Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

“When I am pressed on every side by troubles, I am not crushed and broken. When I am perplexed because I don’t know why things happen as they do, I don’t give up and quit.”

2 Corinthians 4:8

I was going to do a wordless post today but apparently I can’t shut up, even when blogging 😉 For real though, it was pretty much impossible. I can’t not talk about the food.. it’s impossible!

Secondly, thank you so much for the well wishes on my last post. Today and yesterday have been a struggle and it’s been up and down. Honestly, I’m debating a short blog hiatus. Key word being SHORT. But I’m not sure.. I kind of need some time to figure out things that are happening in my life that are causing these crazy up and down days but I kind of need a distraction from said thing and blogging provides that. And I would LOVE to spill my guts but it’s not the sort of thing that’s appropriate to share with the entire world, if you know what I mean. So long story short (as if) I’m doing some thinking about the bloggie. Just FYI. Maybe a break would be good for me?

 

So backing up to yesterday, I had a delicious yogurt cereal bowl for breakfast.

IMG_6336

In my new Target dish… like? I do 🙂 It’s very summery!

IMG_6337

This was 1 container of 2% Greek yogurt, 3/4 cup Quaker Oatmeal Squares, and fresh strawberries.

IMG_6338

AKA, the PERFECT summer breakfast!

After that, I went to church. And it was amazing. It was one of those services that felt like the pastor was speaking directly to me, if you know what I mean. It was exactly what I needed to hear. And provided something I’d like to discuss on the blog in the future…

We stopped at Subway after church and I got a sub on whole wheat with turkey, lettuce, tomato, mustard, and pickles.

IMG_0274

Not a very good picture but you get the idea.

And then I had the fabulous part of my day. My mom and I went to my great aunt’s house and hung out in the pool all afternoon. And then some more of my family showed up and we basically had a girl’s day sunning and gabbing in the pool… which was exactly what I needed. I basically spent 5 hours in the sun and you know how the sun just drains you… So needless to say we were STARVING and so continued the party at Cracker Barrel for dinner. I was HANGRY.. I mean the kind of hungry where your arm starts looking darn tasty..

I had a fluffy buttery biscuit with blackberry jelly which I swore I took a picture of but may have just imagined that in the fog of my hunger.

I had this HUGE roasted turkey salad as my main meal. It had turkey, lettuce, tomatoes, cheese, homemade croutons, among other things.

IMG_0278

I INHALED this baby. You would be proud to know that I impressed my family with my salad eating skills.. they were seriously in awe.

IMG_0279

I also had this pancake.

Yeah. It was quite possibly one of the best meals I’ve had in a LONG time. And then I came home and had a random craving for strawberry shortcake so I whipped up this baby…

IMG_6340

That’s a boxed yellow cake mix, fresh strawberries, and whipped cream.

IMG_6341

The picture does NOT even do it justice.. this. was. amazing!!!

Who doesn’t love some strawberry shortcake?!

 

I continued my pancake roll this morning…

IMG_6347

This one had:

  • 1/3 cup instant oats
  • 1/3 cup egg whites
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tbsp. whole wheat pancake mix
  • 1 tbsp. whipped cottage cheese
  • cinnamon
  • maple extract

IMG_6348

And then once I spread the batter in the pan, I put slices of banana on the uncooked side so that when I turned it over, the bananas got all caramelized and gooey and yummy…

IMG_6349

I topped it with Barney Butter, maple syrup, strawberries, and blueberries.

IMG_6352

My lunch was a sandwich on whole wheat with Crofter’s and white sharp cheddar cheese.

IMG_6358

If you haven’t tried this combo yet, you MUST.

IMG_6361

And some carrots

IMG_6360

And fresh corn.

IMG_6357

I also hate half of this Odwalla bar on my way to work because this girl needed some CHOCOLATE.

IMG_6362

Dinner was thrown together after I got my hair did..

IMG_6368

Sweet potato fries with cinnamon, slat, and maple Agave Nectar..

IMG_6369

Roasted zuchinni…

IMG_6370

And an Amy’s veggie burger with ketchup and mustard.

Followed by some more strawberry shortcake..

IMG_6372

And Grey’s Anatomy finale… anyone else see it?!! Amazing!!!

 

Help Wanted: I am going to be going on vacation to Ireland on June 12-June 19. While we will have internet access, I’m not seeing very much time for blogging while I’m gone. So, I would LOVE for some guest posts to put up while I am gone. They can be about anything.. a favorite recipe, your workout regime, your favorite quotes,… ANYTHING. I can even send you a Q&A to fill out about you and your blog. So guys, do you love me? 😉 In all seriousness, if you are interested, please e-mail me at theprocessofhealing@gmail.com. Thank you in advance!

Love,
Jess

“But these things I plan won’t happen right away. Slowly, steadily, surely, the time approaches when the vision will be fulfilled. If it seems slow, do not despair, for these things will surely come to pass. Just be patient! They will not be overdue a single day!”

Habakkuk 2:3 (TLB)

