Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

First of all, thank you all SO VERY MUCH for the birthday wishes!!! You know how to make a girl smile! I am absolutely floored by your sweet comments 🙂 They all made me so happy and just put a big grin on my face every time I would read one!

Overall, it’s been a fabulous birthday!!! I ended up not going to Whole Foods because we are going out of town this weekend and so buying a bunch of fresh produce isn’t the best idea as far as timing goes. BUT I am going to be making  a trip there soon!! Once I’m off of crutches permanently, you better believe that’s one of the first things I will do! I CAN’T WAIT to go grocery shopping!!! Anyways, I spent the day watching half of Season 1 of Sex and the City. I PROMISE I will shut up about this show after this but you guys were SO RIGHT, it’s awesome!!! It was a very nice way to spend my birthday 🙂 And then I went out to dinner with my parents but we’ll get to that in a minute.

 

LeQuan over at luvtoeat was kind enough to give me the Sunshine Award!! How sweet of you LeQuan, thank you!!!

The Sunshine Award is given to bloggers who are deemed warm, inspirational and positive, hence the beautiful sunflower which symbolizes it.

I am so very touched and happy that you find my blog a positive place because that is my utmost goal! I want readers to leave feeling happy and good about themselves! There’s enough negativity in the world, we don’t need anymore.

To the award winners, here are the rules:

  1. Put the logo on your blog or within your post.
  2. Pass the award on to 8 bloggers!
  3. Link the nominees within your post.
  4. Let the nominees know they have received this award by commenting on their blog.
  5. Share the love and link to the person from whom you received this  award.

Now, there are many MANY blogs out there that I find super inspirational and honestly, I’d love to give this to you all! And I am breaking the rules a bit and giving the award out to 10 other bloggers instead of 8. Sorry!! But if I have to pick, here are just a few that always brighten my day and leave me feeling happy and positive!! You bloggers are like a little ray of sunshine 🙂 I apologize if you have already gotten this award! Well I don’t really apologize because that just means that we all love you and you are SUPER deserving of the award but anyways…

  1. Katie at Faith, Food, and Fitness
  2. Gabriela at Une Vie Saine
  3. Jessica at Healthy Exposures
  4. Freya at Brit Chick Runs
  5. Kate at What Kate Ate
  6. Andrea at Can You Stay For Dinner?
  7. Amy at Second City Randomness
  8. Heather at Heather’s Dish
  9. Mae at Ohh May..
  10. Gracie at Girl Meets Health

Thank you all for being amazing bloggers and always a positive influence!

I have a couple of other awards that some lovely ladies have been SO NICE to give me that I will be sharing over the rest of this week!

 

So I was debating all sorts of things for my birthday breakfast. Pancakes, waffles, French toast, … but I kept coming back to my favorite oats. So, that’s what I made.

IMG_5695

It had a regular base of banana whipped oats and chia seeds.

IMG_5696

I topped it with a BIG spoonful of peanut butter a drizzle of maple syrup.

IMG_5699

I do think as much as I love toppings, this is my most favorite bowl of oats. Just something about the hot maple syrup and the melty peanut butter.. you can’t beat it!

 

And then for lunch, I just went with what I really truly wanted instead of trying to fit in certain food groups and making it balanced.

IMG_5702

I had a pineapple Chobani, which is my FAVORITE flavor of Chobani BY FAR. Deeelicious! The expiration date was technically yesterday but whatever, it was still good.

IMG_5710

I also added a sprinkle of granola to give it that something something 😉

IMG_5711

I also had some carrot fries..

IMG_5705

Roasted zucchini…

IMG_5704

Tomato slice…

IMG_5708

And cantaloupe.

IMG_5706

I actually think that I managed to hit all of my nutritional bases! Go me!

 

I never had an official afternoon snack aside from some fresh strawberries and some pretzels dipped in PB & Co. Dark Chocolate Dreams, which is an amazing combo if you were wondering..

