Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m so glad you are loving the Ireland re-caps! Believe me, it only gets more interesting! And there’s only a couple more.. I have to drag it out a bit. That’s one of the good things about the blog, it’s a good way to remember fun trips like that! Hence the details.

Ok so I think I can finally share my exciting news… I have a SMALL catering business! Now, it’s so small that, well, there’s no name and it’s not exactly a business per say, but it’s a start! It all started in Ireland.. my cousin works in a large office and she and my “aunt ruth ann” (who’s not really my aunt but she works with my cousin) kept saying how they wanted to lose weight and I mentioned that I could help them out by giving them some easy substitutions and things they could change without depriving themselves. My cousin mentioned that they used to have a lady who would bring them healthy lunches to their office a couple of times a week and they asked me if I’d be interested in doing so! SO we had a test run last week, I made them turkey burgers, a corn/avocado/tomato salad, sweet potato fries, and the vegan chocolate cupcakes (thank you blog world!) and they approved sooo it looks like it may be a weekly thing! This is pretty much a dream come true! Granted, it’s still small and i’m barely making anything but it’s getting my name out there and it’s small step towards what I’d like to do with my career. So yay!! I would love any tips or advice from any of you who have done something similar to this.. I’m loving it but it’s kind of overwhelming!

And more news… I have been cleared to work out at the gym! Yay! Ok so I have (had) PT at the local YMCA in their pool. My therapist confided in me that it would be MUCH cheaper to pay for a 1 month membership to the YMCA and she could give me a routine to do… FYI, 1 month at the Y is cheaper than just ONE PT visit.. with the copay. So yeah. I joined. And I’m cleared to use weights, the elliptical, and the stat bike. So I did my regular PT, some time on the elliptical, and weights yesterday. And today I did 15 minutes on the bike and 25 minutes on the elliptical. But I didn’t push myself too much. And let me tell you, anger is an EXCELLENT motivator for working out. And even though I’m dealing with a lot in my life right now (not really appropriate for the bog), I felt SO much better after a little sweat session. Love me some endorphins!

 

Yesterday started with… a bagel! Another one bites the dust Melissa!

June 29th and 30th 001

This would be a whole wheat bagel from Whole Foods.

June 29th and 30th 004

Half with cream cheese and strawberry jam..

June 29th and 30th 007

And half with Barney Butter.

June 29th and 30th 009

Along with a bowl of blackberries and blueberries.

June 29th and 30th 013

FRESH berries, that is!!! The pros of working at a local farm my friends…

 

I had a banana after working out. And then stopped at a local natural foods store and picked up this chicken salad wrap. To die.

IMG_0339

My mom also had a jewelry party last night (you know, like a Tupperware party…only with jewelry). I had plans for the night but I stopped by first to eat and purchase some bling… OK, totally never actually USED that word before. ANYWAY, the spread looked something like this…

Pimento cheese and crackers..

IMG_0344

7 Layer Bars

IMG_0342 

And this? Courtesy of me. This is Nutter Butter Banana Pudding. Yes, as good as it sounds.

IMG_0343

My plate.. a bit of everything. Pimento cheese and crackers, buffalo chicken dip, and a bite of a chicken salad croissant.

IMG_0345

 

I then went out with some friends to watch the World Series… and yes, USC
(University of South Carolina, represent!) did win the NCAA… oh yes. It only took 11 innings but they did it!!

(Side note: I can’t believe that I am now a fan of baseball)

 

I had a bowl of Kashi Heart to Heart with 1/2 of a banana, almond milk, and peanut butter for breakfast.

June 29th and 30th 016

Delicious.

June 29th and 30th 019

Part 1 of lunch was a yogurt mess…

June 29th and 30th 021

Greek yogurt, a white peach, blackberries, and Nature’s Path Pumpkin Flax granola.

June 29th and 30th 022

I packed this smoothie for post-gym.

June 29th and 30th 026

It had whipped cottage cheese, 2 peaches, almond milk, and Jay Robb’s Vanilla Whey. INSANELY delicious!!!

Pre-dinner, I enjoyed this…

June 29th and 30th 027

With an orange slice, thanks to this gorgeous lady! Who, by the way, has a fabulous giveaway going on that you should check out.. just sayin!

And then dinner was an Amy’s Margharita pizza

June 29th and 30th 030

Delicious, as usual. The crust is SO GOOD.

June 29th and 30th 032

With a side salad…

June 29th and 30th 029

You know, to make my nutritionist happy and all 😉

Dessert was a bit of the banana pudding from last night with a small 7 layer bar.

June 29th and 30th 035

Have a fabulous night!

Love,

Jess

“We tell lies when we are afraid… afraid of what we don’t know, afraid of what others will think, afraid of what will be found out about us. But every time we tell a lie, the thing that we fear grows stronger.” ~Tad Williams
