Thank you to the lovely Melissa for this Q&A about her blog, Trying to Heal! Enjoy!

 

1. Give us a brief description of your blog and what makes it unique!

My blog is about a lot of things! It started off as an area where I could create and display my creativity when it came to vegetarian recipes, but over the years I have integrated aspects of training for long distance races such as ½ Marathons and letting people in on the parts of environmental field work.

But I think the biggest thing I’ve built for the blog since the beginning of the year is my feature Side Notes. Many people have described it as being the most raw and honest about the emotions, situations and difficulty that comes with recovering from an eating disorder. This section is no holds bar, I let it all out whether it’s pretty or not. It has brought me more support than I could have ever imagined, along with support for those who are also recovering from some sort of disordered eating.

2. Why do you blog?

I blog to help myself and to help others. It’s a huge network of so many individuals that I hope to meet in real life! But I also blog because it’s fun! I enjoy writing and am always excited to receive comments!!!

clip_image002

3. What is your favorite thing about blogging? Least favorite?

Blogging has been such a huge area of support for overcoming my eating disorder in the past year or so. It’s also a huge network of so many unique and beautiful people that I don’t know I ever would have met/known otherwise!

I like more things about blogging than I don’t like. I think the only thing I don’t like about blogging is that sometimes it feels obligatory, but most of all I don’t like the comment haters. They just need to get a life!

4. What is the best meal that you have ever had?

Oh boy, that’s a hard one! I’ve certainly had a lot of meals in my 24 and half years of life that I don’t know I could pick one! Mostly things that are homemade are the best, but I’ve been to a few restaurants that have definitely made my tastebuds smile! I don’t know that I could pick one! I suppose if I had to it would be any sort of grilled vegetable or a dessert with chocolate…omg my dessert crawl in Key West Summer 2009 was awesome!!!

clip_image004

5. Name something unique about yourself that we don’t know.

I.LOVE.BIRDS.

clip_image006

You don’t find many people my age who love birds, mainly raptors and hummingbirds, as much as I do. I live to work with them and conserve them for as long as I can on this planet. Most of the time if we’re outside, and you’re trying to talk to me, I’ll be paying attention to the sky and you’ll probably have to smack me to get my attention.

clip_image008

6. What is your favorite way to stay in shape? Why do you love it so much?

I love running. I’ve been doing it for so many years I’ve lost count. There is nothing better than getting out there in the fresh air and sun (I loathe the treadmill and have run on one maybe a half a dozen times in my life) and breaking out in a sweat in a hurry! But I have a new found love for strength training, leisurely bike riding on my beach cruiser and swimming!

clip_image010

7. What is your guiltiest pleasure?

Food? Chocolate. Other things? Bikinis. I buy them like they’re going out of style, or like most woman like to spend on shoes or purses. Yeah, I’m weird like that!

clip_image012

8. A favorite quote or phrase?

Live for today, not tomorrow, or yesterday

