Hey all! Some of you may know me already, I’m Kelly of My Verbal Vomit, but for those of you who do not what’s up?!  Jess was searching for some guest posters while she’s over gallivanting around Ireland, and I happily volunteered because she’s such a sweetheart.  I started blogging back in December of 2009, so I am relatively new to the blogging community, but it has very quickly become one of my favorite parts of the day.  Reading and writing and interacting with other like minded individuals.  I’ve never found a nicer and bigger group of supportive people then in the blog world.

When I started blogging, I really had no idea where I was going to go with it or what I was going to write about (hence the title My Verbal Vomit), it was just a place for me to actually use my Print Journalism degree.  It gradually became what it is now, a place to write about running, my injury and road to recovery, my love of cooking, and my love of vodka :).

I thought I’d take this opportunity to tell ya’ll about my injury and how it has kept me away from running since February 1.  I actually just completed my weeks and weeks of physical therapy and am gradually getting back on track, but I thought some of this might be interesting and helpful information.

Back in January, I was really looking to amp up my mileage and pace in preparation for the 10 mile race I planned on running in May.  I went to Barnes and Noble, bought a book, and mapped out a plan.  This new plan included speed sessions, long runs, and interval training averaging out to 25-30 miles a week.  Before I started using this plan, I was running on average 15 miles a week over a 3 day period.  I don’t know what finally put me over the edge, but you can read about the weekend that did me in, here.

After the first real issues of pain, I took one day off from running, felt good on Monday and attempted to get my speed work out in.  You can read about how disastrously that went, here.  After that failed workout, I couldn’t walk normally for a week because bending and straightening my leg made me want to collapse in pain.  I made an appointment with an Orthopedist, and went to see him a week and a half later.  I mention the appointment here, but basically he told me what I was already suspecting.  That my IT Band was very tight and causing friction in my knee, which is what was causing the pain.  He recommended some stretches for me to do, suggested I take Aleve to reduce inflammation, and at least 10 more days off of running.  Silly me for thinking that would be the end of it.

Exactly 10 days later, I hopped on a treadmill hoping for good things.  Instead I barely made it out of the gym before bursting into tears.  That temper tantrum is documented here.  On March 25 I went back to the Orthopedist and four days later I started physical therapy.  My diagnosis is Illiotibial Band Syndrome of the right leg.  This is my favorite website about the injury, where I got all of the following pictures.

The ITB is actually a long tendon. (Tendons connect muscles to bone.) It attaches to a short muscle at the top of the pelvis called the tensor fascia lata. The ITB runs down the side of the thigh and connects to the outside edge of the tibia (shinbone) just below the middle of the knee joint. You can feel the tendon on the outside of your thigh when you tighten your leg muscles. The ITB crosses over the side of the knee joint, giving added stability to the knee.[source]

   knee1knee2knee3

ITB Syndrome is basically an overuse injury that occurs when the Bursa Sac in the knee becomes inflamed causing the ITB tendon to snap back and forth instead of gliding smoothly.

knee4 ITBS can be treated with physical therapy, anti-inflammatory medications, ultrasound treatments, and in some cases surgery.  If surgery is needed, the Bursa Sac is removed and the IT Band is cut so that friction is reduced when bending and straightening the leg. 

knee5

Luckily I managed to get through my physical therapy without needing surgery, and recently got in my first run over 2.5 miles since that fateful February day.  While I am not yet fully recovered, I am gradually working on increasing my mileage all while keeping up with the strength exercises I learned during physical therapy.  Strong hips and glutes = injury free knees!  Something to always remember!

I hope you all enjoyed my guest post, and that it wasn’t too boring.  Thanks again to Jess for letting me take over her blog for a day, hope you are having a great time girl!

