Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I hope that everyone here in the U.S. had a fabulous Labor Day! Mine involved doing… nothing… and a little shopping. Er… window shopping. There were all kinds of sales but now I know why, if you get my drift. I did, however, get some fun finds at World Market!

And I completely forgot to share some big news with you! A long time ago, I submitted a request for information about the culinary program at the Art Institute of Charlotte. I never thought I would actually GO there because of both money and the fact that in the past, I hadn’t planned on actually pursuing culinary school. Now that I am, in fact, looking at schools, I’m taking a second look at the Art Institute of Charlotte. I was invited to go to a open house this Saturday and so I figured… why not?! Which is my big news… I’m looking into my first culinary school! It’s about an hour and a half from my house so that would require moving to Charlotte and it’s a little on the pricy side but I decided to keep my options open. Wish my luck! And on that note, any blog readers live in Charlotte? I’m going up on Friday night and would LOVE to have some input on places to go!

 

Yesterday’s breakfast was a repeat offender… what can I say? I’m a tad bit in love.

Sept 7 002

Overnight oats made with oats, Greek yogurt, coconut kefir, pinch of salt, splash of almond milk

Sept 7 004

Topped with 1/4 crumbled Whole Foods Vegan Blueberry Muffin..

Sept 7 005

And blueberries

Sept 7 007

Delicious!!

 

Lunch was late and on the go and included this peach and 2 figs..

Sept 7 010

As well as the leftover kobocha..

Sept 7 009

Which was actually awesome cold!

 

 

Breakfast today was overnight oats but I was out of Greek yogurt, making this combo oats, coconut kefir, and almond milk.

Sept 7 013

(new placemat and bowl!)

Sept 7 017

They were good but missing a little somethin’ somethin’ from the yogurt..

Sept 7 019

Topped with 1/2 of a peach, 1/2 of a banana, Pumpkin Butter, and Barney Butter.

Sept 7 020

Lunch was 1/2 of a tuna sandwich made with tuna and laughing cow cheese..

Sept 7 025

As well as some French Onion Sun Chips.

Sept 7 026

I then went to the gym and did 30 minutes on the stat bike (for a total of 7 miles) and 1/2 mile walking on the treadmill. At first I was kind of upset because this girl took the last elliptical before I could get on (and then proceeded to half workout while eating Cheese-Itz ON the elliptical) but wow that bike gave me a workout… I am actually SORE (in a good way) right now!

I refueled with Light Vanilla Muscle Milk and a Cliff Bar.

Dinner was bangin! (Did I really just say “bangin?!”)

Sept 7 029

This would be homemade pasta (homemade my Whole Foods)…

Sept 7 033

Topped with sauce of a tomato basil sauce, ground lean turkey, onion, garlic, and mushrooms..

Sept 7 032
All topped with parmesan cheese!

Sept 7 036

And a side of garlic bread!

Sept 7 038

All on a new placemat… cute, right?

 

Dessert was a brownie (it was boxed.. Ghiradelli)

Sept 7 040

And light vanilla bean ice cream..

It’s been a good day for food! 🙂

 

Today, I am thankful for…

  1. Opportunities
  2. That I am well fed and clothed
  3. Good homemade wine (yep…)

 

And now I’m going to get a little deep on you… today’s post with 30 Days of Self Love really hit me hard… especially the following quotes:

“When a challenge arises, such as a lost job or illness/injury or broken heart, you can choose to continue living with the belief it will make you stronger or grab a shovel to dig yourself a hole of regret and self-pity.”

Not to harp on it, but I have mentioned that this summer has been difficult for me. And this quote really hit me in the gut because that is exactly what I have done and still do some days.. I dig myself a hole of self-pity and don’t want to come out. I feel sorry for myself and think about how miserable I am, which is just a downward spiral. You really do have to CHOOSE to go on living. Because the world, your life, does not stop for your grief. If you don’t, you’re going to wake up one day and wonder what happened to your life. So I am trying, with my hardest effort, to truly believe that everything happens for a reason and that I WILL learn something from this, something positive WILL come of this, and it WILL make me stronger.

“That life consists of seeing the glimmers of hope in dark places, the pain of others in their attempts to cause pain, the waste of time in fretting over matters we won’t remember in a few months, and the ongoing list of similar situations.”

The main thing that hit me in this was the part about the “pain of others in their attempts to cause pain.” In life, people WILL hurt you. And sometimes they will do this on purpose. Instead of hating them, trying to get revenge, talking bad about them,… why can’t we just forgive them? I read somewhere or have heard somewhere that forgiveness is more for ourselves than for the other person. And that’s true. Holding a grudge doesn’t help us one bit… it only hurts us. And someone who hurts others on purpose, well, they have more issues than even those of us have been hurt. They deserve our forgiveness, our pity, our help if they so choose to accept it…

 

Are you participating in the 30 Days of Self Love?