 

And then came dinner. Oh boy. Probably one of the best meals I’ve ever had, I swear. We went to a local Italian hole-in-the-wall type place that I’d never been to before. The name of the restaurant is Renato’s and the chef/owner is actually from Italy (and speaks with an accent that is real, let me tell you, because I couldn’t understand a word he said) so it is truly authentic Italian food. It was super small and cozy and would be super romantic, if you are so inclined. And there were some verrrrrry hunky Italian waiters too, let me tell you 😉 But the staff was SO friendly! And the owner, Renalto, came out into the restaurant several times and talked to each and every table of customers. How awesome is that?! And honestly, this was probably one of the fanciest restaurants I’ve ever been to. We don’t eat out very much but when we do, it’s generally a more casual place. But it’s nice to treat yourself every once in a while!

I started with a fresh slice of warm bread with a touch of butter.

photo (68)

And then the house salad that had a balsamic reduction on top.

photo (66)

Then the “palate cleanser” in the form of lemon sorbet? Or something like that. It was lemon something and it was REAL lemon, not lemon flavoring. There were actual bits of lemon peel in it, which sounds weird but it was good. And it was just enough for one spoonful, perfect. And I must admit, this is the first place that I have ever been that serves you a palate cleanser. Heh.

photo (64)

And then, the main event. One of the chef’s specialties of the night and all of the fish was fresh. I can’t remember the actual name of the dish but it was basically salmon, Ahi tuna, swordfish, scallops, and shrimp sautéed with lemon, butter, and white wine. Along with some parmesan risotto on the side.

photo (63)

OH MY. This was AMAZING!!! The salmon was probably my favorite part, it was absolutely succulent. But all of the seafood was delicious and perfectly cooked! It also had this slightly smoky flavor like it had been grilled. And the risotto?! You haven’t LIVED until you have had this stuff. It was INCREDIBLE. Oh my goodness. I was in heaven. Pure and simple.

My parents got another special of the day, the Veal Osso Buco. The chef had cooked it down all day with fresh vegetables and it was literally falling off the bone.. Now, I don’t eat osso buco but if i did, I’d be ALL over that!

And then, you know it, birthday cake!

IMG_5713

We kind of broke a tradition this year because for as along as I can remember, I’ve had ice cream cake on my birthday. Which is awesome and delicious but I wanted something different this year.

IMG_5714

Now I love my carrot cake and chocolate cake but just plain vanilla cake with butter cream frosting, if it’s GOOD quality, is amazing to me. And that’s what this was! Delicious!!!

IMG_5715

How do you eat your cake? Some people think I’m weird because I eat the cake part first and then the icing last. I’m not sure why. I know some people eat the icing OFF of the cake but I love the cake part itself. Sometimes icing can be just too TOO sweet, you know?

 

So, on the injury front, remember how I said that I was really sore last night after PT? Well this morning I woke up and I felt like I had been hit by a bus!!! Ok, a bit dramatic 🙂 But really, every part of my body is SO SORE! In a good way though… my arms, my abs especially, my legs, my butt,… Dang. My injury is sore too but not more than usual, which is a good sign I guess?

 

So I had possibly two of the best birthday presents that I could ask for today. And one of them wasn’t even a material thing. First, I can’t go into details about this because it’s a personal issue but just let me tell you… God can do ANYTHING!!! He can bring anyone to him. There is NO job too big for him! Even someone that you thought was hopeless and that would never believe, well, BUT God. He did it. He can change anyone’s heart. 🙂 I know that I’m rambling but I’m just SO very happy about this!

Second, I am getting my Bone Growth Stimulator device tomorrow!!! Yay!!!! It took a while for the insurance to approve it but they finally did and I’m getting it tomorrow at PT! I have high hopes for it! I know it works for some and doesn’t for others but I’m praying that it helps me and speeds up my healing!

 

Good night loves!!!

Love to you ALL,

Jess

 

“My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you. Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends.” – John 15:12-13

