Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s almost the weekend! Is anyone else excited about that fact? And Thursday is kinda almost the weekend in my book soooo if you really stretch it, the weekend starts tomorrow! Humor me, ok? It also makes me one step closer to the BEACH. I think I forgot to mention, I’m leaving for the beach on the 23rd of July and I have to say, it could not have come at a more perfect time. I need some distance between myself and the town I live in and some people in said town, if you know what I mean… And it should be fun as one of my friends is going with me. In any case, if anyone is interested in doing a guest post for me while I’m gone? I know many of you have done one already this summer and I thank you SO much. If you want to do another one or you haven’t done one at all, I would be extremely appreciative. I’m only going to be gone about 5 days so I wouldn’t need too too many, but it would help me out a lot! E-mail me if you are interested!

It was back to working at the store and dealing with elderly today. Let’s just say that I remembered why I prefer babysitting… it may be a little more tiring but I don’t have to deal with rude, inconsiderate people who talk down to me. Or old creepy men. Or people who are just plain mean. I think I’ll stick the babies, thankyouverymuch. But it’s back to babysitting tomorrow and then I have some very fun plans with a friend involving a motorcycle! Oh yes.

 

So before I get to today, let me share with you the dessert I had last time thanks to an idea from the lovely Freya

July 14 002

I mixed a “melted” banana with 1 tbsp of peanut butter and then mixed THAT with yogurt and cinnamon and topped it with a warmed peach… so good!

 

Breakfast today was Kashi Heart to Heart with almond milk, 1/2 of a banana, and a buttload of blueberries.

July 14 003

I’d say I hit my antioxidant quota for the day, wouldn’t you think?

July 14 004

Unfortunately, cereal is not very lasting without the addition of a nut butter. So therefore I ended up STARVING at work, with no snack prepared (what was I thinking?!) Luckily, I work with plenty of fruit surrounding me so I had this delicious container of cantaloupe, grown on our own farm! Ok, the farm where I am employed but work with me here…

 

And then I had lunch on the way to the gym.

July 14 011

I think I’m addicted?

July 14 013

One bagel topped with Barney Butter…

July 14 012

And the other topped with cream cheese and jam.

Perfect fuel for a workout!! Which was 10 minutes on the elliptical, 20 minutes on the stat bike, abs, and upper body with free weights.

July 14 010
I then had this protein shake afterwards.

July 14 006

Nutritional stats, FYI.

July 14 007

I mixed it with almond milk. It was OK. It wasn’t chalky exactly.. just a bit off. And not as much protein as I’d like.

July 14 008

I also had this nectarine.

July 14 009

Dinner involved two southern classics… the fried green tomatoes from last night (which, by the way, you don’t have to be Southern to like!) and pimento cheese. Homemade pimento cheese, that is. Together. With a turkey burger.

July 14 015

Yes, I went there.

July 14 021

That would be a turkey burger on the bottom, pimento cheese, fried green tomato, another turkey burger (they were tiny, both of these are about 1/4 lb. together), and more pimento cheese. HOLY CRAP. This was so so SO good!! I can’t even tell you. It should just be illegal. All I’m sayin…

July 14 022

Along with some roasted red potatoes…

July 14 023

Roasted okra…

July 14 024

And more tomatoes.

July 14 025

I’m addicted. It’s all good. Do they have rehab for this sort of thing? And by the way, green tomatoes SO count as a veggie. Ok? Ok.

 

And for dessert, all I wanted was PEACHES. Which turned into this…

July 14 027

Yogurt, blueberries, a peach, and Kashi Sunshine (I restocked!). Delicious!!! Enjoyed while watching Big Brother. Anyone else care to admit to watching?

Love,

Jess

“The Tao Te Ching says, When I let go of what I am, I become what I might be. When I let go of what I have, I receive what I need. Have you ever struggled to find work or love, only to find them after you have given up? This is the paradox of letting go. Let go, in order to achieve. Letting go is God’s law.” – Mary Manin Morrissey

