Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hello again! I apologize for the lack of posting yesterday but I needed a night with the family to un-plug a bit. It was nice 🙂 Katie’s on to something… I kind of feel obligated to post every day but isn’t blogging supposed to be fun? I thought so. So we shouldn’t feel pressured to post unless we really want to, right? Right. A day away isn’t going to kill me. But it DOES make me feel a bit out of the loop!

Anyways, yesterday turned out to be a great day after it got off to a bit of a rocky start! My lunch plans fell through ( 😦 ), which actually may have been for the best but that’s another story for another day…

Work was really great! For the most part. They had a carnival after school yesterday and so the kids were CRAZY excited and ready for their parents to pick them up so that they could GO to the carnival. It was the usual work day other than that, spent telling kid after kid that my tattoo is a rub-on tattoo/a sticker(?)/something that I wrote on myself/not really there.. he. I’m not sure how much longer they will believe that considering it’s not exactly going away anytime soon.

And then I went out to dinner for my mom’s birthday with my mom, my great aunt, and my cousin and her mom – a total girl’s night. My family is crazy, in a good way. And we always wind up talking about the most random silly things. Let’s just say that we were laughing so hard, most of the people around us probably thought we were drunk. We didn’t have a drop of alcohol though, I swear! We are just naturally crazy. It’s all good 🙂 Nothing like some fun family time to cheer you up!

 

Now let’s re-cap the food, shall we?

I had a great bowl of oats yesterday. I was trying to keep it small for the lunch out that never was.

 IMG_6108

It had:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1 dried fig, chopped, cooked with oats
  • pinch of salt
  • cinnamon
  • 1/2 of a banana
  • 1/4 cup whipped cottage cheese (stirred in at the end)
  • blackberries
  • Naturally Nutty almond butter

 IMG_6110

Thank you Jess for the fig idea! Guys, this MADE the bowl!! It created a slight fig flavor throughout the whole bowl..yum!

 IMG_6113

I had a huge salad for lunch!

 IMG_6114

It contained the usual suspects… Is this getting repetitive yet?

  • deli chicken
  • 1 wedge light Laughing Cow cheese
  • pickles
  • broccoli
  • ketchup
  • mustard

 IMG_6116

And a bowl of Greek yogurt, whipped cottage cheese, and raspberries.

 IMG_6118

The cottage cheese and Greek yogurt together was the BOMB!

 IMG_6119

And then we went to dinner at Red Lobster, as I said above. I had a Caesar salad and a delicious garlic cheese roll but I totally forgot to take a picture. I barely remembered to snap a pic of my main meal… which was incredible!

 photo (81)

It was seafood/crab stuffed shrimp, wood-grilled pecan crusted shrimp that had this slightly sweet glaze going on, and broccoli. YUM.

I ended the night with some dark chocolate.

 

I had a verrrry similar bowl of oats again this morning but the with the addition of a secret ingredient.

 IMG_6131

What is this secret ingredient? Maple Extract.

 IMG_6133

Oh. My. Gosh. INCREDIBLE! Where has this been all of my life?! It gave the whole bowl a maple flavor.. oh yes, please!

 IMG_6135

It had:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup water
  • cinnamon
  • salt
  • 1/2 of a banana
  • 1 tsp. or so of maple extract
  • whipped cottage cheese
  • blackberries
  • drizzle of maple syrup

 

And then for lunch I had a package of tuna mixed with Greek yogurt and mustard…

 IMG_6158

Along with these amazing crackers!

 IMG_6155

My mom brought them home from someone she works with who is related to someone who works at a factory and gets free crackers and cookies (is that explanation long enough for you?)

 IMG_6157

Check out these amazing stats!!!

 IMG_6156

And chock full of good ingredients.

 IMG_6161

And they tasted almost like a Ritz cracker, yum!

 IMG_6162

Along with 1 carrot.

IMG_6163

And some Greek yogurt with raspberries.

IMG_6164

I had an apple with cinnamon as an afternoon snack.

IMG_6188

Cinnamon and apples just GO together, you know?

IMG_6190

I then spent most of the day making this delicious cake for my mom’s birthday.. Don’t worry, recipe to come soon!

IMG_6187

For dinner I had meat and veggies.. my way 🙂

IMG_6201

I had a Morningstar Veggie Medley Burger with ketchup and mustard..

IMG_6205

Some kale and spinach sautéed with POM, stock, and a splash of aged balsamic.

IMG_6208

And sweet potatoes roasted at 400.

IMG_6207

Annnnd a slice of cake!

IMG_6196

You know it!

IMG_6200

 

And now I’m going out for the night! I’m such a homebody and I hardly ever go “out” but you know… it’s good to go and have fun. And LIVE! We only have this one life, after all 🙂

Have a good night loves!

Jess

“If it’s your time, love will track you down like a cruise missile.”

