1. Give us a brief description of your blog and what makes it unique!

Hey!! I’m Heather, and my blog is with a Side of Sneakers, where I chronicle my eating & fitness adventures. I think what makes my blog unique is my background- I have a chronic pain disorder that affects my hands & feet. Because of the impact it has on my feet, I had to stop running for over a year, and somewhat lost my identity in the process. When I decided I was going to run again despite my feet, I had to learn how to run all over again- blogging about it along the way is pretty much how I stayed sane & got through it J

2. Why do you blog?

It keeps me sane J It’s like having a diary that talks back. Writing about what I’m going through helps me process it- it’s basically an outlet for me. Once I started blogging regularly, I found myself in a whole new world- one full of support, understanding, and friendships!

3. What is your favorite thing about blogging? Least favorite?

My absolute favorite thing is the community- through blogging I’ve found so many people that have gone through the same or similar experiences as I have, and every day I find new people who motivate & inspire me. My least favorite thing…hmm… I hate when I don’t have time to read & comment on all the blogs I love 😉

4. What is the best meal that you have ever had?

Oh goodness, just one? I’m going to say a dinner I had a restaurant called Refs. It’s pretty much a sophisticated-sports bar, so I wasn’t expecting too much in terms of food when I walked in. I was absolutely blown away by the delicious salmon I had- along with the best, caramelized sweet potatoes I’ve ever, ever, had.

5. Name something unique about yourself that we don’t know.

Hmmm…in college I studied abroad in a country that I didn’t know a single word of the language & I went with a program that had nothing to do with my major since my major didn’t offer any study abroad programs. (I went to Costa Rica with the Social Workers ;))

6. What is your favorite way to stay in shape? Why do you love it so much?

Right now I’m loving Pilates- I love the combination of working hard & relaxing at the same time. I gives me a Pilates “high” because you work really hard & do things you didn’t know you had the strength to do, but it doesn’t wear you out or cause injury. I’m kind of an injury queen, so that part’s an extra good perk for me.

7. What is your guiltiest pleasure?

Cookie dough. Hands down. I love it. I can’t control myself around it & have no desire to hold back 😉

8. A favorite quote or phrase?

“Anything worth doing is worth doing to the absolute maximum”"

