Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Good evening! I’m glad that everyone enjoyed my Gatlinburg re-cap! Interesting comments, I must say 🙂 And I loved the response from my tattoo!!! I love it. And everyone who has seen and who knows me says that it fits me so that makes me feel great 🙂 I’m not yet quite sure what I’m going to say to those people who don’t like tattoos or think they are “wrong” and who I KNOW are going to tell me so. Oh well.

Not too much to report on today so I’ll jump straight to the eats that you have missed the last couple of days. Now don’t get too excited, they have been slightly repetitive but good nonetheless.

I forgot to tell you about the delicious overnight oats combo that I had last Friday morning.

IMG_5734
I made my usual overnight oats with:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/3 cup yogurt
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • cinnamon
  • pinch of salt

But then I topped it with 1/2 cup of Nature’s Path Blueberry Cinnamon cereal, 1/2 of a banana, with some extra blueberries.

IMG_5735

I have never added crunchy cereal to overnight oats before but this rocked!!! Must try!

IMG_5737

I also had some fresh strawberries.

 

And now, back to yesterday.

IMG_5779

I started the day with a cold bowl of Nature’s Path Cinnamon Blueberry cereal with 1/2 of a banana and milk.

IMG_5782

It was just so HOT outside that I was craving something cold! It hit the spot, perfectly!

 

I then had a slightly random lunch that was still delicious. The star quite possibly was because of this baby:

IMG_5784

I picked up a couple samples of protein powders the other day so I could figure out which I liked best before I invested in a huge amount.

IMG_5785

Great nutrition stats!

Anyway, I mixed about a tbsp. of this with 1/2 cup plain yogurt and cocoa powder and then layered it in a glass with strawberries.

IMG_5786

O. M. G. So good!!! The protein powder made the yogurt all fluffy! I swear, it was like chocolate mousse!

IMG_5789

And really, you can’t go wrong with strawberries and chocolate now can you?

IMG_5788

I also had a slice of millet bread toasted and topped with almond butter a drizzle of honey.

IMG_5791

Later snackage included an orange and plain Kefir.

IMG_5795

And then I went out with someone to dinner and chilled at their house for a bit. We went to a local pizza place where I had a HUGE slice of cheese pizza, like NY style pizza. No picture because you know, there’s a time and place for that and well, it was neither.

My friend also introduced me to a new television show last night, The Tudors. Anyone watch it? I had never seen it before but it was awesome!!! It’s based on Henry VIII, FYI, and when I was younger, I LOVED all things from this time period and would read anything I could get my hands on about it. So I knew all about Henry and his wives and whatnot. Anyway, the show is a slightly more scandalous and dramatized version but dang, I’m hooked! Unfortunately I don’t get Showtime (the channel it comes on) but I’m checking out Blockbuster tomorrow to see if they have it.

 

Anywho, I started today with another bowl of cereal.

IMG_5797

Nature’s Path with 1/2 of a banana.

IMG_5799

Delish! But I think I’m missing my oats…

We were seriously lacking in the grocery department today so I had to kind of throw something together for lunch. It was really random but worked.

IMG_5801

This is only my new favorite combo: sweet potato and pumpkin butter. You can thank me later 😉

IMG_5803

SO GOOD.

I also had some 2% Greek Yogurt with strawberries.

IMG_5806

And then later for a snack, I had a Fuji apple, pretzels, and some peanut butter. I’m almost through this jar, and you know what that means! OIAJ baby!

IMG_5824

Vegetarians might want to look away from what I had for dinner 😉

 IMG_5825

My mom made (er, crisped up) a turkey kielbasa. Yeah, full of sodium and whatnot, but REALLY tasty!

IMG_5827

With cabbage. I loooove cabbage! I had this X2.

IMG_5828

And a garlic cheddar biscuit. No explanation needed 🙂

IMG_5829

And then I had a Skinny Cow Chocolate Ice Cream cone thing for dessert.

IMG_5831

These things ROCK!

I also had a good bit of dark chocolate today. You know, sometimes you just NEED chocolate.

 

Remember the get well cards that I told you guys about a while ago that my kids at the after-school program I work at made for me? Well they came over the weekend. I thought I’d share them with you but feel free to skip this if you want. But they are PRECOIUS. And yes, I needed some tissues while I read them 🙂 I miss my babies!

IMG_5807

Anyway, these are just some of the ones that I thought were extra cute or funny. Bear in mind, these are from kindergarteners to fourth graders so you have to improvise with reading their spelling 😉

IMG_5809

This one is from a 1st grader and I think it’s really good for that age! And colorful!

IMG_5810

I had trouble reading this one but I came to the conclusion that it says “When you come back I will miss more than everyone else. I will invite you to my house if you want to play scooby-doo first.” Precious.

IMG_5811

“Have a great spirit” <- Is that not SO insightful for a child?!

IMG_5812

Such a cute little poem!

 

IMG_5813

IMG_5814

 

IMG_5815

This one doesn’t quite make any sense to anyone else but I’ve concluded it says “Thank you for all the things.” Heh, long story but it’s from one of my 1st grade boys. Honestly, I first thought he was a little hellion and he drove me NUTS at first but now I love him more than anything. Never thought i’d see the day where this little boy drew me hearts 🙂

 

IMG_5816

Gotta love the spelling from kindergarteners!

IMG_5817

IMG_5818

IMG_5819

IMG_5820

IMG_5821

 

And then, quite possibly my favorite…

IMG_5822

You can always count on a 5 year old to go straight to the point!

These definitely cheered me up and made me miss them even more!! It’s amazing what a little love from kids will do. It also made me realize how much I love them. But good news…

I’m going back to work Monday!!!

Ahhh! I’m so excited!!! I talked to my boss last night and we’re going to work something out so that I can be sitting down most of the time. So YAY! It’ll be so NICE to have part of my normal life back. And I tell you what, I will NEVER complain about going to work again. Ok well never say never but you know what I mean… I know that I’m blessed to have a job that I love so much. And since there is only 1 more month of school for the kids, I’m going to soak it all up while I can until next year!

 

Good night loves! I’m going to go spend my night watching The Tudors and Sex and the City (p.s., you wouldn’t BELIEVE how many people have searched Sex and the City and found my blog, ha!).

P.S. STILL can’t get Gatlinburg boy off of my mind… I’m insane. Or pathetic. Or both.

Love,

Jess

“Meanwhile, the moment we get tired in the waiting, God’s Spirit is right alongside helping us along. If we don’t know how or what to pray, it doesn’t matter. He does our praying in and for us, making prayer out of our wordless sighs, our aching groans. He knows us far better than we know ourselves, knows our pregnant condition, and keeps us present before God. That’s why we can be so sure that every detail in our lives of love for God is worked into something good.”

-Romans 8:26-28 (thank you Gracie!)

