Thank you to one of my best blog friends, and one very gorgeous lady, Gabriela, for sharing a little bit more about her blog, Une Vie Saine! Enjoy!

P1060090_2

1. Give us a brief description of your blog and what makes it unique!

My blog focuses on my daily eats, workouts and other activities! I think that a healthy lifestyle encompasses so much more than just food and exercise; it’s important to maintain a healthy mind and healthy relationships as well. I try to stay as positive as possible- to me, happiness is the most important part of leading a healthy life. One thing that makes my blog unique is the name. I’m a French major, and “Une Vie Saine” translates to “A Healthy Life” in French!

2. Why do you blog?

I started my blog after reading others’ for several months; I’ve continued because of the amazing people I’ve met through it! Blogging can be a big time commitment, but it’s 100% worth it. Not only does it keep me accountable for my choices and encourage me to prioritize my health over my looks, it has also introduced me to some of the kindest, most compassionate people I’ve ever encountered.

3. What is your favorite thing about blogging? Least favorite?

Sorry to be repetitive, but my favorite thing about blogging has to be the people! I love opening my Reader and catching up on all of my friends’ lives. I never thought I’d be into meeting people on the internet, but this community is so close-knit and loving that it’s hard not to regard everyone as a true friend. My least favorite part is probably explaining to non-bloggers why I’m taking pictures of my food. I’ve definitely gotten some weird looks J

4. What is the best meal that you have ever had?

The best meal I’ve ever had was my 20th birthday dinner. My boyfriend took me on a date to Candle 79 in New York City, which I’d been dying to try for months. It was everything I’d expected and more, from the refreshing fresh juice selection, to the unique appetizers, to the delicious entrees and decadent desserts. I posted about it here. If you’re ever looking for a wonderful vegan meal in NYC, I’d absolutely recommend it!

5. Name something unique about yourself that we don’t know.

Most of my readers know that I’m a French major, but I’ve never posted about the fact that I grew up speaking the language and am fluent in it. My mom is a huge Francophile who sent me to French elementary school and took me to visit France for several months each year until I was in middle school. It’s a beautiful country, and their food is obviously amazing!

6. What is your favorite way to stay in shape? Why do you love it so much?

My all time favorite form of exercise is definitely running, but with a bad knee and tendonitis in my foot, I don’t get to do it as often as I’d like. I enjoy all forms of cardio, including the elliptical and walking. Getting my heart rate up always clears my head and gives me energy, making me a more positive person J

7. What is your guiltiest pleasure?

Dark chocolate. No question. I eat some every day!

8. A favorite quote or phrase?

“I figure life’s a gift and I don’t intend on wasting it. You don’t know what hand you’re gonna get dealt next. You learn to take life as it comes at you… to make each day count. From Titanic, my favorite movie. This quote is a constant reminder that every day is important, and to live my life to the fullest.

