5639

And some organic fresh zucchini that my dad grew seasoned and cooked the same as the carrot fries. I forgot how good zucchini is!

IMG_5636

Dinner pretty much rocked. Period. End of story. Pat myself on the back for this one.

I also had some more dark chocolate after dinner (Freya, this stuff is amazing!!!). I seriously cannot get enough chocolate lately… I don’t know what’s going on with me!

And then for dessert #2 (ha!) I had the leftovers in a yogurt container with some granola.

IMG_5647

I swear, I should just be a spokesperson for Greek yogurt as much as I consume these days…

IMG_5648

On a side note, my dad (after his declaration yesterday) found a dusty can of Amy’s Lentil soup and ate it and RAVED about it. For real. He LOVED lentils. And proclaimed that he must buy more of this soup, asap. And I haven’t even had the nerve to try lentils yet. Who is this man? And he’s asking me all these questions about nutrition, how much protein he needs, etc. and it’s so darn exciting! I apologize, if you knew him, you would understand my freaking out…

 

So I apologize for this SUPER long post, if you are still hanging in there still 🙂 Have a great night!

Love,

Jess

Jesus encourages us not to worry about that which we cannot control or about that which is not important. Worry instead, he says, about your priorities and the condition of your soul. When you find yourself overcome with worry, take a careful look at the priorities of your heart. When God is firmly established at the center of our focus and desires, worry loses its grip on our lives.

