Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I do hope you have all had a great weekend! I most certainly have! My plans DID indeed work out Friday night and I had an amazing time! “Sometimes you just need to live life in the moment and throw all the rules out the window.” I would just love to share the details with you and frankly shout it from the rooftops but that’s a part of my life that is probably best kept private at this point and well, I don’t want to jinx it. If things keep looking up, I will share more details in the future!

As for yesterday, I spent the day relaxing with the familia and some grocery shopping and that’s about it. It was NICE. And I did pick up Season 5 of SATC. I’m starting to get sad because I’m almost at the end of the series and then what shall I do?! Methinks I have an issue on my hands. On the plus side, SATC 2 comes out soon! Heck yeah! Except none of my friends are into SATC so I’m not sure who I’m going to drag along to see it with me quite yet…

 

Now back to Saturday… I had a bowl of oats for breakfast. Or rather, was it brunch? Or lunch? I didn’t end up eating until about noon because I slept in until 11 AM… hey, don’t judge.. I stayed up until 4 AM Friday night, which is probably the latest I’ve EVER stayed up in my life. And the latest I’ve ever slept in. I’m a failure at being a college student, apparently haha

IMG_6325

ANYWHO, it was delicious and enjoyed while watching Grey’s Anatomy from Thursday night with my mom. Is it just me or is Grey’s not really that GREAT anymore? This season has really bored me…

IMG_6324

It had:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • pinch of salt
  • cinnamon
  • 1/2 of a banana
  • maple extract
  • blackberries
  • drizzle of maple syrup
  • peanut butter

IMG_6321

And then my food with a tad bit downhill in terms of nutritional value…

I went to Starbucks and enjoyed a nonfat Caramel Frappacino, which I haven’t had in probably YEARS!

 photo (87)

And now, you can completely customize them by choosing the milk you want (nonfat, 2%, soy, etc.) and the amount of coffee, etc. thereby allowing you more control over the ingredients and the nutritional info, which was great!

I then had this Odwalla bar…

 photo (86)

And this apple for my late “lunch.”

 photo (88)

But dinner quite made up for my lackluster lunch!

IMG_6327

I had some roasted salmon that I drizzled in maple agave and seasoned with salt, pepper, and key lime seasoning. The salmon was the BOMB! It was seriously… buttery and moist!

IMG_6330

And some roasted zuchinni…

IMG_6328

Fresh corn…

IMG_6333

And cantaloupe.

IMG_6332

I also enjoyed 2 cookies for dessert. I’m all about cookies but I think I had a bit too much sugar yesterday… I had a really hard time sleeping last night and I do believe I woke up with a sugar hangover.

 photo (89)

 

And now on to today, Pancake Sunday!

IMG_6335

Can you even spot the pancake under all of that fruit? This pancake was VERY similar to the one from earlier this week but I made a few changes. It contained:

  • 1 packet instant oats (about 1/3 cup)
  • 1/4 cup or so of egg whites from a carton (all I had left)
  • 1 tbsp. or so whipped cottage cheese
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 heaping tsp. whole wheat pancake mix
  • cinnamon
  • vanilla
  • pinch of salt
  • maple extract
  • enough almond milk milk to get the right consistency (couple tbsp.?)

This made for a VERY fragile pancake and let me tell you, it’s a miracle I got it flipped without breaking. But success! And it was a little more moist than the prior one…

IMG_6337

And then I topped it with TJ’s salted almond butter, strawberries, 1/4 of a banana, maple agave, and blackberries.

IMG_6340

I also had some green tea with breakfast instead of my usual coffee. We shall see how it affects my body…

IMG_6342

 

My lunch was delicious but, indeed, lacking in the veggie department.

IMG_6320

I had a container of 2% Greek Yogurt with 1 cup of Nature’s Path Mighty Maple Cereal.

IMG_6322

Sometimes you just gotta go with a craving! I opened my cereal cabinet (yes, I have an entire shelf or two devoted to cereal) and the Mighty Maple just called out to me. It’s been far too long…

I then went to see Letters to Juliet with my mom this afternoon.

I am not even ashamed to say that this movie made me cry like a baby. And I DON’T cry that easily in movies!! I thought it was going to be good but it was MORE than good, it was so very touching!!! True love is for real people.

And then we went to Outback Steakhouse for dinner.

Obviously, I had some bread.. which is quite possibly my favorite part!

photo (90)

And my mom had a coupon for a free blooming onion.. you don’t refuse free food. We barely made a dent in it but it was good!

photo (92)

I had the Seared Ahi Tuna as my dinner and it was the BOMB!

photo (91)

I also had a side salad that was unpictured.. I was hangry! Oops…

And I had some ice cream when I came home, double fudge brownie. And this is a new brand that is supposedly DHA free.

IMG_6323

It was good!

Note: My e-mail address has changed to theprocessofhealing@gmail.com . I did this because as the blog as grown a bit, I think it would be better to keep my personal e-mail separate from the blog. But if you already have my prior e-mail, feel free to contact me at either one!

Love,
Jess

"Do what you feel in your heart to be right-for you’ll be criticized anyway" Eleanor Roosevelt

"You don’t have to see the whole staircase, just take the first step." MLK

