Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Wow, I am SO glad that you all are loving the cake recipe! It’s amazing, trust me. You MUST make this. You do not, I repeat, do NOT need an excuse 😉

And how was your Mother’s Day? I hope that you showed all the mothers in your lives how much you love and appreciate them 🙂 And to all of the mothers out there, you ROCK! Being a mother is quite possibly one of the best and most important jobs out there. I know I can’t wait to be a mother… well I can, but you know what I mean 😉 My mother’s day was good for the most part, very interesting in any case… but we’ll save that for another time.

And now let’s re-cap the past two days in terms of food…

I had another bowl of figgy oats yesterday morning.

 IMG_6211

This bowl had:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1/2 of a banana
  • maple extract
  • cinnamon
  • salt
  • 2 dried figs, chopped
  • whipped cottage cheese

 IMG_6213

And I topped it with the last of my blackberries and PB & Co.’s Mighty Maple Peanut Butter.

It was very… mapley 🙂 And I mean that in a GOOD way!

 

I was craving a hot wrap for lunch so I scrambled 3 egg whites and some raw spinach and put it in a wrap with some ketchup.

 IMG_6216

Not very pretty, but very delicious.

 IMG_6217

And some plain Greek yogurt with a fresh mango.

 IMG_6220

Oh mango, how I have missed you!!

 IMG_6221

I also had 1 cup of milk mixed with an Amazing Grass chocolate drink powder. I also added 1 tbsp of cocoa powder to add more chocolate and balance out the “green” taste.

 IMG_6222

Success! Tasted like chocolate milk, oh yes.

 

And then for Mother’s Day dinner, we have a tradition in my family where all of the women go out to eat dinner. And so we did. We went to a local Italian restaurant. And this was the interesting part and if you follow me on twitter, you know what went on and who was there 😉 And by the way, thank you SO MUCH from the bottom of my heart for all of your sweet tweets that really really uplifted me. I can’t thank you enough, truly.

ANYWAYS, we started with fresh French bread and butter.

 photo (82)

Oh yes, it was GOOD.

 photo (83)

And I had a chicken salad for my main meal. Now, when I order a salad as my entree, I expect it to be GOOD. And this place never fails me! This massive beast contained:

  • grilled chicken (that I do believe is marinated in pineapple juice)
  • croutons
  • romaine
  • tomato
  • cucumber
  • red onion
  • cheese
  • olives
  • grilled pineapple (the BOMB!)

I also had a slice of un-pictured cake for dessert *cough* to drown my sorrows *cough* <-emotional eating at its finest

 

I started today with a VERY similar bowl of oats as yesterday. I apologize in advance for all of the blackberries in the near future but I bought some on sale, buy 1 get 1 free and well.. I’m all OVER some fresh blackberries 🙂

 IMG_6226

It had:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • cinnamon
  • salt
  • 1/2 of a banana
  • maple extract
  • blackberries
  • toasted pecans
  • Barney Butter

 IMG_6225

I felt so silly… I put all of my ingredients in the pot and after 10 mins, I was wondering why it wasn’t cooking like it should.  Ummm Jess, turn the stove… oh yes, truly my finest moment 😉

  IMG_6231

But in all seriousness, this bowl ROCKED. The addition of the texture of the crunchy pecans just put it over the top!

 IMG_6227

For lunch, I took Jess’s lead and made this divine creation..

 IMG_6235

It doesn’t look like much, oh no, but it was HEAVEN. Pure HEAVEN!!!

IMG_6234

It was on honey wheat bread with 1 slice of light laughing cow cheese, fresh strawberries, and aged balsamic vinegar. Oh. MY. GOSH! I bet of you, PLEASE, go try this ASAP!
I also had some carrots alongside.

 IMG_6238

And some yogurt with 1 apple and a couple more strawberries.

 IMG_6233

At work, I suddenly became STARVING and had an Oatmeal Raisin Luna bar that I had stashed in my purse for such an occasion. I’m not usually a fan of these bars but this flavor was really good!!!

 

My mom prepared dinner tonight that was TOTAL comfort food.

 IMG_6239

First up, salmon patties…

 IMG_6241

Green Bean casserole made with the “healthy” cream of mushroom. Ok, we all know it’s not “healthy” but it sure was good!

 IMG_6243

Along with some roasted broccoli.

 IMG_6242

Annnnd a small piece of cake for dessert 😉 Gotta eat it while it’s good!!

 IMG_6246

 

Work was really good today! It helped that I was in a good mood but the kids were just extra super cute and funny. A 4th grade girl told me I was pretty and then asked me if I had a boyfriend. I said no and you would’ve thought I told her the moon is made of cheese… she said “WHAT?! You SHOULD!” And why is that? Because I’m pretty. Therefore I should have a boyfriend. Oh little 4th grade, if only things were that simple! I love how black and white a child’s viewpoint can be. If only the world really worked like that!

Tomorrow I have my appointment with the dietician. I’m nervous but honestly, I’m feeling a little more confidant about it after all of your very kind words. I’m dreading having to get up SUPER early more than anything… which is slightly sad 🙂

I love you all!
Jess

 

Don’t be afraid to give up the good to go for the great.”

