Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I had my first day back to work today and I have to say, it was amazing! Kids are trying sometimes and some days they make you want to pull your hair out but you know, I love them anyway. Because they are truly God’s gift to this world. As soon as my kindergarteners saw me, they ran up to me and gave me and a hug.. all at one time… it was a big hug 🙂 And then came the questions… “where have you been?!” ..oh boy. The simplist answer was “I was sick” for the kindergarten so I just stuck to that. But they were all “You were sick for THAT long?!” And then “did you have to go to the hospital?” Oh the questions. And then of course they had to share their own stories of sickness with me… But the older kids, well they wanted details. Someone apparently told my fiirst graders that I broke my hip so I just went with that, not about to explain a “stress fracture of the pubic ramus.” It was kind of funny though because all day they were giving my hip these looks, like they were expecting it to just break at any moment. And they were SHOCKED and wide-eyed at the fact that I broke my hip. That’s a lot for a 6 year old to wrap their mind around… The funniest thing was when one of my first grade girls was explaining to a little “special” boy what had happened to me. She was ALL serious and solemn telling him that I broke my hip and I was on crutches while she was glued to my side, ready to help me out and make sure I didn’t “hurt my hip.” Love. And the hugs, oh the hugs… and the “I love you’s” and telling me they missed me…  I love those kids more than my own life. They really mean the world to me.

But I also ran into a problem when two first grade girls saw my tattoo. Oh boy. They caught me off-guard and said “Is that a tattoo?! Or is it fake?!” and I kind of panicked and told them that it was fake. Thank goodness I did because then one of the little girls said “Thank GOD! Or I would have just DIED!” I kid you not. Not sure what her parents have told her about tattoos… But I think I’m just going to tell them that it’s fake because how do you explain to a child what a tattoo is? And you KNOW parents will be all up in arms if their child comes home telling them one of their teachers has a tattoo… Heaven forbid. Because tattoos ARE of the devil, you know 😉 (I kid, I kid, obviously)

I’m not really hurting any more than normal in my injury after working. My bosses worked with me and arranged it so that I’m able to sit down most of the time. I help kindergarten with their homework and then I spend the rest of the day monitoring all our groups (we have 3 groups with kids and teachers that are divided by grade) in the computer lab. Not the most exciting job ever but I get to see all of the kids and get to sit down, so it works.

 

I had a seriously out of this world bowl of oats this morning.

IMG_5995

What made them so delicious? Whipped cottage cheese my friends. I haven’t had any in oats in a while and I was missing it! For good reason.

IMG_5997

This bowl contained:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup water
  • pinch of salt
  • cinnamon
  • 1/2 of a banana
  • 1/4 cup or so of cottage cheese stirred in at the end
  • blackberries
  • peanut butter

IMG_5996

I’ve said before how I’m not a fan of regular cottage cheese (it’s a texture thing) but the whipped version in oats, oh yes. ALL over that!

IMG_5999

Lunch was also quite exceptional. I started with a green monster to get in some leafy greens. (I bought a pound of spinach this weekend… so expect to see a LOT of these)

IMG_6001

It was good but it was not my best. But you do what you have to do to get in the veggies.. It had:

  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 of a banana
  • 1 tbsp vanilla whey protein powder
  • BIG handful of spinach
  • crushed ice

IMG_6003

I also had a bowl of strawberries and a peach.

IMG_6006

AND the most amazing quesadilla/wrap ever. Ok, maybe I’m being a tad dramatic but it was GOOD.

IMG_6009

I layered Crofter’s spread, laughing cow cheese, spinach, and turkey and grilled it on my George Foreman grill.

IMG_6011

Oh. MY. It was amazing!! The crofter’s and laughing cow together was out of this world! My only complaint was that the Crofter’s melted a LOT. Ah well. And why have I never grilled a wrap before? LOVED the crispy outside!

 

My mom made dinner tonight.. Er, well she made/bought.

IMG_6014

We had rotisserie chicken, broccoli, and macaroni and cheese. 

IMG_6017

Dinner was honestly a battle with my ED and the mac and cheese. It was a boxed Velveeta Mac and Cheese. Now, I used to eat this stuff by the pounds when I was younger. My grandmother always fixed it and it was almost a comfort food to me. But ever since my ED came and convinced me that this stuff was bad for me because it’s full of “empty carbs” and lots of chemical-ladden cheese, I haven’t touched it. Even though I used to LOVE it. Now, I know it’s not the BEST option but it’s not going to kill me, you know?

IMG_6016

So I won a battle with the ED last night. I had some Velveeta and I loved it. Enjoyed every bite! And I’m still alive and kicking 😉

 

Dessert was 3 Hershey’s dark chocolate kisses, 1/2 of this small sugar cookie, and the same dessert as last night…

IMG_6020

Greek yogurt with a Chocolate Vita-Top and PB & Co. Dark Chocolate Dreams.

IMG_6019

Yeah. I was feeling the sugar tonight, clearly;)

 

And once again I want to thank you all for your comments on my last post. What can I say, the blog world is amazing. There is truly nothing like it, nothing in the world like it. You all mean the world to me and I have to say, I feel like I’ve made some life-long friends through blogging. And I don’t think I would have ever started blogging had my injury not had happened… so see, there is always good that comes of the bad!

I also wanted to share this quote from Eat Move Love that really stuck out to me..

Remember to
always say what you mean.
If you love someone, tell them.


Seize the day.
Never have regrets.
And most importantly,
stay close to your friends
and family, for they have helped
make you the person that you are today.

Because when you decide that it is the right time it might be too late…

 

So true. I think the beauty of quotes like these is that always mean different things to different people. It’s like a beautiful painting and how it can be interpreted in so many ways. To each his own… What is your favorite quote?

 

Love,

Jess

